We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced hotel but clean and comfortable.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced hotel but clean and comfortable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is expensive considering the location with slightly small rooms even though we stayed in a deluxe room. The bathroom was good, clean, good design and with a quality shower.
The food in the restaurant is good for dinner but the breakfast is awful. The restaurant staff are not great, slow to serve and more interested in watching tv - I did make reception aware of this. The spa is not included on the price and has to be accessed via the restaurant. There is no pool. Location wise it is a short walk to Park Street and the museum (which is awful and a waste of time) On the whole, average and overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TofM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to write Review for Bawa Walson on Trip Adviser, Bawa walson Rooms even Executive Rooms are even bigger 150 sq ft as per stranded Hotel requires only 130 sq ft , we have noted about Breakfast and you will surly see improvement your next visit
We have spa packages next time on your visit do ask front office or reservation to book on spa package , swimming pool are in f star hotels our hotel Boutique spa o tel ,

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    68
    31
    23
See reviews for
38
44
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tezpur, Assam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night in May 2012. Overall a good experience as the room was nice. Bathroom was clean and had good fittings. Most importantly it is in a very good location. The new market, park street etc are within minutes. It has a nice restaurant also. The food is OK.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YnnadAttud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about Bawa Walson , we are glad you liked everything about our Property and service and location ,

Looking forward to well-come you again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manger sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The rooms are so small that I got claustrophobic n had to check out the next day. It's disgusting n I would never recommend anyone to stay here. The staff is nice but what can they do about the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shivsagarchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Bawa Waslon rooms are bigger rooms Hotel in Kolkatta our Executive Room which is base category room is even 120 sq ft + Bawa Walson is Centralisd Aircondition Hotel if you was feeling Claustrophobic in our room if you inform out Front desk they would have shift you in other room immeditaly ,

Bawa Group of Hotels are wellknown for our Hospitality in india and abrod

do vist again

Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp manager sales & Marketing
Bawa Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is our 5th stay at this hotel. The first time we came here 2 years ago, they had just started a few months back. They just had the restaurant, lobby and rooms finished. No elevator or other facilities were there.

Our last visit in February was tje worst, as they were doing a paint job and also installing the elevator, which made the whole common area very messy.

However, returning this time round, we are definitely impressed! Even the Spa is finished! Awesome! Keep it up guys, and hope to see you again when we come to Kolkata again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cartesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks a million for your favorable review for Bawa Walson ,
Will pass on your comments and regards to Bawa Walson Team ,
Looking forward to welcome you again
Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manger sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

the reasons why to choose Bawa Walson for Kolkata stay-
1. Almost all tourist attractions are nearby... victoria, maidan, park street
2.Easy access to metro.. Rabindra sadan, kalighat temple, shyam bazar/baghbazar(for shopping of calcutta spl cotton Tant sarees)
3. new market is at walkable distance where shopping is a loving experience..
4. Sealdah railway station, dam dam airport accessible by taxies which u get just outside the gate of hotel.
5. Excellent food quality with wide variety
6. absolutely spotless clean rooms and washrooms with all modern amenities
7. And vry imp, when you get into your room you can have utmost privacy and nice leisure time
what else can we expect?? its my personal opinion that this hotel proves to be best choice when compared to other 3stat hotels in that area.
It was a lovely visit to kolkata with my wife.. Bawa Walson made it even more memorable..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajay0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOST31, Director of Sales at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr Ajay ,
We are overwhelmed with your such a positive feedback you have posted on Trip advisor, you have described our Hotel and Kolkatta in actual true way ,
Thanks a million and looking forward to welcome you again
Regards
Aniket Nadkarni
Corp Manager Sales & Marketing
Bawa Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose the hotel with great expectation looking at the photos they posted and all- but it was overall a very bad experience. The check in took almost two hours and they were very confused as to which room to put us in. The electricity went off and the power back up was almost 5 minutes late. the food was not good. We were supposed to have Wi-fi, but never had any signal. The bed and the pillows were very uncomfortable. The worst were the staff- you would complain to them and they would not respond at all.

The only good thing about the hotel was its location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkanSiddiquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bawa Walson is a newly constructed hotel on Suddar Street. The property itself is not very big...but it is good value for price. The rooms are quite small...but with all the modern amenities. The breakfast buffet was also quite good...with a small but good selection of food. Being ij the center of Suddar Street you'll have access to all the various kind of street foods and also the shopping area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#40 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#42 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#28 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#41 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Corporate
The Corporate
#129 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#136 of 214 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing