We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for its price”
Review of Broadway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadway Hotel
Ranked #42 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The location of the hotel is the USP. Middle of the city, metro station is just around the corner, lots of options to eat in the vicinity, helpful staff, the room was quite big and spacious. The food in the hotel was just about okay. The staff is quite helpful and knowledgeable. Eden Gardens (the cricket stadium) is less than a KM. The hotel and the furniture in the rooms remind you of olden times. 2 things which can put you off are the bed (which is quite hard) and you don't get hot water 24*7.
For the price, its a must stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaintarang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 109 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is about what you expect in India in this price range: large old spacious rooms, hard beds, no hot water (they will bring a bucket), but we found it just too noisy. Our room was right across from the lift. which supposedly was not used at night, but seemed to go up and down all night long. They did say they had smaller rooms in the back which were quieter, but we were three persons and wanted a good sized room. We had actually booked a "suite" which was a bit of a joke-- the extra room was more like a closet. Plus they seemed to be doing construction or something most of the night. Even by Indian standards, we found it just too noisy. The staff however are very nice and understanding, even when we said we had to run away to another hotel. I would recommend it if you can't afford more, but get a room in the back. We didn't eat in the restaurant which is a shame because it looked promising.

Room Tip: Get one in the back!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayasalaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the Broadway for the 2nd time in December 2013 and to be honest I think it was one of the main reasons that we entered India via Kolkata again! An absolute gem of a place, amazing art deco furniture (albeit worn and the better for it!), large rooms and expansive beds that we found to be the most comfortable on our travels.

The staff are helpful and we simply love the bar / restaurant on the lower floor, which has a downtown Chicago 1930's style and does great paneer dishes plus cheap cold beer.

Definitely somewhere to stay a few days as it has such a unique atmosphere and Kolkata is a fantastic city to poke around, particularly places such as the South Park Cemetery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tetleyteabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our second visit. Very attentive and knowledgeable staff. Old world charm, but don't expect the Ritz. Bucket hot water. Hard beds. Excellent location: across from Metro, around corner from 2 good veg restaurants. Step into Broadway Bar for a local experience. Rs 875/double.

Room Tip: We like #38 -- corner room, top floor, street view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peargrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times before, because of its handy location to everything. The metro train station Chandi Chowk is just across the road, and cost only 5 rupees to get to the Esplanade where the Grand hotel was and also the street vendors and Newmarket not all that far either. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, for 1600 rupees a day, but the only downside was the noise from the street especially if you were the one sleeping in the bedroom with the en-suite bathroom and the tv and the noise went on for almost all of the night, my sister-in-law who slept in the other room said that she could not hear much noise and also the mattresses could of been slightly better.

Room Tip: Be careful when getting a room with the bedrooms directly on Ganesh Chandra Ave as there is lots of...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guru314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had a wonderful time. The hotel is VERY homely, peaceful, and has a classic feel and look.
The floor staff, from the shoeshine boy, the laundry man, the servers, the elevator operator, the security man, and the super, all are always willing to serve their guest, and they are very efficient.
The front desk men always greeted me with a smile, and were always extremely helpful, weather you need directions, information, address, or just ideas to enjoy Kolkata, they ALWAYS help you.
As for the senior managers, they are always there to see that the hotel is being run smoothly.
At my stay there, I was there for almost two weeks. NO ONE ever asked me for a tip, they dont even make you feel that they are waiting for a tip.
As for the room, it has everything one needs, very roomy, and are cleaned everyday.
I went there from Canada, and I will go back.
The food is mouth watering, in-expensive, and served in your room.
The best part, my total experience cost peanuts.

Room Tip: Ask the management, and they will tell you which room is most suitable for your needs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Antique hotel ,get a feel of living in yesterdays during the stay. Limited breakfast , value for money,jamana lift only the operator can manage , real feel of living in a haveli.
The staff was great and we enjoyed the big rooms and the room service a lot

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkatjaladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#51 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#53 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Inn
Golden Inn
#132 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#92 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#75 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel

Address: 27A Ganesh Chandra Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing