We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with minor faults”
Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #119 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good hotel with minor faults”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location on Sudder Street with an ATM directly across the street. The rooms are clean and the shower is great- a rarity in India! The housekeeping staff is especially helpful. There are a few minor issues, however- the service in the restaurant is slooow, and I'm fairly certain my friend and I got a one day bout of food poisoning from the redtaurant's salad. Despite this, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    82
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
40
44
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked to stay at the Bawa Walson for four nights in early December 2012. I wrote to them two weeks before arriving and they confirmed my reservation.

When I arrived at the hotel - guess what? There was a 'problem'. My friend and I had booked two separate rooms and were told that we should share. We were told that there was an issue with the plumbing and that it didn't matter which of us gave up our room, even though we were told that they were on different sides of the hotel, despite the plumbing issue being with one side of the hotel. Cut to the chase, the hotel's story didn't make sense, or hold up to basic scrutiny. For context, when we visited the cricket was on a Eden Gardens and Calcutta was very busy. Could it have been that the hotel were freeing up rooms to sell at higher charges?

We protested that we had both booked a room and were given separate rooms on the first night. I was then told to leave my room the following day. When I was given a bill, they had made two mistakes: 1) charged me for an extra half day, 2) miscalculated the tax and overcharged by 50%. After much arguing, they corrected the bill.

In the meantime, I found a room at the excellent Fairlawn down the street. As you can imagine, this experience means that I won't be recommending the Bawa Walson to anyone. The manager and receptionist were incompetent and it was a blight on my stay. Regular travellers to India will know that there is always a risk of being scammed, but I didn't expect it to come from an expensive hotel.

In the interest of balance, the hotel is well-positioned on Sudder Street (popular with tourists), is modern and the rooms were fairly clean. The shower was good and breakfast was ok. However, it was very expensive for what it was.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank maneatshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Location was quite central...food quality was really good... Rooms were spacious but comfertable...bathroom was small but well equipped... The service was prompt... Restaurant was also clean. .Over all, a good stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunil_94ee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Overall our stay was pleasant
By Indian standards this hotel is clean and pleasant
The service was average but the location was best... In walking distance to a lot of things especially the markets
The only disappointment was when the doorman put us in a taxi, told us 350 RP only so he could then be handed 50RP by the taxi driver! Even though I'd told him we would only pay what we were told we should pay which was 300 RP

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffa-ella2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle mead.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just stayed three nights in Novemeber, 2012 based on reviews which were extrmely axageratred. Our experience was a night mare for a three a hotel incorrectly rated three and half stars. We think it was like a Dharamshala with untolerable odor in the room. The rooms were damp and very untidy and the linen and towels did not look clean with yellowish color. Hotel managment showed us other rooms which were also not better than others. Outside the window trash is every where with untolerable smell. The outside location is very dirty, smelly and run down that it is impossible to walk on the side walk. The breakfast is like a soup kitchen type with inadequate food and flies are all around ready to join the guest. At night the hotel staff sprays to kill mosquitos which are in abundance all around the hotel and isnide the room. if I knew the reality definitely would not have booked this hotel even free of cost.

Room Tip: Rooms are damp and full of odor wuith smelly linen and smelly towels. Mosquiotos and flies are all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnny76Bellemead_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

For someone who has worked in the travel industry for many years and has stayed in low grade hotels right through to some of the finest properties in the world, this joke of a hotel has to have been the worst I have ever stayed in.

To sum up... I was told that there were no twin rooms available having had a twin confirmed directly by the hotel. 3 different couples checked in after us on the same day and all received twins, all having to call their travel agent who in-turn threatened to cancel their contract with the hotel unless their guests received twin rooms.

We decided to try the hotels's restaurant on our 3rd night, both ordered local and international cuisine if you can call it that.
Both of us were sick all night along with diarrhoea for 2 days down to their food. We had eaten all over Calcutta the majority along Park Street and even the Oberoi which was superb.

To top it all off we were both bitten badly on our backs with over 25 bites each from BED BUGS.

This place is not fit to operate and please avoid at all costs.

I would be interested to see the hotel's reply if they are capable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is one of the Best maintained 3* Property I have come across in recent times in terms of Cleanliness, Staff Courtesy, Location Buffet Breakfast all was simply Superb.

I had stayed there from 22nd Nov - 26th Nov on Occasion of a family weeding.

Booked the Hotel on Makemytrip was a bit apprehensive of the Location and quality, however was delighted by the sight of the hotel. Excellent Street food and Nearby New market for all you shopping needs. I would surely recommend this hotel to every one visiting city of Joy.

Very decent place to stay for first time city traveler Will give points 10/10

Only - ve would be the Room Size it would have been better if a bit more spacious. I stayed in a Super Deluxe Room the Room size were a bit small and cramped.

Room Tip: Go for the Road facing Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddhartha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bawa Waslon

Thank You very much for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

looking forward to serve you again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#65 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#132 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing