We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Senator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Senator Hotel
Ranked #49 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Whenever I travel to Kolkata I stay at this Hotel as its pure value for money. The rooms are decent, clean, beds are clean and comfortable. Its centrally located at the Camuc street. The complimentary breakfast is awesome with lot of varieties. The room swervice is round the clock with good quality food. Overall a good value for money and especially suited for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    54
    44
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
3
5
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I attended Kolkata for a wedding and chose this hotel due to its location. Located within the heart of colonial Kolkata it is within walking distance of the Victoria Memorial, St Paul's Cathedral and Park Street ad great for tailoring, shopping and sightseeing.

The hotel itself is clean and modern. The rooms are basic but comfortable and have everything one would need - mini bar, internet access etc. I slept well in my room, which is not a mean feat given that I am a light sleeper.

The jewel in the crown of this hotel though is its service. I have never stayed in a hotel where staff went so far out of their way to take care of me. Being a lone traveller in India, it is overwhelming when you first arrive. Staff were helpful in recommending which new foods to try when I wanted something to eat late in the night, booking very reasonable priced car and drivers the days I wanted to get out of the city to see Bengal, and striking up conversation and showing genuine interest and giving feedback on my experiences in their city and hotel.

The food was excellent including the breakfast. A small cafe in the reception area provided tasty snacks throughout the day which was welcome when coming back for a rest in the afternoon on my way back to my room.

Towards the end of the stay I came down with tonsillitis. The hotel organised a doctor for me and staff fetched prescriptions - I was not charged for this errand.

Overall a simply furnished hotel when compared to the like of the Park Hotel but with heart and soul where staff genuinely cared about their guests, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattcgdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel is nice and ideally located. But the rooms were really small. The hotel is the ideal hotel for business travellers but if you come here for leisure purposes then dont expect much. There's no swiming pool, gym, bathtub in room etc. The 24 hr Cafe lounge was also good. The buffet breakfast was fine. Overall the perfect hotel for business travellers but not for leisure purposes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unexpectedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

My stay at the hotel was short but pleasant. The hotel is ideally located at Camac street right next to Park street which is like the CBD in Kolkota.Park street is also the area where most of the interesting eating/drinking places are located. I would recommend 'Barbeque' but warn you that I didn't really sample other places. Due to the location the pricing is also a little steep. We paid some Rs. 3500+ luxury tax for one night.On a different note I've been to quite a few places but I have never seen alcohol priced so cheaply except in Kolkota. The city is lively but I wish it was a little less crowded. Coming back to the hotel, I would definately recommend for anyone on a business visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_gulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

It was a pleasant stay at Senator, Kolkata, Hotel is having nice pub. Enjoyed stay and very relaxing after hours of a long busy day. It is a value for money and very near to business centre of kolkata, like camag street, park street. Its having good rooms with elegance look. one of the finest destination for business travellers to kolkata.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejendra_gohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We booked 30 rooms at The Senator to accommodate outstation guests for a relative's marriage. We were alloted three floors (10 rooms each). Most of our guests were quite happy with the service and the hospitality provided.

The Hotel is in a prime location (Camac Street). The only drawback is that the hotel lack recreational activites like Gym, Swimming pools etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catchsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Good rooms, good food, good location in Camac Street. I have stayed multiple times as a preferred place. if you are stopping over at Calcutta coming by air and taking train, particularly, reaching late night and leaving early morning, this is a good place, being centrally located.
Little costly, but perhaps, OK compared to value offered by others in same price.
Rooms are very good. Service is personalised. Construction not being very old, has all new amenities. Staff gives personalised attention.
Some good exclusive show rooms of Pantaloon, West Side, etc are on a walking distance, from where you can pick up some thing in the evening even in case of a stop over. Esplanade and park street are close by for larger shopping.
Over all very good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivekGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#23 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#42 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Golden Parkk
The Golden Parkk
#57 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#21 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Niharika
Hotel Niharika
#25 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Property: The Senator Hotel
Address: 15 Cammac Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Senator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Senator Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing