We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place for Bengali food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oh! Calcutta

Oh! Calcutta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangalore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing place for Bengali food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is an amazing restaurant for Bengali food. Try the lunch or dinner buffet. They serve you the best Bengali food you can get. The service is amazing. Make sure you do a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MathewsVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    252
    55
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible food - Nowhere near bengali cuisine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend people not to go there if you are looking for authentic bengali cuisine. Went there with my family on 15th Apl 2014 Bengali New Years day. Had to wait for about half hr prior getting into the restaurant. Decor is good, though chairs are not comfortable. Waiters are rude seems not paid enough. Mineral water bottle was Rs.120. All dishes are very expensive approx Rs 300 each. Now bengali dal tastes like northindian dal, terrible. All dishes have quite different taste compared to actual bengali dishes, seems its like having bengali food in a foreign country. Very mild and non bengali taste, maybe a new thing in other places outside kolkata, but definitely not inside kolkata. After spending approx Rs 3000 for three of us without actually eating anything, felt as if it was a tight smack on out face..Actually all the people were fully disgusted after their meals..As I travel outside india half of the year, I would recommend outsiders to try restaurants like Bhojohori Manna, Peerless Inn for a better experience of original bengali cuisine instead of getting a wrong impression of bengali food from this restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only 90% of our expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

were satisfied.
we came in on very good reviews with strong recommendations to enjoy the No.1 in town.
food was just good and nothing extraordinary, service was respectively

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best food I have had in Kolkata!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Before going to this restaurant, I had been to Oh Calcutta in Mumbai which was not that special. But going to this restaurant was a different experience altogether! So much so, that I made it a point to go there again on the first day of my next trip to Kolkata. I went with a group of friends, all of whom ended up over-eating because of trying extra dishes, all of which were lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Siddy0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring Back the Bengali Delights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Par excellence if you take quality of food, ambience and service into account. Please try "kacha lonka mangsho" but its slightly hot on the palate but worth every bite. Luchi and cholar daal is the basic dish at its best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RajatGanguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh! Calcutta also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Oh! Calcutta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing