We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option at Howrah”
Review of Ashoka Hotel

Ashoka Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashoka Hotel
Ranked #190 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I had visited the hotel with friends in the year 2007. The hotel is located near to the Howrah Railway station just opposite to the Howrah fish market. Howrah bus terminus is just at 5 minutes distance . Our room was good with basic facilities. Staffs were helpful. There was a n open air restaurant at the roof top. Ambiance was nice with a view of Howrah bridge. The owner of the hotel was there managing his people at the roof top. Good hotel in Howrah area specially for the business people.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

i have stayed in this hotel for 3days. very poor quality service and rooms. very dissatisfied...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bishnu0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Hotel Ashoka is situated at Howrah in kolkata. Rooms are good but overrated and high priced than it should be. Place is very chaotic and populated. It very near to the Station and the Businees place and Commercial offices. So people who want to opt for Business trip is Ok , but people who are tarvelling Kolkata for sight seeing or vacation tour purpose, it advisable not at all opt for this Hotel. Service is Ok, but again very disturbing as ther are lot os sound polution till late night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gautamsur_l3037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Ashoka Hotel is one of its kind in terms of its services and room it offered and that at a very reasonable rates.
the staff was very co-opeartive,
room service,sightseeing all things at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewDelhiPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

It is a place where one can relax at any time , when you are there and free. I reached at 10:00 pm in the evening and got one AC room in the basement with the all the amenities , all for only 900 Rs.
I enjoyed the two day stay , since all the staff are so charming and co –operative.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vcpatel_iit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#46 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,185 reviews
0 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Esteem
Hotel Esteem
#20 of 359 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
108 reviews
0 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#21 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
692 reviews
0 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Hotel

Address: P-24, Dobson Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 711 101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ashoka Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing