We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O2 Oxygen & O2 VIP are different”
Review of O2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O2 Hotel
Ranked #61 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here (in O2 Oxygen) for a night on transit. It is close to the Kolkata Airport. It's a good choice for a transit. First of all, what pics you see in travel portals are common for both O2 Oxygen and O2 VIP. Literally these two are next door to each other and belong to the same management. O2 VIP is the new buliding, you may choose O2 VIP. If you look at travel portals, you may find the pics are all same for both the hotels. Don't get misguided with that. O2 Oxygen is old building and renovation is in progress. Straight forward, Hotel Management is cheating travellers by showing same pics for both the properties. Be wise to choose O2 VIP.

Room Tip: CHOOSE O2 VIP property and not the O2 Oxygen
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sebastin_Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for O2 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

foLLOWING POINTERS PLEASE NOTe, review of 2 nights and 3 -day stay-

house keeping staff good. clean toilets. but otherwise...
- Please not O2 is different from o2 VIP.
- small rat on 5th floor room. moved to third.
-Damp wall so stayd to one end of room.
- television cable not working till 11:30pm so good night.
- Construction Banging going on outside wall...hotel not responsible. So enjoy music till 10pm (deadline) so after a day long city hopping left the room again till 11 pm.
- Dining room staff selective who they serve. Young twerp told no for a fresh cup of coffee from the buffet after he served our neighbour the same. So self help the best help.
- Key to room not working so use hall service phone everytime you come and go. The staff will come with master key to open it for you. The locking mecanism from inside doesnt work. how secure am i?
- Reception rude if the main manager not around to keep an eye on them.

Room Tip: not 505 or 303
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for two nights. I was given an executive room on checkin, which was very small and smelly. I changed to the "suite room", which was bigger but nothing like a suite, and bang on the main road. Staying in the room was like travelling in a local bus on a busy highway (such was the noise level)! Nothing great to speak about cleanliness and food also. I stayed for two days as I could not change the hotel due to a busy schedule. Besides all this, tariff after discount was like a full-service 4 star hotel. The only advantage is proximity to the airport.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose a room away from the road, even if it is small!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for a night. Excellent Rooms. Excellent Staff. Clean rooms. Good food. On VIP Road, only issue is parking problem. Very close to International and Domestic Airport. Must try out the family restaurant. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Take A Suite.....U will not regret
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxxOgabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this hotel from Austin, Texas for a short term stay. Although I live in USA, I am fully aware of the conditions in India. My experience in staying here for three nights is as follows: (1) the hotel has an excellent clean area for breakfast at the the top roof level. The breakfast is delicious with Indian menu (2) The staff at the hotel are well-mannered and helpful and I may add a special mention of Bubai Biswas at the front desk (3) The hotel is moderately priced and is worth the money (4) The location of the hotel is such that the hotel has no say in controlling the surroundings and the surrounding is not pretty (5) The hotel management is trying its best to renovate and build some structures to have a better appearance for entrance and I see some construction at the front entrance to beautify the entrance by concreting the surface and making it look nice.(6)The food quality and quantity are good (7) The bedding and pillows need to improve in the cushioning quality and the windows need to be large (8) The room is spacious including the bath room (9) More control needs to be exercised on 'smoking' in restaurant and aisle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granddaughter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

this hotel is situated near the Kolkata airport., good place to stay for a night , to move on further.
linens- ok
service- ok
cleanliness- ok
ambience- too noicy, due to bar and discothe attached.
food- OK

Room Tip: can stay overnight
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chinnasamianbumalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The problem travelling to Dhaka from Bangalore is that there are few choices. I have more often done the Delhi route - only because there are no convenient flights from Kolkata during the day (at least not on the airlines I use most). This time I had no choice but to stay overnight in Kolkata because of commitments at home and the need to be in Dhaka by 10am on the next day.
Found O2 on the net and the proximity to the airport was what caught the attention.
No regrets - Sambu picked us up from the airport and we were at the hotel in 10 minutes. There are two O2s - we stayed at the O2 VIP. Check in was easy and check out equally rapid.
The room is decent - looked a little dingy in the night conditions but comfortable all the same. Taking the stairs from and to the room can out you off - because the stairway does seem a little tight and dirty.
They have a coffee shop (groundfloor), a restaurant (first floor) and a loud (on a Saturday night)disco in the basement. We had some Indian bread and chicken (kurchan) for dinner - really delicious.
If you are a light sleeper the occasional honk from the road may be disturbing but if the objective is to wake up early and get to the airport by 5am then it actually helps!
Bottom line - definitely recommended for transits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (further away from the road) - the 01, 02 or 03!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobYourUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
O2 VIP
O2 VIP
#58 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Airport City Hotel
Airport City Hotel
#114 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#29 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Majestic Suites
The Majestic Suites
#31 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fern Residency Kolkata
The Fern Residency Kolkata
#32 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O2 Hotel

Address: VIP Road | Ramkrishna Pally, Kaikhali, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700052, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $56 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O2 HOTEL serves as an exclusive setting for Your business or pleasure visit to the City Of Joy combining unparalleled service and state-of-the-art technology. Especially designed for the corporate traveller,The O2 HOTEL has 51 plush rooms offering all facilities that required to make Your experience a delightful one,whether its business or pleasure! It offers rich dinning experience to its Guests who can take leisure in savouring delicious meals of their choice.We are committed to make Your stay at HOTEL O2 an experience of elegance. It is best corporate and business hotel near NSCBI AIRPORT in Kolkata. We are equipped with Business Center,Bar,Restaurants and Banquet Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your O2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
O2 Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing