We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm?”
Review of Broadway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadway Hotel
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here on 2nd may 2013 with my family.Room no:3 ,overlooking the Chandni chowk metro entrance.I haven't seen such a spacious room for 775/night in recent days.the room had 5 windows,and a high ceiling and 2 fans.we really didn't feel that we are in a non AC room.from the reception to the lift operator to the bell boy,everyone of the staff were very helpful.The bed had very clean cot and linen.they have their own restaurant and bar downstairs,bustling in the evenings,food was great,but a bit costly,i felt.Easy access to bazaars.and a taxi will take you to Howrah or sealdah station for Rs 100/-.so centrally located.will certainly stay here in my future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Rooms are very large. There's even coffee table and chairs, dressing table, wardrobe and a clothes horse. Bathroom was OK even without hot water It wasn't too cold. Hotel has a uniformed lift operator in their old school elevator that adds a bit of charm. Morning paper was always slipped under the door which was really nice. The bar/ restaurant downstairs looks like an old pub and is nice for some drinks but they don't have a great selection for breakfast there. There are loads of restaurants and little take away stalls on the street though so no problem finding something decent to eat anywhere near by. The staff were very friendly and helped us out with all the questions we had and also got us a cheap taxi for our early leave towards the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed between April 20-22, 2012. Travelled with parents, wife and 2 year old kid. I had stayed in this hotel when i was about 6 years old. Though its lost some of its charm, it still remains a very good choice if you are not too fussy- In other words,dont expect 5 star facilities here, coz u r paying a 2 star price! No AC, No luxury, No 24 hrs running hot water etc. Stay in one of the lower floor rooms if u can, coz the upper floors tend to get really baked in Kolkata's awful heat.

The food has also come down quite a bit, but the staff are good at doing their job. They got us a very decent dinner at nearly 1 o clock in the night, which was really Heaven -sent for us, as we had flown all the way from Mumbai.
The location is very convenient, the rooms are airy, clean, and there's no dearth of culinary options in and around the hotel-again, not gourmet-class, but worth every penny.
I would stay here again and again, and would strongly recommend it to budget travellers.
Just bear in mind:-

1) NO A/C
2) NO GEYSER (IF U NEED IT IN KOLKATA!!)
3) NO FRILLS
4) VERY REASONABLE TARIFF
5) SUPER LOCATION
6) GREAT STAFF
7) DECENT BAR

Hope the above's useful folks!!!

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd/3rd floor rooms if available as they are much cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arijeet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here in March / April 2013. Paid 675rs per night for Rm 33A on the top floor. Initially stayed at Hotel Maria in Sudder Street but moved after one night (refer to Hotel Maria review for more).

Broadway is a very solid option for budget travellers. 675rs per night isn’t the cheapest around but the value is there – rooms are large and airy, staff are friendly and the attached restaurant – whilst not world beating – is a reasonable place to have a meal and a beer. Cable TV is available – mine didn’t work despite the staff trying 4 different TVs – but at least they had a go at rectifying it.

Pros

- Large, clean, airy rooms – lots of windows
- Clean bathroom and very good shower pressure for India
- Friendly, affable staff
- Proximity to Chandhi Chowk Metro Station (directly across the road – 15 second walk)

Cons

For the price – other than having no wi-fi and no Internet facilities in the immediate vicinity – none really. The only thing I’d mention is that the staff have a tendency to ‘over-service’. I had to take my in-room phone off the hook because staff (both at reception and on my floor) were calling me for trivial, unnecessary reasons. Also, I left about 100ml of a warm Kingfisher in the restaurant one night and it was delivered – warmer, flatter and more undrinkable – to me at 7am the next day. Finally, the lift attendants hang around like flies on a turd for tips, particularly when you check-out. These are minor things though – and you’d certainly rather hotel staff be ‘over-servicing’ than ‘under-servicing’.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, get a room away from the road. 33A was a fair way back from the road and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thisisseriousmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Broadway Hotel has buckets of charm and from what it loses through lack of hot water, no WiFi and noise it more than makes up for in character. The staff are all really friendly and there appears to be about 30 staff members on a shift at any one time. The hotel covers five floors and even comes complete with old school lift operator. Room are big, cheap, clean and come with a newspaper under the door everyday. The location is also a massive plus as it is opposite Chandni Chowk Metro station.

Room Tip: Lonely planet recommends corner rooms for more light, which we got, but they forgot to mention that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 2011, I found it very nice and the price was very decent. So decided to stay for 3 nights on the 15, 16, and 17 march 2013, it is very central and very effective for business. I was out for 2 whole days with business meetings and the ideal location made it very convenient . The staff was very professional especially those handling check ins and outs. The only thing I missed was wifi. The room was very clean, bath room very clean, I would certainly recommend this hotel to every traveller, no wonder there are a lot of regulars , so a word of advice, book in advance., as its a very popular place, the rooms are seldom empty. The restaurant serves very good food, there is a bar as well, it's very popular as well. . When I needed a cab to the airport, one was provided for me in a twinkling of en eye , and the taxi fare was very resonable. So a very big thank you to all the staff at broadway for making me feel at home. It's a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this place. It's the second time I've stayed here. There are a few drawbacks. It isn't quiet and it isn't luxurious. However it is clean, it has enormous rooms and it has its own kind of charm. The neighbourhood is busy and there is a great Kathi Roll joint next door. That place is perfect for a snack after sitting downstairs in the high-ceilinged film noir bar with a whisky and a beer watching the barber plying his trade on the footpath outside. Unfortunately, the bar is much more comfortable if you are a man than if you are a woman, particularly if you are on your own, but it is light, airy and has windows onto the street. Luxury! The rooms are truly great for the low price, but you might have a bit of trouble finding a cab driver who knows where it is. However, with the map in your guidebook you should be able to walk the 10 minute distance from BBD Bagh without a hitch. Great if you want to see a proper Kolkata neighbourhood and get away from the trashiness of Sudder Street. Don't come here for a romantic night with your loved one (the front rooms sound like you're sleeping in the middle of the road), but do if you like a bit of gritty old-skool charm. Great place.

Room Tip: front is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#109 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,001 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#20 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#28 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
206 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#25 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
267 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#48 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel

Address: 27A Ganesh Chandra Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing