We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Her Majesty is back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
Ranked #2 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Her Majesty is back”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

there are luxury hotels and then there are luxury hotels. But in Asia there is rarely any hotel who can boast about its history so much as the Great Eastern. Lalit Group surely did a superb job in bringing it back from the ashes and giving it a promising future. The sensibility of naming their pub the Wilson's Pub and reopening the bakery to the people of Kolkata adds yet another feather in their cap. I am looking at it as a part of history a part of legacy a part of heritage and on the other hand expecting a future which I can pass down to my later generations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharanya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for visiting The Lalit Great Eastern. We appreciate you taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback about The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata which was referred as the ‘Jewel of the East’ and the ‘Best Hotel East of the Suez’.
We at The Lalit Great Eastern are delighted with your words of appreciation. Our heartfelt gratitude for recognizing our efforts in restoring the iconic Great Eastern hotel as The Lalit Great Eastern. I thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards
Rakesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    227
    56
    15
    19
See reviews for
283
139
68
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The property has been done up excellently,despite Hotel's claims,it is a soft opening,the surroundings of the Hotel are very depressing,on which probably Hotel has no control,my check in was a series of a systematic failures despite I was the only guest in the lobby,the Staff at Front Office need to go back to kindergarden.

Only one multicuisine restaurant is open with minimal Buffet/ La carte menu

Room Tip: Please ask the room pool facing,if you get a room on other side,looking from the window Can depress
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with The Lalit Great Eastern. We appreciate you taking time out and sharing your review on your stay with us. Your valuable feedback is of utmost importance to us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your check-in. Your feedback has helped us in assessing our check-in procedures. Me and my team assure you a glitch-free check-in on your next visit.

We are grateful to you for appreciating the architectural aspects of the Hotel which we were able to open after 7 years of laborious and painstaking restoration. We have restored the legacy of Great Eastern and also kept in mind that our rooms have glimpses of terrace gardens, swimming pool, corridors and atriums adorned with local artefacts.

Presently we are offering buffet spread and a-la-carte menu at ‘The Legacy Lounge’ and an all day dining menu at ‘The Bakery’ iconic outlet from the Great Eastern times. Wilson’s- The Pub attached with The Bakery serves all kinds of beverages and exotic snacks. Also we have a dedicated ‘Tea Lounge’ serving the best of the Teas from World and India along with varieties of snacks. Apart from the menus available at these outlets our Food and Beverage team are always eager to accommodate guests preferences to the best of our ability . Our multi-cuisine all-day diner is due to open in couple of weeks with an elaborate buffet spread and a-la-carte menu choices.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Lalit Great Eastern, Kolkata.

Warm regards
Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Its been a great experience , hotel restarted operations under Lalit group after long renovation. But Iam really impressed with the restoration work done with maintaining the colonial architecture .
During the my check in I was upgraded to higher category room by warm staff greeting at reception . Room was quite spacious & big . I had bit disappointment as breakfast was not upto the standards of a 5 star though the staff was courteous & eager take care of you needs .
Hotel is in heart of city and you get access to city easily . Overall a good experience .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishant s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Namaskar Sir,

We appreciate your efforts of taking out time and posting feedback. We are humbled to know that you appreciate the restored and renovated – The Lalit Great Eastern. It is these motivating words from our esteemed and valued guests like you that gives us an opportunity to go extra miles and enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight.

We are grateful for your feedback as a result of which we have implemented quite a few changes in the breakfast buffet spread. We have improvised on our entire food and beverage experiences to delight the palates of all our esteemed guests. Hope you would appreciate the same on your next visit to the hotel soon.

Thank once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Looking forward to having you back at again.

Warm regards

Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

its gentelness and kind service amzed me to stay here
One of the Best Hotels we have ever stayed around the world. I will not say more to avoid to spoil your experience and feelings when you will stay there. Excellent location, service and a sensation of going back in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChetanShiriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RakeshMitra, General Manager at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

Thank you for sparing time to share your detailed feedback on your recent stay at The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata.

Me and my team members are delighted to read your words of appreciation ,they are great source of motivation for us.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm regards

Rakesh Mitra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,268 reviews
7.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,442 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata

Property: The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
Address: 1 2 & 3 Old Court House Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700069, India (Formerly Great Eastern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#5 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asia's first luxury hotel, The Lalit Great Eastern is a heritage landmark located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata. Restored and renovated over a period of seven years, the hotel holds the distinction of being the longest continuously operating hotel for 165 years. Built in 1841 as Auckland Hotel, it has been referred to as the 'Jewel of the East' and the 'Best Hotel East of the Suez'. Over the years, the hotel has been the favourite haunt of royalty and celebrities from across the world. The Lalit Great Eastern, now restored to its original glory, is an amalgamation of the styles of 3 different eras of history - Victorian, Edwardian and Contemporary, reflected in Heritage Block 1, Heritage Block 2 and the New Block respectively. The original Heritage Block radiates the charm of the British Colonial Era, while the Modern Block incorporates a contemporary look and feel. These blocks have been seamlessly connected despite their distinct character and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing