We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Custromer Service”
Review of Middleton Inn

Middleton Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middleton Inn
Ranked #139 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Although India is not known for its customer service, this hotel is worse than others. The staff are unhelpful and rude, given the price we paid, the rooms are not cleaned etc. We had booked a week's stay, and mysteriously on the 5th day, the "power"in only our room plus two others was off, apparently due to "faulty" wiring. We were transferred across the city and deposited in one of their sister properties. Had to argue to get a good room! Never stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mungli834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

lift, as others say, but staff were on hand to take our luggage to our room. Not much English spoken by the staff and was difficult to make them understand " a cup of tea please'. The breakfast was ok, but you must ask for omelettes and fresh fruit etc as it will not be offered. Our room was small but nice and clean with tv and good shower facilities. Try and ask for a room away from noise of outside generator as this kept me awake most nights being constantly on and off. Found a lovely 'English Coffee Shop' with food just around the corner in the Craft centre Of India building.
Was very close to the Metro (which the best way to get around in this City).

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jean_jeanie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

First of all the entrance on the hotel itself is very bad and you do not have a lift to enter the hotel but still their Tariff is very high and service is not all good.They give mineral water bottles one per room whether there is a single or double occupancy which has no logical explanation. They call it as the rule.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank SUBHAMOY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good room, great food (room service menu), close to many attractions, close to good restaurants, just about 100m from metro station, net-net highly recommended.
Only 2 problems - need to climb up the stairs (No lift) and buffet breakfast is very average

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is well located in the center of the city and is accessible to the shopping locality like Park Street,Chowrangee etc. The rooms are well equipped for a good stay, small by Indian standards but match European standard rooms. The food is great and very homely. The service standards are also great. The food and service takes care of the smallness of the room. Would recommend this for Business, Couples, Family, friends etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vss_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Located in a very central location in Kolkata, close to 'some' of the customers key to my business, this seemed like an obvious choice. The room rates were reasonable, considering the location. Room provided was clean, with neat sheets and interiors, a fridge, TV & STB, few plug points for charging (but I now carry a multiplug adapter). On arrival, I was provided fresh fruits and juice in the room.

Food provided here is below average, be it from the menu or the breakfast buffet. It would always be more sensible to walk down to Park street (flurry's etc) via Russel street and eat there.

Room Tip: I believe all room's are similar and make no difference, as the windows isolate a lot of the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had a great wedding reception here. The food was excellent. The staff looked after us so well. Good value, plenty of choice and very tasty food. Had a great and memorable time. rooms are very clean and well decorated..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank nehadesna87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#123 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#174 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#24 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#46 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#134 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 10 Middleton Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $53 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middleton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Middleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middleton Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Middleton Inn India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing