We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Hotel”
Review of The Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Senator Hotel
Ranked #55 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for three nights in this hotel. The only good thing about this is it is centrally located and useful for business travelers. Room rent includes buffet break fast which is so so only. Rooms are functional. Very few staff. No proper wifi. Not with value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharatchandrahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

Thank you for your observations on the Hotel. In absence of specific issues, we are trying to ascertain the cause of your unhappiness over Breakfast. Furthermore, our Wi-Fi is available through Tata Indicom connectivity. The internet speed is average, considering of course the volume of usage within the Hotel at that defined time. We are sorry for all the inconveniences caused to you due to weak speed that you had observed during your connectivity. We are referring this matter to our Service Provider for resolving such technical complications.

Thank you once more for your comments. We look forward welcoming you again at The Senator Hotel, when you visit the City next.

Regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in Nov & it was chosen because preliminary looked at the location...if you are on a business trip it is the ideal location. The courteous staffs, check in-out process , locality might be the factors I will have a stay there again.

The pros:

1. Location- the locational advantage is just the reason you should check in
2. Courteous & staffs with a smile is a big plus for any hotel...and at-least in this category they can beat others by miles.
3. The check-in & check out process was a big hassle free & when you are asked with all the eagerness & energy that you are going to check in again or not...you will smile almost.....
4. Feeding a Bong foodie with foods in Kolkata is a big challenge & they have actually done it & walked out of the mile to offer anything that was not even on the menu...Yes it was awesome food which they served ...& it will definitely compensate the little wait...though I would liked those a little faster....

The cons:

1. The beds are good for somebody who needs a message it is too hard :-(
2. The wash-rooms should be cleaned up before the guests check in ...not after you inform them
3. The breakfast menu is one thing which seriously disappointed me...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabyasachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

It is much to our pleasure to receive such valuable observations. Nevertheless, we have noted your notation on the Bed Mattress & cleanliness of Washroom. As far as Breakfast is concerned, in absence of specific issues we are trying our best to ascertain the cause of your unhappiness.

Thank you again for your comments.

Welcome you again at The Senator Hotel, when you visit the City next.

Regards,
Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip and the best part of the hotel is the location. Its on Camac street and just 10-15 mins walk from Park Street.. one of the happening places in Kolkata with lot of good places to eat and spend your evening.

Although its not exactly value for money, it is one of the better options in this area if you are looking at a hotel for business purpose. The breakfast was passable and the staff was courteous. The rooms although not immaculately clean, were ok. The hotel is a little old, as can be seen by the fittings in the washrooms.

It is around 1 to 1.5 hours from the airport and if your client/office is close to this address then i recommend this hotel. It is easy to get a cab from the main road outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnupG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

We appreciate your observations & hope that we will be able to provide you always the required improved services, for continuing obtaining your favoured comments and support.

Regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Senator's location is very advantageous, as it is situated Camac Street, near to park street, which is very good connectivity for metered taxi's some good restaurants.

Park street is very near by which is one of the most glamorous street of Kolkata & most happening place most of the popular Pubs and Restaurants arond this street.

Food in this hotel is not that great, lobby & reception is not attractive, hotel staff also are not professionals.

Room Tip: good for short business trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GururajRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

I appreciate your observations that we are endlessly trying to improve upon, specially staff attitude & friendliness. We are in the process of changing our cuisine for the guests to make it more palatable. Lobby & Reception hopefully will be renovated in the very near future that are under our due consideration.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Senator is probably able to manage due to its locational advantage as it is situated in the heart of the city at Camac Street, which is well connected as you get taxis 24x7. Most happening place as Park street is adjoining and most of the Pubs and Restaurants are located at a stone-throw.

However as soon as you enter, you feel like you are in a Guest House of B&B facility. Lounge and Business center is only for name sake, as they are very small. Restaurant is also very small. Rooms are cramped. Complimentary Breakfast is also very limited, not many varieties. Staff unpleasant and you don't feel the warmth of welcome. If you are in MAP plan, you will surprised to get a fixed thali in Dinner - No buffet!! Parking space is also very limited.

The complimentary WIFI is provided by Tata indicom, which is good and secured.

My recommendation is an absolute no-no for this hotel. Its better to spend 1000 bucks more and stay in Peerless Inn which is also located nearby.

Room Tip: One side rooms open to a pond close-by, do-not know about the other views.. one should go and check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

I am surprised to receive your observations where you find hardly anything is right excepting that our location advantage with good WIFI system. Well, it mystifies the fact that when most of the elements of the Hotel, in your words are missing; we still have so many countless satisfied guests with their comments & observations that complements us one way or the other; that may be viewed from the web itself. Further it confuses us more, in absence of your identify being disclosed, as to how you were discomforted while staying with us.

Nevertheless, Your “ absolute no-no for this hotel ” hopefully will become “ yes-yes for this hotel ” if you are able to look at us with due consideration of softness in your feelings.

However, we still take you observations, however personal it may be, to improve upon whatever has been spelt in your mail, for betterment & more satisfying factors for our guests in future.

Warm regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visit the hotel every year for some 3-4 days for official purpose, location wise it's excellent...
Rooms are small but good..
Staff behaviour is courteous n nice..
Breakfast layout needs to improve, very less options...
Wifi shud be easier to connect than logging in everytime.. It's nagging ...
Soap should be a lil better one...
Worst of all is the Bed totally hard and can give a bad time... First thing needed to change is the beds...
If not the beds other things are manageable...
Let's hope some change will be there soon...
Expecting myself to be there in November end or else will be forced to opt for other hotels...
Thanks...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PranitGandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel.

It is much to our pleasure to receive such valuable observations.

Nevertheless, your present notation on the Bed Mattress is something that we are trying our utmost to take corrective steps in order to all Guests do have comfortable rest. You have been staying with us couple of times but never had reported such discomfort. This probably may be due to the fact that some rooms have soft beds.

As you are our most important Guest, I would look forward to ensure your comfort in your next visit & look forward to your more participative communication so that we are able to take necessary corrective steps, whatever is possible within our means.

My House Keeping team is looking forward to have you again & again with us.

Warm personal regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We left Perth Australia on January 24 2013 for our adventures in India. My husband Doug and our friend Ruth and myself. The flight from KL to Calcutta was good we left on time and arrived on time. It was interesting viewing the sights from the plane as we started to descend over Calcutta. Lots of the buildings appeared to be white and quite tall. The city was enveloped in a smoky haze. Our plane arrived at the Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport at about 4.30pm and it took us about an hour to get through immigration and collect our cases. We had arranged for a driver to pick us up so we looked out to sea of unfamiliar faces until we spied a placard with my name on it being held by our driver. There are lots of people very willing to help you to take your cases to the cars and this all comes at a cost. We were amazed by the sights on route to our hotel. The city was very hazy and there were vehicles and people everywhere. The taxis were a bright yellow and looked like vintage cars. The curbs were painted black and white just like in Bali. There were lots of funny vehicles that looked like a 3 wheeler motorbike with a cabin, we later found out these were called Automoted Rickshaws. Along the roads there were loads of billboards advertising all sorts of things. It wasn't long before we saw the infamous Golden Arches of Macdonalds! LOL The traffic was chaotic vehicles everywhere vying for a spot on the busy roads. We saw a sign that said “Take Your Time Not Your Life” which we all thought was very good as the way they drive there leaves a lot to be desired! After about an hour we arrived at our hotel. The Senator Hotel is situated at 15 Cammac St Kolkata. The driveway looked lovely with a splashes of pretty colourful flowers either side. The foyer was really pretty and colourful as well with lots more of the same flowers strategically placed to brighten up the decor. 3 men assisted us with our check in all smartly dressed in business suits. We were all shown to our rooms and they were very nice. Our room was number 308 and had a nice comfortable bed with a dark green headboard and a pleated valance, bedside tables complete with a Gideons Bible in the draw and wall lights. The bathroom was very well appointed with a lovely dark green swirly marble vanity top with a lovely big round mirror above the sink. The shower was great as it had 2 shower heads a fixed one at normal height and then another hand held one about waist high. Soap, shampoo, toothbrushes and paste were supplied. There was a little sign in the shape of a drop of water saying that “The water is really hot from 3.30am to 9.30am and 5.30pm to 7.00pm” We had complimentary water bottles and the mini bar was very well stocked. Under a glass top on the table in our room were the instructions on how to access the internet. Ruth was in room 305 and the colour scheme was in lovely warm terracotta tones. The view from our room looked out over the busy road below where the taxis congregated and some very tall buildings. One of the building looked like it was under construction as one side was covered in about 20 coloured tarpaulins. We were all feeling rather hungry so we made our way to the L’ Oriental Restobar which was upstairs. The decor inside was just lovely, lots of soft lighting, mirrors and lots of beautiful flowers everywhere. The way they laid the table was very different. They had square plates and had laid out the cutlery on top of the plate with the fork across the bottom, the spoon on an angle across the centre and the knife on the right side. On the wall it had a little plaque with the story of how they named the restaurant:- “Evolution of Restobar” “The concept of the Resto Bar is a fusion of multiple concepts, all rolled into one warm, happening and happy place. It is a fun place where people can just let their hair down while enjoying drink and great food. Taste With a Difference” Doug was very happy to have a Kingfisher beer and Ruth and I had a cocktail each. While we were waiting for our orders to arrive they served complimentary snacks comprising of popcorn and the most lovely little square crunchy “things”. Not sure what they were but they tasted really nice. Our meals arrived and they were all absolutely delicious. We all had a good nights sleep and before we knew it, it was time for breakfast. Breakfast was served downstairs between 7 and 10.30am in a lovely little area adjacent to a small garden. Each table had lovely Gladioli on it. Breakfast was all set out in bain-maries and there was a variety of dishes to choose from. Bhature, Chole Masala, Vegetable Augratin, Eggs to order, Fish Balls, Medu Vada, Sambar, Rasgolla, Cheese Sandwiches, Croissants, Muffins, Toast, Fresh Fruit, a variety of chutneys and jams, Pineapple and grape juices and tea and coffee. It was all very nice and tasty. Before long it was time to leave and head off to Bagdogra airport on route to Darjeeling our next destination.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisScambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Namaskar.

Your beautifully worded elaborate descriptive mail has overwhelmed us. We appreciate Your wonderful feedback that I have shared with the Team Members. They all are thrilled with your observations.

Warm regards,

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#42 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#101 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Niharika
Hotel Niharika
#31 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ivory Inn
Hotel Ivory Inn
#53 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Address: 15 Cammac Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $57 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senator Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing