We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but recommended only for budget stay.”
Review of Avenue Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Club Hotel
Ranked #124 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Satara, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel but recommended only for budget stay.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel & I would recommend this hotel if one is looking for a budget stay (Rs 2100 for a Delux Room). This is a small hotel with about only 15-16 rooms but it's location is what makes it special. Located in heart of central Kolkata on a busy chittaranjan street exactly in front of kolkata medical college with the famous park street only 2 stations away & one can go there by a metro as metro station is only 2-3 mins away from this hotel. Rooms were clean & decent but I felt the bed linen could hav been more cleaner. Also food is good but a bit expensive for a budget hotel. The only part I would like to warn about is tip hungry staff. I was really surprised when a waiter serving food indirectly asked me for tip & offered to give me back change when I told him that I was not having any change at that moment. But as I have said in my previous review this hotel is good overall for a budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We got to this hotel at 3am after a very long day of delayed flights. The staff were fantastic, they were friendly and welcoming even at 3 am! The room was big enough, and very clean. There was no hot water though. The food was tasty. We got a newspaper at our door every morning. The only negative thing I have to say about this hotel was that we felt under pressure to eat at the hotel every day. When we were leaving/entering the hotel, the staff would constantly ask us if we wanted food etc. But overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dub26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satara, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is small hotel located on busy chittaranjan street in heart of central Kolkata. My 2 days stay at this hotel was comfortable. Rooms are good with decent service & proof food. It is a perfect budget hotel in central Kolkata with very good connectivity as metro station is about 5 mins away from here. Also the famous park street is also couple of stations away. Overall a good hotel at budget price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalpakkam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 19:30 hrs on 22nd May 2012 to 16:00 hrs on 24th May. The hotel is situated just opp to Kolkata Medical college hospital on the main road. The prepaid taxi from airport charged Rs 220/-. Initially booking was difficult as they generally do not respond to window shoppers. Once I sent the scanned copies of my air ticket to clubinn@cal2.vsnl.net.in> they asked for just a token amount of Rs 1000/- and had the rooms (i had booked two rooms) ready. The rooms are located on the first and second floors. The entry to the hotel in ground floor is just an aisle. The check in procedure of taking photos instilled a better sense of security. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds and toilets were pretty neat. The food served by room service was good. The staff were courteous, friendly and highly co-operative. Though the checkout time was 12:00 noon they were gracious enough to allow us to use the rooms for 4 hours extra without any additional charges and arguements.The disadvantages are lack of lift service and lack of travel desk. But as the hotel is situated on the main road enough taxis are available. Would definitely advise travellers to choose this hotel for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPRML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

One of the best budget hotels in kolkatta.Nice hotel staff,good clean rooms and excellent fooding.look for this hotel when u visit kolkatta.perfect location of this hotel makes it more preferable.the central metro station is just 5 minutes from the hotel and the precidency college too.great worth for money.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank subrat765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

nice rooms as per price is concerned. location is great for communication. but one big problem is, there is no lift facility. food is really great by room service although no restaurant facility.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank santu_somi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolkata (Calcutta)
1.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#167 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Floatel Hotel
Floatel Hotel
#38 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lake Land Country Club Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#118 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shila International Hotel
Shila International Hotel
#122 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mayur Residency
Mayur Residency
#170 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Club Hotel

Property: Avenue Club Hotel
Address: 95 A, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700073, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Club Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing