We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The hotel is average for the price listed, room is big but the linen and furniture is ok, there was some smell in room which comes if rooms are closed for long period of time. The food was good and service was good too..The location is just beow the mall road whcih was not bad..
Go only if dnt have better option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
106
50
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
blr
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The staff were courteous, Food was very good. No internet connections in the rooms. Since lot of powercut in the city, the power goes off often.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

sideview of the hotel as the first thing which clicked me at a 1st glance when i stepped in hotel at dargeeling.
while in east sunrise occurs at 4 am around so due to view sunrise was amazing but one can enjoy sunrise only when there is no fog.
evee room service was gud but dinning hall was small.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhisheksheeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asansol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The more I recall this trip, the more I get excited... It was a complete trip!!! After all your hectic schedules all you expect, you will find at this place. Hotel Sonar Bangla is standing on one the most beautiful location at queen of hills DARJEELING. I feel this is the best place to see Kanchanjangha at the morning. It was a 2 days stay for us in darjeeling and we were lucky to see kanchanjangha at morning on the very first day, that too from our room itself. It was looking like an Ice Cream covered with molten Gold. Really!!!!!!! It's a scene which boost your imagination. The rooms of the Hotels are good... and form most of the rooms, you will able to see Kanchanjangha. The hotel management will organise cars for seeing other interesting places in darjeeling on request and the service is also very good. I am eager to visit that place again....

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Very good hotel with excellent connectivity to all major sight seeing places. The room service was excellent. Rooms were very modern and clean. Toilet was very good. But food was not up to the mark and it is located in a very congested lane.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iqbal_627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2010

the trip was good....and the hotel staff was very helpful....
in all it was a nice experience....
even the view was wonderful....this will be possible only when you book the Super Deluxe...which is quite costly compared to the cost of living....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marutiDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

It was a nice experience for us as we had selected this hotel as it was located very near to the Mall in Darjeeling . Mall is a very good place where you can find your friends and known people . The tariff was very much affordable . Room was good with heater . Good view of Kanchenjangha from the room was the best part of our stay. Prompt room service . Food was good . Staffs were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourtopics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#46 of 97 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#49 of 97 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#10 of 97 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing