We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service. Comfortable beds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Prime Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Prime Kolkata
Ranked #80 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Comfortable beds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

I've stayed at several 5-star hotels in India. This is supposedly rated a 5-star hotel. By Indian standards, yes, it's 5-star. By international standards, might be a slight stretch to call it 5-star.

The service was OUTSTANDING. The staff was very accommodating. For this reason alone I'd come back. The beds were very comfortable. Modern amenities like LCD TV, lounge chair and desk and chair were there. The food was good, but the menu was limited and sort of all over the place. Not quite continental and and not quite Indian. Not quite inexpensive, and not quite top of the line.

The decor of the hotel was nice. Had a modern decor. Very different than the Taj or Oberoi, which is more of a luxury, old world feel. Unfortunately, Indian craftsmen constructed the hotel and small little details were overlooked like leaky doors on the shower stalls.

This is a new hotel and taxi drivers don't know where it is. So getting to the hotel from whereever you are, can be troublesome unless you know how to communicate to taxi drivers. There isn't much around this hotel in terms of shopping or sightseeing. I'd say location and lack of noteriety is it's number 1 problem.

If you're looking for a nice hotel, that's comfortable for American travelers, and that will provide great service, but you can't quite afford the Taj or Oberoi, then this is the next best option.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usatrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    160
    99
    39
    27
See reviews for
44
49
71
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at Chrome hotel from 14-16 feb. We had arranged a pickup and drop off from the airport which worked very well although not very cheap.

The design of the hotel is very interesting and modern. We found it enjoyable. The rooms were not large but well appointed and pleasant to be in except for one thing: the very audible street noise from outside. We asked to change rooms more to the back of the hotel and the noise was slightly less but still loud traffic noise (cars beeping all the time). We live in Bangalore but felt the horn was used a lot more in kolkata then in Bangalore. There is also a mosque right behind the hotel which is clearly audible in the room. I slept very well but my wife is a light sleeper and we were thinking of changing hotels. However in the evening the noise died down somewhat and with earplugs it was doable. 

Otherwise the hotel is very centrally located and getting to the interesting spots in Kolkata was easy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fine and they made a very nice omelet. The coffee was not very good, but we do have pretty high standards when it comes to our coffee. 

The diner on the ground floor had tables with chairs that were too low to eat comfortably and they were obviously not well matched. Perhaps a price to pay for bespoke design.

Overall an enjoyable stay but we will look for a more quiet location next time.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

A local friend recommended Chrome for its central location, close to Victoria Memorial, Park Street etc. Whilst the location is good, it is on a main road thus a little noisy, and is not in walking distance of any shops, restaurants etc. However local taxis are cheap, metered and quickly available - and the doormen are helpful at briefing the mostly non-english speaking taxi drivers. But the main pluses are as follows:
+++ Extremely comfy soft beds and pillows (so welcome after hard beds in Assam!)
+++ large flat screen tv with BBC news & free WifI
++breakfast buffet - recommend the delicious freshly made masala dosa, fresh fruit juices & cappucino coffee
++ fast friendly service - bucket of ice delivered within minutes, free shoe clean - the 'Anything' button on the phone brings you anything.
The hotel is very modern, wacky design, and the restaurant is rather characterless but for the cost it is excellent value (c£107 pn). The only downside is the proximity to the mosque and daily wake-up call at 4am!!! Some tips:
- book directly via the hotel website - we did it thru Travelguru but were subsequently offered a better deal 3 nights for 2 from the hotel directly
- insist on room above 3rd floor as their function room is on 2nd floor and thumps out loud music when they have parties! Upper level rooms may also get less road noise.
- bring ear plugs!!
- For excellent Bengali food, go to Kewpies Kitchen in Elgin lane, a short taxi ride away.
They are adding a swimming pool and salon/spa which should be open in March.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Chrome hotel is an upmarket, smart styled, very recent hotel, located in the southern part of Central Kolkata (walking distance to Park Rd, Victoria Hall, etc.). The rooms have a decent size, are functionally well-designed, and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is small but again very functional, with a nice shower with plenty of hot and softened water. Wireless internet is freely available in the rooms and reception, and works well. The personel is nice and efficient. Breakfast is excellent (with dosas, pancakes or omelettes made on order), and the restaurant is also recommended.
There is a killer however: street noise. The hotel is on one of the main roads leading to the center, and right in front of the hotel the road is doubled by an elevated expressway. This wouldn't have been much of a problem if the hotel had been built with efficient sound-proof windows and materials (like the ones used in airport hotels). But this is not the case, and much of the street noise (including the permanent horning that is the rule in India) sneaks right into the room. Even earplugs are not of much help. On top of that, on the backside there is a mosque, with the muezzin yelling into extremely loud speakers the call to the morning prayer at sunrise (5 am): you will be able to hear that perfectly from your bed and will wake you up early in case you finally got your brain accustomed to the traffic...
To conclude, this is a very nice hotel, but given the noise issue, I wouldn't recommend it (except for easy sleepers).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Great hotel, rooms very modern with all ammeneties expected in a quality 4/5 star hotel. Great staff, extremely helpful. Bit of a trek from Kolkata airport, but at least you get to see most of the city on the way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieboy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

read reviews rating it as 5 star.it was my first experience with a small luxury hotel.
the lobby ,overall ambience is depressing gloomy.the area arround it definately not for the leisure traveller,the adrenaline shower had no force it was like lifeless jets of water.
the towels belive me were creamy and not white and one was stained!!!bathhrobe was torn so was the door mat, toothbrush box was empty .we grumbled the whole night and checked out as soon as we could in the morning,dr nicasia goa

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

stayed for two weeks in Octtober 2010 having excellent room and food.
Everybody was helpful and made me feel happy. Booked this hotel again
for nine days at end/beginning 2010-2011. Nothing more to be explainen.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Hubertus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.5 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aauris
Aauris
#54 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.5 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#9 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#46 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Prime Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Prime Kolkata

Property: Park Prime Kolkata
Address: 226 A.J.C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India (Formerly The Chrome Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park Prime Kolkata 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
India's first hip hotel with 63 designer rooms. Centrally located. Facilities include 24-hour coffee shop, specialty restaurant serving haute cuisines, lounge bar, swimming pool, executive boardroom with high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Prime Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Prime Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing