We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shila International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shila International Hotel
Ranked #120 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

location of the hotel was very good nearby the main areas of kolkata, staff was friendly Room was good, kitchen and cutlery hygiene was average,needs to be improved.
Otherwise a pleasant place to stay .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilainternational, Director of Sales at Shila International Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your valuable comment. We are highly obliged and looking forward to serve you
in near future and we will provide our best service to you.

Regards,
J.K. Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
11
7
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

it is absolutely wrong choice where it doesn't have any good ambiance to stay there. it is not even fir for 800 rupees. their service was rediculas
it is absolutely wrong choice where it doesn't have any good ambiance to stay there. it is not even fir for 800 rupees. their service was rediculas
it is absolutely wrong choice where it doesn't have any good ambiance to stay there. it is not even fir for 800 rupees. their service was rediculas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Srinivasarao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for just one day in Standard Room. Will not recommend for a family who is on vacation.

Got my complimentary breakfast after 50 mins of ordering it. The hot milk that was brought to me was no way near to hot.

Pros
1. Good location with Birla Planetorium, St Paul's Cathedral and Haldiram's nearby.
2. Hygiene level was good.
3. Within small budget it is an OK hotel if you want to stay for a day or two.

Cons
1. Lot of Traffic noise inside the room.
2. Very ordinary room.
3. Poor Service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brahmabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilainternational, Director of Sales at Shila International Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and we are extremely sorry for serving your order with delay . I would like to inform you that we have some rooms on road facing and others are inside .if guest want inside rooms we prefer them accordingly.Normally, we suggest guest to take a sup. del. room for family, a stnd. room is not at all fit for a family. Sir, we will try our level best to serve you in future and we will provide you a good room with good service and better ambiance.

Thanks & Regards,
J.K. Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booed this HOTEL after going through the comments on tripadvisor but got disappointed when we arrive there ...this was on the first floor...no lifts..have to carry all luggage by ourself through staircase ...reception was quite small ...I checked the rooms and they are for more for one room I selected for foreign guest saying that this is super deluxe room ... but we had no choice at 11:00 PM so we accepted ...and checked into the rooms...my foreign guest was feeling quite uncomfortable in Hotel ....they provided two Mineral water Bottles in the room but they were open ...and this made the situation worst for my guest to stay there and to take anything from the Hotel.....my room A/C was also not working well...in any case we passed one night and next day we checked out to find another hotel comfortable for our business trip... I have no regrets against the stay ..may be this was not good for European....it's a medium sized hotel ...staff was helpful & co-operative ...no complaints on this side ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjivsafit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is very well located, near Park Street and Camac Street. Its next to a shady sort of bar and the entrance to the hotel is up a flight of stairs through a narrow doorway in the street.

The rooms are below average and not too clean. There is no restaurant or lobby to speak of, but the food via room service was okay. You dont feel you get value for the money you paid (Rs. 2000 per night). Not a good experience at all.

The one big redeeming factor was the staff - genuine concern and commitment to the guest's comfort was impressive. On a day that all banks were closed, they went out of their way to arrange emergency cash. Their service was pretty good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank VIkramPuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilainternational, Director of Sales at Shila International Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Puri Sir,
we are highly obliged for your appreciation . Sir, we request you to come our place one more time, we will give you our best room along with best service.

Regards,
J.K. Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Place is very good for folks who are not looking for fancy hotels. Although slightly pricey for its types staff of Shila was very friendly, accommodative, and polite.
Shonali and team were very hospitable and ensured comfort of its guests.
Rooms are nothing great to talk about small but maintained well and neat,, bathroooms very kept very clean. I would defintiely comeback to stay here when I come back to Kolkata.
Not very far from places of main interests in city, 200rs to Howrah Railway station and 500rs to airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Madhavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shilainternational, Guest Relations Manager at Shila International Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank You very much madam for appreciating us.
It is very kind of you for recognizing us within a couple of days.
Though we are a small hotel but we always tried to satisfy you in every corner at our end.
There can be some limitations but we served you our best effort to have maximum point of pleasure with staying us during your tour on KOLKATA.

We like to thank you once again for selecting us to serve you in your memorable visit on Kolkata.

Regards,

Sonali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore,
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The location of Hotel was centrally located & near by shopping mall was Forum & Big bazar was excellent. Other connectivity is good enough so that people can reach their location well on time, the staff were very cooperative in guiding the person in right direction. With Family during vacation time persons can visit Victoria Memorial & Esplanade area & others are very near to the hotel location,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank SREEDHAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#100 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#121 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#155 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Next Generation Guest House
Next Generation Guest House
#63 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.7 mi away
FabHotel Pawan Putra Kakurgachi
FabHotel Pawan Putra Kakurgachi
#142 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#34 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shila International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shila International Hotel

Property: Shila International Hotel
Address: 233/3 Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose Road | Opp. Gorky Sadan, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shila International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Shila International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shila International Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing