We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Senator Hotel
Ranked #56 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed twice at The Senator. Both experiences have been excellent. The Hotel was booked through our company. I was allotted a very spacious room which had all amenities you would expect of a business hotel. The service was very prompt. The food they serve is good and reasonably priced for the ambience and location of the Hotel. The location of the hotel is awesome; Camac Street is one of the best places to be in Kolkata, and its not far from the famous Park Street. The hotel is highly recoomended if you can shell out the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthik132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for a week in hotel for a business trip, but apart from its goold location (on camac street) there is hardly anything, which makes you feel happy. Food is very costly ( i remember "Aloo Jeera" for Rs 300/-).
So, if you want to be at a place where the places to visit are at your foot step away, then for this hotel, otherwise, search for a good hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room from where you can see the pond behind the hotel. very good view of sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecquando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at The Senator in July this year. It was a business trip for two days. It is a typical business hotel where you go to sleep in the evening and leave in the morning for work. Apart from aesthetically decorated room there is hardly anything in the hotel to keep u busy.
The best part of the hotel is the location. It is situated right in the heart of Kolkata on camac street. Everything worth doing and seeing is quite close from here. Lot of good places to eat and drink around.
For street food russel street is the best bet at a walking distance.

Service: Service at the hotel is very good and quick.. They always serve you with a smile and make an effort to ensure that you get whatever you want.

Rooms: Rooms are not very big but space utilization and and aesthetics is is good and they are comfortable. If you get the room which doesn't face the road but faces back of the hotel then it is best as there is a pond and park there. It also ensure that room remain quite during the day also. Sleep quality is good.

Food: There complimentary breakfast has very limited options so not much to say about. but it will fill your stomach for the day. Food is tasty though. Lunch and dinner menu is good and tasty too.

Overall a good business hotel but not for leisure trips for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that face back side of the hotel and not the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwetankJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

decent place in the heart of the city, good rooms, clean, service was prompt and proper, reached in the middle of the night, yet felt no different, staff right from the door keeper to the room service are very polite and courteous, was given free internet, breakfast was just so-so, not too many options, hence giving this 4*

Room Tip: try floors 4,5,6 for good internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 15-26th Jan. The hotel is in a good location. The staff in the restaurants (there are 2 restaurants) are polite & helpful & the food is not as greasy as one finds in similar hotels in Kolkata or for that matter in this country. The menu is limited & if one stays for the period I did then it gets monotonous. Breakfast buffet is complimentary but the spread is limited.
Now comes the flip side:
1. If laundry is given then it will be returned only if the guest is in the room as the bill has to be signed before it is posted to the room. No dry cleaning service is available.
2. Running hot water is available from 0600-0930 & again for a few hours in the evening. I think it was from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. If one wants hot water after these timings then the housekeeping has to be informed and then the wait is for about 20-30 mins before warm/hot water is available. When one is paying 4* (Star) prices one can expect & should get 4-Star amenities - not what is available in hostels!!
3. There is no complimentary bottled drinking water provided in the rooms as is the case in every hotel I have stayed in anywhere in India or overseas where the tap water is not potable. Though the charge per bottle is nominal the catch is that the housekeeping seems to have worked out a system where they slip in a bottle or two into the mini bar bill even if the guest has not consumed the quantity shown. Let me clarify this. I consumed 2 bottles of water the first 2 days and the charage was for 2 bottles. Next day there were 3 bottles kept on the shelf & 2 bottles in the fridge. I consumed 2 bottles but was charged for 3 bottles. I pointed this out to the housekeeping who assured me the charge will be ammended & I thought this would be done. Next day I consumed 1 bottle & the supply was not replenished and I signed for 1 bottle. Next day I did not consume any water from the hotel as I got one from outside but I was asked to sign for 3 bottles. I realize the reader will get bored reading this but just consider if this hotel charged every guest for an extra bottle or two each day - normally one does not count exactly how much water is consumed - and when the hotel is running at even 80% capacity the amount the hotel earns in this manner! At the time of checking out the front desk produced the last page for my signature as my client was paying the bill. I asked for the supports & found there was considerable over charge on water consumption so I asked for the mini bar supports which have to be signed by the guest and found wherever Ithere was a discrepancy the so-called supports did not have my signature. I tried to point this out to the front desk Manager but he was not about to take any action. If I had continued to protest I probably would have missed my flight so I signed the bill & informed my shipping agent never to use this hotel again for any of my colleagues or me. Unfortunately all the other hotels were sold out due to a medical conference so I had no option.
My profession is that of a shipping consultant and though my hotels bills are paid by my clients in Europe I cannot accept any over charge just because I am not paying the bill. The amount may be very small but it is the principal that I stand for.

Capt. Vikram Menon.
Bangalore.

Room Tip: 1. If laundry is given then it will be returned only if the guest is in the room as the bill has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikram1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is centrally located at business place , offers good convenience. The price is high compared to similar hotels around . The rooms are small . Service at room or restraunt is slow. Morning breakfast is complimentry and good, but the place is congested to eat. In general ok.. But not a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhupendra_pant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Senator is one of the many new hotels that have sprung up in Calcutta of late. It is a slim building of medium height with glass facades that make it look like an office more than a hotel. And that is obvious inside as well. If you are not comfortable in cramped spaces, this is surely not for you.

The lobby is ridiculously small and if a couple of families are waiting for a room with their luggage, it becomes difficult for people to navigate. Having said that the hotel is well-run and is very, very clean. The rooms are nicely done up with a mini bar (decently stocked) and the bed was comfortable. Again the washrooms were on the smaller side, but again clean. Toiletries were provided and the towels changed daily. The view from the windows is not really to die for. It overlooks Camac Street and you will pretty much get to see traffic all day. The windows are sealed shut and that poses a problem if you need fresh air.

We ordered room service and the food was more than decent. Though to be fair, there are a million options to eat with the famed Park Street eateries at a short 10 min walk. The staff was friendly, helpful and will often go out of their way to help guests.

All of this make The Senator perfect for the business traveller who needs a comfortable room in the heart of the city. A place that is well-run and service that more than makes up for the lack of room. Leisure travelers and those with kids can well skip this one.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't overlook the street. And preferably stay further away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phototravel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#139 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#48 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#24 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#47 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#65 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Address: 15 Cammac Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senator Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing