We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance”
Review of Machan

Machan
Ranked #95 of 4,185 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great concept one can feel that he or she is in jungle and the food too seems to be like jungle food with excellent quality of dal ,kebabs and rotis one must say that they are value for there money

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aftabuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    53
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lip-Smacking Food!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have visited this restaurant a number of times now. We always try to get hold of the shaft above midst the trees and animals. The food is very very good and the ambience is amazing for a time out with families. The food is not very highly priced, so it would fit your pocket.
Definitely try out the starters.
Thank You Machaan!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrateekTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great ambience !!1”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved the ambience coupled with some signature dishes such as whole betki tandoori & a spicy mocktail... good food...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KamleshMelwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently I was back @ Machaan with my family to celebrate a special occasion and I must say we had a great time. We went for lunch and occupied one of the tables on top of the machaan. This was the first time I sat on top of the machaan. It was an amazing experience (as always) with the jungle all around, hissing of snakes, chirping of birds and the dim, cozy lighting. The way up to the machan was a bit too dark and we had to use our mobile phones to light up the stairs, but that added a sense of adventure. Service was great and the food was delicious. The Mutton Ghost was simply out of this world. Usually it is a dry preparation but as we had it with rice, they made a little gravy which tasted just right. Besides, the kababs were excellent as always. It was my 3rd visit to machaan, still I feel like going back there soon. This really is a resturant that's one of its kind. Fabulous. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Somewhat different in respect to the ambience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hey Friends,
Just have a visit to Machan... This is the best place for a dinner with you friends,family ,I have ever visited..Awesome food quality,mindblowing ambience..Just too good to explain..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debalina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machan also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Howrah, Howrah District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing