We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rating of - Above Average but not Very Good either.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Ranked #35 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The HHI seems to have lost its charm (and efficiency) with the passage of time. The rooms have seen wear and tear, the bathroom fittings have seen better days and the room service can be better. But on the other side you have warm, helpful and courteous staff. The personalized care and a keen eye for details seems to be lost as one would not have an ashtray in a non-smoking room. The Hotel sure has the potential to regain its lost glory and hopefully the next time I stay there it will be a case of joy in the City of Joy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 726 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't get fooled by the photos. The rooms are nothing like it. I was there only for a night and was glad when I checked out. The room and bathroom are in bad need of remodelling. The bed was hard and the room had very thin walls. Staff also took way too long to check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CripTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a room here on the newly renovated floor 5
Serious upgrading has gone on with a better bed, much better bathroom and wooden floor
Staff very helpful
Food excellent
Good selection of beers and whiskies but alcohol is very expensive

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few times during early-to-mid 1990s, and found that the quality was going down. My hosts in Calcutta were subsequently arranging my stay at other hotels such as Park, Taj Bengal, Hyatt Regency and ITC, which were all much better. I recently stayed for a night again in this hotel (now being promoted under the brand HHI), and found that it has been renovated and improved recently.

Check-in was smooth and I was taken quickly to my room on the seventh floor. The room was clean and adequate. They missed putting soap in the bath room, but it was quickly brought on being pointed out. The AC was barely sufficient; some people might find it not adequate.

Plus points : Service was very good and the staff polite in the reception and in the restaurants. Food was good in the Kalash restaurant (though with some what slow service) and breakfast in the coffee shop was excellent.
Minus points : Only one lift was available for guests, leading to longer-than-normal waits. The parking area has not grown and was always full; the car provided by my hosts had to be parked some distance away and it took some time always to reach the portico considering the heavy traffic through out the day. The website of the hotel is not user-friendly - you need to search through the site map to get to know the hotel amenities, dining options, etc. The choice of channels in different languages on the room TV was inadequate for a hotel that claims to be 5-star.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SastryEVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we choose this hotel as this was centrally located, but the staff and bathroom fitting of the hotel are very old .if they can change the attitude of staff and they can upgrade the bathroom fitting. it will be a good property with centrally located.

Room Tip: rooms in third r better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvind19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sometimes all you need are familiar faces when you travel, people who know you, people who know what you like and that is what i get here, at the Hindusthan. I started using this property about a couple of years back and now my travels take me there at least once in a month. I would not stay anywhere else as i love the rooms and the food. the hotel has a swimming pool and gym that i use everytime, the hotel is close to all the places i need to get around, sometimes even walking distance away so save a bit on car hire, as they say every little helps.

Room Tip: Avoid the interconnecting rooms, they tend to carry noise from the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We checked into the hotel primarily because of its location in central Kolkata. The city (like most Indian Cities) has a lot of traffic and a lot of time is wasted in commuting. But, staying at the hotel enabled us to do more in a single day and spend more time doing stuff rather than sitting in the car.

The food at Mythh & Kalash is absolutely fantastic. (Do try the Chocolate Mud Pie & Caesar Salad at Mythh).

We stayed at the 8th floor that gave us a nice view of city, you can see how much Kolkata has been through with a lot of very old buildings with several new skyscrapers.

The staff was very helpful and we were delighted by their prompt & efficient service :)

Room Tip: We had the colony room at the top floor. I recommend the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAlam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#32 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
725 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
#17 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
811 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#105 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata

Address: 235 / 1 AJC Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $126 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHI Kolkata needs no introduction, yet a walk into the place might make you wonder if you have reached a wrong destination. An overhauled new property, a premium fascia and a new-look lobby, welcome you into a whole new world. At every turn you discover a new face of your well-versed hotel. From the well-groomed staff to the friendly new outlets like the health-club or the swimming pool, everything throws a vibe of warmth around and reflects a sense of trendy living that enchants guests from world over. Ideally located in the center of the city, the hotel offers more than just good lodging. No wonder it is the preferred choice for fairy-tale weddings as much as for corporate power-talks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hindustan International
Hindustan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing