We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Senator Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$117
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$113
$107
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$130
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$161
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$69
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
12
63
51
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
63
51
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamac streetbusiness tripvictoria parklimited spreadbirla mandirthe breakfast areastreet foodhigher floorvegetarian foodindian museumhigher sideroom service isthe wi ficouple of nightsbed was comfortableexcellent locationbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 137 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

People say first impression is the last impression! But it’s not so with my initial impression with The Senator. The initial feel was that the hotel is an ordinary hotel and doesn’t fit the business traveler’s category. On the day of my travel to Kolkata it rained very heavily and there was heavy water-logging. Right outside the hotels the water had risen to 2 feet levels. What was more disturbing was that the entrance was completely wet and no provision for guests getting out of the car, so you have to get wet and enter the hotel. A very unpleasant feeling!

However, the room was very comfortable, compact and more importantly it was very clean. The room was not at all misty or cluttered. It had a nice view and quite spacious. The service was also good. Further, there was a goof up by the Room service guy for which they didn’t charge me on realizing their mistake. Since the mistake was theirs (though it was a very small mistake) they took an initiative and made the order complimentary, very rare to see with budget category business hotels. Probably, this is the gesture which changed my perception about The Senator. However, there are certain areas where the hotel needs to improve – presentation and food. Otherwise it’s a nice, clean and safe hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the east
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiddShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel, Kolkata, India.

Appreciate your observations. Also would like thank you for your encouraging observation that “the gesture has changed my perception about The Senator”.

For sure, we shall try to improve upon our service and presentation of food.

We look forward to welcome you again upon your next visits to the City of Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The senator hotel...wonder why they say it is a corporate hotel. Its just an average hotel with over priced tariff. The location is good

We checked in the hotel in march, the booking was done for a couple but they didnt have a room with a double bed available. when we refused to check in ...they searched and finally found 1 room available after about 30 mins.

The rooms are not squeaky clean...the hotel is given a 4 star category but it fails to stand even for a 2 star category as far as cleanliness and facility is concerned.

They offer free wi-fi service....but unfortunately the room that we were given had not coverage. We kept complaining that there is no connectivity in our laptop, to which the hotel staff said our laptop was faulty...only to find that it was working in other rooms. Finally they agreed that rooms built on that particular side had network issues and they asked us to shift to a new room the next day. We could not use internet the whole day.

The television cable wasnt working the whole afternoon and night. To this the staff said that it was our ill luck that we came to the hotel on days when they were having these issues...This was certainly not an answer we wanted after paying for a 4 star hotel.

The hotel fittings etc are old fashioned. The mini bar is locked and you have to call them incase you wish to buy anything from there. We didnt have towels in our room and had to call for them as the staff forgot to place them in our room.

The breakfast was good but again...... since there were no tables vacant we asked the manager to call us from the waiting lounge when it was available. We waited for forty minutes and checked back in the cafe...it was vacant !!! we confronted the manager...to this he started fighting with another fellow for not calling us.

The last day we were shifted to another room where we could use internet on our laptop. The staff was helpful the last day. (maybe because they had enough of us)

Overall it is an OK hotel. The staff ........lacks cordination among-st themselves. Some of them are arrogant,some dont know anything, some are friendly.
The rooms....they are the same rooms but you may not find all things in order. Like some rooms may not have bottled water, some rooms may not have towels, some may not have toiletteries in order.

So while you check in here ensure you have everything in order before hand or else it can be tiresome arguing with them.

Room Tip: rooms on the corner do not have network in case u want to use internet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamta w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel .

We appreciate your Comments which have a value to us . We feel extremely sorry for you not having comfortable stay with us ;

1. You had been given DOUBLE BEDED Pearl Category Room 310, as you did not like our initial allotted Room. But due to an unfortunate problem in that particular room , our Manager on duty upgraded you to the Crystal Category Room to make your stay comfortable.

2. On the question of room cleanliness; the matter is only now brought to our notice, that we are trying to take necessary steps.

3. We do agree that there is technical failure of WIFI not functioning in the particular Room on that particular day; a problem that we could solve only next day after necessary rectifications were done by the technical expert.

4. The factor of non functioning of Cable TV had been witnessed by all Guests staying in our Hotel on that day for couple of hours only, as there was major fault with the feeder line connecting our Hotel. The operation of the TV resumed late evening on that day.

5. We in principle keep Mini Bar locked unless such is being asked by Guest to open it for using the facility for convenience of the guest.

6. The Towel issue supposed should not have happened; though we are trying to assess the fault line, as we came to know such incident only now ( almost after 25days of your check out ).

7. We are confused & trying to address the fault line of communication, at the particular incident of you did not get the place at Breakfast table, as on that particular day we had unusually very less number of guests in our Hotel.

Nevertheless, we are looking into all the issues raised by you, that may have happened to cause your discomfort & assure you of our sincerest efforts to take all remedial measures possible, to make any Guest leave with happy memory of staying with us.

Regards

Santanu Samaddar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 month and grew to like the hotel and the quirky but very friendly staff. Food in restaurant never disappointed especially veg noodles and fish tikka. Bar area very comfortable. Why they provide only 20% of a toilet roll I have no idea. Ask for a room at the back for quiet and nicer view. WiFi was slow and sporadic. Bed tea service in the morning was welcome and I found the breakfast especially fruit and omelettes fine. Coffee quality bad so gave up on that. Should have more fruit... Only saw papaya melon banana and grapes in 1 month stay. Not sure I would psy the price out of own pocket. But living here for a month was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Greetings from The Senator Hotel, Kolkata, India.

Appreciate your observations. Also would like thank you for your encouraging Comments of us at the time of your check out Excellent staff in the hotel & breakfast very enjoyable.

For sure, we shall try to improve upon our quality Coffee & slowness of WiFi.

We look forward to be your address again upon your next visit to The City Of Joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is good for a low budget traveller. The staff is quite helpful and the maintenance is good. Clean rooms and bathrooms. The hotel is 5 mins drive to Park street.

The only wierd thing was that it has green walls in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Greetings from the Senator Hotel.

We appreciate Your valuable comments & observations.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

An old fashioned hotel with pots of garish coloured paper flowers lining the corridors and bright posters of old mastersdecorating the walls but yet has a comfy feel to it. The lobby is a little cramped since you walk almost off the road into it, and the tiny coffee shop - where the morning breakfast is served - does not help much. The first floor restaurant is another story with an expansive bar and the food and the service were uniformly good.
The central location of the hotel is a big plus point and the rooms are spacious with a well stocked mini-bar - all displayed in a illuminated wall cabinet - and an unusual standing clothes horse. The bathroom was a trifle disappointing and the toiletries were standard.There is complimentary wi-fi which was welcome on a business trip.
Belonging to an established business group of Kolkata,the Senator hotel barely lives up to expectations. We trust that the management will devote attention in the coming months to keep pace with modernization.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear which is not overlooking the busy main street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operation-Mgr, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Greetings from the Senator Hotel.

We appreciate Your valuable comments & observations.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews