We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$186
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$129
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$159
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$46
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Sonnet(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$158
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$81
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$99
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
217
298
89
14
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
298
89
14
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig benvictoria memorialbusiness hotelstaff were courteousroom servicecamac streetbusiness tripwalking distanceheart of the citynew wingpleasant stayexcellent locationbuffet dinnerbusiness districtold world charmrooms are cleanswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 642 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Joined my spouse here ( who had already stayed on for 3-4 nights) for a night's stay. The hotel is 4 star but the service approaching 5 star. Staff are generally enthusiastic in the reception and are quick about their work.

Rooms are small and rectangular in shape but not to the point it can turn uncomfortable. Rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are clean with average toiletry. Showers pack some power in the water flow which was appreciable. Service levels overall are good but definitely not enthusiastic.

Quality and range of the menu for in room dining is impressive and so is the quality of food. The breakfast spread is awesome and should impress foreign and indian guests alike. This is a very good and safe hotel for foreign tourists to Kolkata as a lot of the city's attractions are within a stone throw. Should serve as an excellent vantage point for the sights as well as eats (fine dinings and street food alike). They also arrange photography/food tours on specified dates.

Suitable also for indian tourists looking for luxury at some value for money though not suited for budget travellers. Disappointments are that WiFi is not free and hotel cab charges are atrocious. Otherwise this hotel hass everything going for it.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms /higher floors
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata for your recent stay and sparing time to provide a feedback on this public forum. Centrally located in Kolkata, we make sure we offer par excellence hospitality to both- business and leisure travelers. All your kind comments have been taken with utmost gratification. We are truly delighted to know that you had a great time with us and that boosts our confidence to even make it better.

We would love to serve you again on your next check-in with us. Thanks once again.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was luck enough to stay in this hotel and I really appreciated it. The hotel is right in the center of the city but it has a large garden and it is very quiet, possibly the only place in Kolkata that is peaceful.
The rooms are very comfortable and the restaurants and the bar are excellent. In addition every member of staff was most friendly and helpful.
I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpooll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking in with us and taking out time to share your experience on this public forum. We are delighted to learn your satisfaction with our service, amenities and our staff. Centrally located, our guests have easy access to most of the city’s attractions and business hubs and we go that extra mile to ensure a peaceful and comforting environment so the noise of the city can be kept at bare minimum.

We thank you again for this wonderful review and will look forward to hosting you during your next visit to the city of Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Super central location, check-in was a bit slow and was given a room facing an old dilapidated building adjacent for a view. Came downstairs and asked about a change and was informed that it was possible if requested at the time of booking (wonder how a 1st timer would know all this).

Room was clean, comfy beds, linen and modern toilet. Not much area for storage though so we kept most of our luggage adjacent to the window. Complimentary coffee, tea and water was provided and replenished daily.

Was totally amazed at the variety next morning at the breakfast. Finished our trip with dinner at the mughalai restaurant in the garden. Priced as per 4 star standards with decent service and attention.

TIPS:
1. Call them and get a room with a garden view.
2. Super location near Park Street, so do walk around and experience the city of joy on foot.
3. Lots of street food and fresh juice available a few feet from the hotel to the left in case you are on a budget.
4. Inform the gate people in advance before checkout, getting normal taxis took a bit of time.

Room Tip: Make a request for rooms facing the gardens on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indieglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time and providing us the feedback on you recent stay at the Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. Centrally located in Kolkata, we strive to offer the best in hospitality to both our business and leisure travelers. We feel completely delighted to get such a review from you. We sincerely appreciate your comments about our services and amenities. Our team always looks forward to providing par excellence facilities to guests.

All the areas highlighted by you have been noted and we would look into the same in every possible way.

Thank you once again and we hope to serve you on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Kenilworth is a lovely calm cool oasis in an excellent location.

Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the garden. The room was spacious and clean, and the housekeeping staff were outstanding. The bathroom - good quality amenities, and fantastic water pressure in the shower which was really appreciated.

Breakfast buffet was varied and staff were very helpful.

We used the transfer service to and from the airport which was both professional and affordable.

Two gripes - we used the hotel's car service to go to the pick up point for our trip to the Sunderbans and were told that it would take 45 mins and cost 1500 rupees. It only took 15 minutes and the charge was indeed 1500 rupees, the same as the airport transfer. Felt that was a bit of a rip off. The second gripe is having to pay for wifi.

Overall the hotel is great, it is within walking distance to Park St, the Victoria Memorial and St Paul's Cathedral, and other prime locations.

Recommended and would definitely stay at the Kenilworth again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. Centrally located in Kolkata, we try and offer the best in hospitality to both our business and leisure travelers & we sincerely appreciate your comments about our services and amenities. We provide our guests with par excellence facilities and services, perhaps this information would assist you in acknowledging our pricing from a service to price perspective.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Kenilworth is one of the better hotel options in Kolkata, yet it is not of extraordinary value or quality--it just works as it should be.

Rooms in the new wing has an unusual floor plan: the bathroom opens right to the entrance and the beds are placed against the aisle wall. But the layout seems to spare a lot of space for the sofa area and enabled us to hold a small business meeting.

Breakfast choices are reasonably good and they do rotate the western and Indian options.

We also used the 5-hour driver service and airport pickup: I am quite sure you can find better value elsewhere, but the service was great indeed. We did not really walk around the hotel, but it appears to be an upscale area with relatively low security concern.

There is a weird slope between the main lobby and escalator waiting area, but overall there is little we could complain about.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor that should offer some nicer view of the city.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KahOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the stay at the Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. The comments are sincerely appreciated as they offer a genuine support to our earnest efforts. We believe that we always stand to benefit from the valuable comments of our guests.

Kenilworth Hotel is a priced 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of Kolkata. As a team, we always strive to deliver fine hospitality standards and we are glad that you appreciate it.
Once again, thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcome you back with us.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews