We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a new look” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stadel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stadel
Ranked #158 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Needs a new look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Their outlets run well and they have Held Bar which I personally feel needs to have a fresh look now as the same looks persists for years.
To have clients coming back needs a fresh approach specially when it's as much as good bars in the city side.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    18
    5
    13
See reviews for
11
2
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

i went to kolkata with my family on 7th April,we stayed for 4 days.As they claim that they are three star hotel first impression at lobby it is a 3 star hotel, story start to change once you are in the room .I stayed in room number 107 ,floor tile are broken,if your are staying with a child your attention should be on your child or you have to run for hospital as the tile sharp broken edges.then come air condition is horrible ,they don't have fan.next problem start once you like to stretch yourself bed plywood just toss up as it is not screwed to the bed.room smell horrible,sofa upholstery which was badly stained ,towel are smelling like hotel dish washing clothes. you will will surprised to know room charge is Rs3500 they provide you with a 14 inch portable tv now days rs 400 hotel rooms have lcd. It is not at tall a children friendly hotel,for example my son whose age is 2 and half ,1st day the rice which they served is very hard ,so approach them i said please provide me your staff rice ,they just refuse to give .i think the hotel meant for official program only,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajBhubaneswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The best dosas I have tasted in a very long time. Idli was really fresh and was served with several different types of chutneys. Ambiance is clean and spotless. The restaurant is tucked away on one side of the Stadel hotel off the bypass.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Stadel from 16th to 20th of Jan while attending a conference at the Science City in Salt Lake. The hotel was conveniently located for us and is close to the airport. Check in was good, staff courteous and the complimentary breakfast, while not spectacular was tasty, and so was whatever other food we ordered.The good points end here. The outside is attractive but the inside is a totally different story. The walls badly need a coat of paint and the whole place had a musty smell. The room which we were given first had a terrible stink which we discovered was mainly from the sofa upholstery which was badly stained. The curtains looked unwashed and was covered with chik blinds which was soiled dark. When we tried to roll the blinds up they came off as they were stuck with velcro!! The pillow cover had water stains on it and the bath towels were of a dark maroon colour and smelled musty.

When we complained to the front desk they very obligingly changed the room for us. This room smelled better, but the story was same with the bed linen, curtains, towels etc. My bed sheet had a large stain on it. The next day when going out, we requested the house keeping staff for a change of linen. When we got back the beds were neatly made, but we saw that the same sheets were used. So the next day again we requested a sheet and towel change only to find nothing was done. On the third morning we asked the staff again and they confessed that CLEAN LAUNDRY COMES BY ONLY ONCE IN 4 OR 5 DAYS and said they were helpless. That means they might even be reusing sheets used by other guests!!!

The sleep quality was deplorable. One night some reception went on till 10.30 pm and then there was noise in the passage made by the guests, and a terrible din outside the room made by the cleaning staff. I waited till 11.30 and then complained to the front desk. It was 12.15am finally when the noise stopped! The same thing again the next day, though it stopped a bit earlier. But we had mosquitoes instead to keep us awake, and the noisy AC contributed.

I must say, all the staff-front desk, restaurant,house keeping etc were extremely polite and obliging. But it looked like the management was making enough money from the several receptions and parties held every day and was least bit bothered about the guest facilities. Over all a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the ground floor. along a line and the farthest one might be less noisy, becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsiinmysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Stadel Hotel is situated within the Salt Lake Stadium. The approach to the entrance is a 200 meters road lined on both sides with beautiful flowers. There is a police station near the entrance to ensure safety. The plus points of the hotel are: situated only 11 km from airport, clean and pleasant ambiance, modest tariff and courteous reception and house-keeping staff. There are only 19 rooms and all on the ground floor (as the entire hotel) is built below the stadium. Privacy is surely an issue. Couples would find this uncomfortable. There are 2 restaurants (one multi-cuisine, one South Indian), one bar and one bakery outlet. Breakfast is served in the First Innings Muticuisine restaurant and is just above average. The waiters are helpful....but need to be called for assistance. But food is served up to 11 pm only......not 24 hours. Also many items displayed at Rasam (the South Indian restaurant) were not available; for example the Veg. Thali. There is also a gymnasium and spa and a saloon on the premises. Now the negative points of the hotel (I stayed in Room No 115): (i) sparse iron furniture, bed has only a thin mattress and if one tends to roll while sleeping then there is a chance of falling off the bed. The television is an old 12 inches model.....with poor reception. There are no facilities to make tea / coffee in the room. The AC was so noisy that I could not use it. The lighting is just average. In short, the furniture is outdated and needs an urgent upgrade. Painting of the walls is urgently required. (ii) There was a daily wedding reception in the hotel premises....which is held at one end of the hotel. If your room is near this area....then sleeping before 11 pm would be a problem. Overall the hotel is just above-average.....for its modest tariff.

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the banquet area....so that you can get good sleep and rest......and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunilK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
338 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Vegetarian Restaurant is named as Rasam restaurant and located in The Stadel hotel. It’s a simple restaurant and most of the times crowded. Snacks are excellent. Meal is average. Order preparation is slow and serving is snail pace due to lack of staff. Staff are dressed in ISCON style. Hospitality is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASMTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice hotel tucked in one corner of the huge Saltlake Stadium. Location wise it's quite good with easy access. I am not sure how good the logding facilities are as we were there for a corporate event. The ambience was good, banquet facilities were adequete, food and service quite excellent....thanks to the manager Mr.Piyush Singh. Definitely a good place for corporate events or even social gatherings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Sojourn
Hotel The Sojourn
#56 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel De Sovrani
Hotel De Sovrani
#47 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stadel

Property: The Stadel
Address: Gate No 3, Yuva Bharati Krirangan, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Stadel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing