We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oven fresh cakes”
Review of Flurys

Flurys
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
patnagarh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oven fresh cakes”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

one must spent few moments at this place on new year eve or on Christmas time.centrally placed at Park street, parking is a problem.
freshly backed cakes are best in the city.
my son loved strawberry smoothie.
one should have the breakfast at this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drprusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    439
    220
    88
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years and still love the place”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been coming to this place since 2003. They have an amazing selection of cakes and do an amazing afternoon tea. What I love about this place is that the people who have been working there are there year after year. I love the calmness of the place and the old time feel. Always worth making this a place to spend some time if you are in Kolkata.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated Heritage Joint”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Each city has these old classic places which have a cult following and an irrational blind loyalty. Flury's is one of those places in Calcutta.
The service was awful. The staff was unruly and rude, who refused to write down the order and then kept messing it up. The manager (not sure whether he was inebriated) was screaming at the waiters or his underlings as to why the tables were not clear. The rest room was hopelessly dirty.
They are trying to peddle the "colonial experience" which is way inappropriate. It is understandable why all the foreigners flock there :). Last but not the least, the food was quite sad. The "square sandwich" were dry and flavorless. The chicken puff was below par.
Note these are all the "heritage" items.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Cakes...”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The best bakery joint in Kolkata or is it the best in India???

Have been brought up liking it for the last three decades, so am partial on this count.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebashisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expected a lot more”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

For years I have heard people talk about Flurys in Kolkata. I have had their famous Rum balls too, so when i actually went to Kolkata i couldn't wait to get there.

Situated at Park Street i reached Flury's to have breakfast, it opens pretty early and you can click Park Street without the usual hustle and bustle. I had eggs and cold coffee for breakfast and it wasn't extra ordinary in anyway!

Breakfast was over priced, service was good and experience was average! I didn't get to try the freshly baked breads, cookies or pastries so can't really comment on that.

But the place somehow didn't live upto my high expectations

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rashii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flurys also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Flurys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing