We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS - BED BUGS & FOOD POISONING!!!!”
Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #119 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS - BED BUGS & FOOD POISONING!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

For someone who has worked in the travel industry for many years and has stayed in low grade hotels right through to some of the finest properties in the world, this joke of a hotel has to have been the worst I have ever stayed in.

To sum up... I was told that there were no twin rooms available having had a twin confirmed directly by the hotel. 3 different couples checked in after us on the same day and all received twins, all having to call their travel agent who in-turn threatened to cancel their contract with the hotel unless their guests received twin rooms.

We decided to try the hotels's restaurant on our 3rd night, both ordered local and international cuisine if you can call it that.
Both of us were sick all night along with diarrhoea for 2 days down to their food. We had eaten all over Calcutta the majority along Park Street and even the Oberoi which was superb.

To top it all off we were both bitten badly on our backs with over 25 bites each from BED BUGS.

This place is not fit to operate and please avoid at all costs.

I would be interested to see the hotel's reply if they are capable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    82
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
40
44
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is one of the Best maintained 3* Property I have come across in recent times in terms of Cleanliness, Staff Courtesy, Location Buffet Breakfast all was simply Superb.

I had stayed there from 22nd Nov - 26th Nov on Occasion of a family weeding.

Booked the Hotel on Makemytrip was a bit apprehensive of the Location and quality, however was delighted by the sight of the hotel. Excellent Street food and Nearby New market for all you shopping needs. I would surely recommend this hotel to every one visiting city of Joy.

Very decent place to stay for first time city traveler Will give points 10/10

Only - ve would be the Room Size it would have been better if a bit more spacious. I stayed in a Super Deluxe Room the Room size were a bit small and cramped.

Room Tip: Go for the Road facing Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddhartha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bawa Waslon

Thank You very much for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

looking forward to serve you again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. The room was very comfortable and clean. The folks at the reception desk were very helpful and answered every question I had, patiently. The food (both breakfast and the ala carte dishes) awesome!

It's located on a busy street but very accessible to many places. Plus the metro stations are nearby. Try exploring the nearby streets on foot as you would enjoy the myriad of colours, people and the city itself.

The only turn off is that there is no wi-fi access in the room and you can only access this in the common areas - the reception or the courtyard restaurant. Despite these, I will still come and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mtcicero72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest \

Greetings from Bawa Walson ...

we appreciate your positive feedback on trip advisor , we have free accessWIFI only in reception and restaurant area .. in rooms its chargeable at very reasonable rates

Thanks for taking time for writing review of our hotel , looking forward to serve you again

Thanks
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manger sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First about the hotel: We stayed two different times at the hotel, One night and an evening before a trip to Sikkim and Darjeeling and 2 nights when we returned. First we had room 212, a very nice room. It was large, had a kettle and tea making facilities, a minifridge with the usual snacks and drinks, clear reception from the flat screen TV, a closet, a lot of places to put luggage, a desk, a clean, modern, marble bathroom with plenty of hot water, a well functioning air conditioning system. I didn’t care for the mattress on the bed, not my level of comfort, but my husband thought it was fine.

When we returned, we had room 105. I LOVED the mattress in this room. I slept like a log. I also really liked the room. I believe it is laid out as handicap accessible because there was a lot of room around the bed, a barrier free access to the bathroom and shower and armbars around the toilet. The room had all the same amenities as room 212. I have posted pictures of both.

One of the best things about both rooms is that they were extremely quiet. Kolkota can be chaotic, cacophonous and overwhelming. But the rooms here were a quiet haven of peace. They also had very good lighting, a rarity in India. There were reading lights over the bed, very bright task and ceiling lights if needed, but also indirect lighting that set a calming ambience. The complimentary breakfast buffet was plentiful, including fresh fruit and Indian and western entrees. Even better, the omelet bar was superb. That fellow can make a delicious omelet to order and we enjoyed one each morning. We also had dinner in the restaurant twice and lunch once. In the evening they have a chicken schwarma roasting on spit. We had it one evening and found it quite tasty. The hotel is centrally located. We easily walked to New Market, Park street, the Indian Museum, the Victoria Memorial, St. Paul’s Cathedral and the Maiden. There are also a number of restaurants in the area.

Now the best part: a review of the staff. I can’t say enough about their kindness and attentiveness. For example: I was having a LOT of trouble with a travel agent and our ongoing travel arrangements, including the tickets for the train to hill country. The desk man (receptionist?) was incredibly helpful, even helping me to phone the travel agent several times, suggesting an Indian Sim card for my cell phone and teaching me how to check the status of our train tickets online. Then, the hotel manager went out of his way to print out our confirmed tickets. It took him about ½ hour and necessitated going to several different computers and rebooting the printer and all that. But he never gave up. Several times during our stays, he greeted us and checked with us to make sure all was well. When we returned from Darjeeling, the receptionist allowed us to check in at 9:00 am, despite the fact that check-in was not until 2 pm. We were able to take a much needed shower and rest. This was a real kindness and we were not charged extra. The housekeeping staff was responsive and friendly. The staff in the restaurant equally so.

In short, I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay here again or refer friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the team of Hotel Bawa Walson ..! Thank You for posting your review on trip adviser. I am glad you liked the hotel services and staff, and really appreciate such a positive feedback. We look forward to serve you again in the future,


Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Extremely courteous staff
Amazing interiors of the rooms, though they are small in size
Lobby and ambience are good.
Breakfast is oki-doki.
Worth every penny.
Located in the heart of Kolkata, you can get real kolkata street food round the corner.
The rooms dont have any natural ventilations though
Best part ----- 24hrs open kitchen!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are small in size... suited only for couple but, not more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nithinmagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Bawa hotels ! Thank You for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Hotel
Looking Forward for a chance to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The good points:
- very convenient location in Sudder st
- set back from road is pretty quiet
- wifi in room 24/7 for free
- breakfast incl in tariff
- clean room, good bed, good shower/bathroom

Other points
- no real atmosphere
- relatively disinterested staff
- wouldn't pay for the breakfast

Would probably categorize as good (ie between Trip Advisor categories Average and Very Good)
- feel you pay a fair price for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Bawa hotels ! Thank You for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Hotel & the Tip you have given to Business Traveller's. Looking Forward for a chance to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#65 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#132 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing