We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #17 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Though I am not a frequent traveler to the 'City of Joy' but I was told that this is the best location to stay as it is downtown and very well located therefore it was my preferred choice for stay. There is somewhat the colonial charm of the hotel which makes it a great place to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city. The check-in was smooth and the room was pleasing though the staff are a little laid back. I was given a garden facing room which gave a wonderful view of a small well manicured lawn of the property. The breakfast next day was very brief for vegetarians but you have many nice eateries around this hotel which is well compensating. The bathrooms are average with average toiletries but considering Kolkata standards it is not a bad deal. I stayed there for a couple of nights and hotel showered me with some goodies in the room!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Vikas,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata for your business trip and for your time in reviewing us. We are delighted to note your satisfaction with our location & service, something most of our guests like the best about us and thus making our property a favorable choice. We believe in offering luxury, blended with all the modern amenities and comfort, to suit every taste. The next time you visit us, we hope to offer you yet another exclusive experience.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property; we will look forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 580 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very good hotel with nice ambience and all amneties. Located in the heart of the city with most of the colonial monuments within walking (at least jogging) distance.. Victoria Memorial can be seen from top floors. the lawn is a very good addition and the breakfast served there in the morning is a unique experience.

The rooms could be cleaner and sheets could be better. Best part is the location. Ideal for business visits and also family trips..

Room Tip: Higher you go, view is better.. lawn views are the best
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Dev,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and for your time in reviewing us. An unforgettable destination, Kolkata is one city which never fails to amaze its visitors. We are glad to note that you found the location of the property ideal and that it assisted you in your business engagements as well as sightseeing.

We also thank you for your kind suggestions and will promptly look at the areas of improvement, as applicable. Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to playing your host again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we checked in on 22/06/2012 and stayed there for 2 days and has found the hotel has excellent facilities and room view, it is centrally located and is nicely maintained . i am happy and recommend others to enjoy the same.

Room Tip: room no 321 is cool
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunkayjeeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata as the host for you and your family recently. We are glad that your experience here was great and it is an honor to be recommended and rated on this public forum by you. Our central location combined with comfortable accommodation with modern amenities set us apart in hospitality industry. It is also great to note your special room tip and we are sure that our prospective guests will benefit from it.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to host you at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, in future.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Al though it is in crowded area i feel very cool and relaxed in KW kolkota. Even i have to be in Kol for few hours at night i prefer this hotels. Big ben is also one of the attraction. Staff are generally enthusiastic in the reception and are quick about their work. excellent breakfast (wide variety available)

Room Tip: Every room is wow
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivekvipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Vivek,

We would like to thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata as your preferred host during your business trips to Kolkata. We are very pleased to know that your accounts here have been great and you feel at home at our property, which is exactly what we yearn for. It is appreciable to see your special mention of Big Ben, which has always been a favorite among local and international patrons with its vintage British ambience and charms. We are also thankful for your kind words about our staff which is very persistent with its efforts and works hard to make our customers feel comfortable.

It is an honor to be recommended and rated on this prestigious public forum and we would be delighted to be your hosts soon.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Was in kolkata for a business meeting. nice and comfortable hotel.. excellent breakfast (wide variety available). had a-la-carte dinner at aromas food was nice ... big ben has sum great drinks.only missing point is pool .hope when I visit next swimming pool should be there .
Now feedback for staff extremely helpful staff in reception especially casandra done my check in in few min after long journey feel so relax and manish very helpful guy great knowledge about city and shoping destination ready to help with smile execellent guy . Keep it up guys & god bless you both keep smiling :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikram912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata during your recent business trip to the City of Joy. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our property and had a great experience with the staff to whom we have passed on your encouraging words. We aim to provide our guests with an outstanding hospitality at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and we are extremely pleased that you have acknowledged our efforts. We are also grateful for your special mention of our restaurant and bar and that you enjoyed our food and beverages there.

Once again, we appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcome you during your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Kenilworth several times. Our last stay was in 2011. We will be bringing a group to stay late October. We chose this hotel because the service remains the same from one year to the next. Rooms are well appointed to include showers that work! The food is a very high standard and there are plenty of places to relax away from the city crowds. The location of the hotel is also very central and safe.
Management takes note of suggestions and actually contacts you to say thanks.
I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matisse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for this kind feedback and find it very encouraging indeed. We strive to bestow our customers with an excellent business hotel experience and it is delightful to note that we could meet your expectations. We also appreciate your special mention of the room and amenities as well as our kitchen.

We are grateful of your wonderful comment and looking forward to have you once again at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata in future.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Joined my spouse here ( who had already stayed on for 3-4 nights) for a night's stay. The hotel is 4 star but the service approaching 5 star. Staff are generally enthusiastic in the reception and are quick about their work.

Rooms are small and rectangular in shape but not to the point it can turn uncomfortable. Rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are clean with average toiletry. Showers pack some power in the water flow which was appreciable. Service levels overall are good but definitely not enthusiastic.

Quality and range of the menu for in room dining is impressive and so is the quality of food. The breakfast spread is awesome and should impress foreign and indian guests alike. This is a very good and safe hotel for foreign tourists to Kolkata as a lot of the city's attractions are within a stone throw. Should serve as an excellent vantage point for the sights as well as eats (fine dinings and street food alike). They also arrange photography/food tours on specified dates.

Suitable also for indian tourists looking for luxury at some value for money though not suited for budget travellers. Disappointments are that WiFi is not free and hotel cab charges are atrocious. Otherwise this hotel hass everything going for it.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms /higher floors
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata for your recent stay and sparing time to provide a feedback on this public forum. Centrally located in Kolkata, we make sure we offer par excellence hospitality to both- business and leisure travelers. All your kind comments have been taken with utmost gratification. We are truly delighted to know that you had a great time with us and that boosts our confidence to even make it better.

We would love to serve you again on your next check-in with us. Thanks once again.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,638 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,935 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $84 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing