We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed there from the 20th of june till the 30th of june, it was an excellent stay. The best rooms with a view are at the top floor,since lifts are not allowed it is a bit tiring to climb up.
my son is only two years old they helped in every aspect of his dining. There is this waiter shintu he took care of every aspect of our stay. It was a pleasant stay and we recommend others to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first and second floor have good veiw but the best rooms are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
108
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Lobby is decent if not impressive.No lifts even though it has 4/5 Floors.Had booked a room after reading reviews and expecting some nice decent clean hotel which will be cheerful at this price.
Disappointed with overall cleaniless standards.Cobwebs on the window sills, poor finish on the wash basin, leaking shower, toilet roll wet as the water was drippng from the tank, dirty towel, restaurant dark and stinking etc etc. If you happen to peep into store room your Breakfast is gone.Omlette was absolutely cold.Skipped my Breakfast on second day as just wanted to be out of that place.Had booked Super Deluxe but don't know what was Super Deluxe about it as there was no proper place to even keep 2 Stroller's in the room.The TV was placed on the side of the Bed instead of the opposite wall so you will have to be on one side all the time to watch it if you are lying on the Bed.That's Room # 506.
Close to Mall Road but the way is so dirty that you want to be out of Darjeeling.
I think Darjeeling is not the place for tourist any more. It is dirty and polluted with so many Taxis and the roads are just choked. Sanitation-I don't think they have heard of it. You can see only dirt all around. Even Mall Road is just Ok.
Ultimately I cut short my trip and ran away from Darjeeling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaloknigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good location. Close to Mall , Darjeeling. Food quality is also good. We have visited darjeeling in December 2012 and stayed for three days in this hotel. Enjoyed our stay there. The service is very good and the hotel staffs are very warm and helpful. They will even arrange for your local tour at a reasonable rete. It is suggeted to stay in this hotel in Darjeeling

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajdhru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was in this hotel from from 02.06.2013 to 06.06.2013 in Duplex room with my family, it was a pick season and very difficult to get a room in Darjeeling, The room is very clean staff's are very friendly and above all Mr. Banerjee is a nice person who take personal care of each and every guest. I was filling like at home. I will recommended this hotel

Room Tip: Plz ask for mountain facing room and enjoy the beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santanu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all, location of the hotel is very good...secondly, view from my room(super delux) was awesome..people are also very good and helpful.. I will refer and suggest for this hotel anytime..Sight seeing facility is also available in the Hotel,need to contact Mr.Manager there..

Room Tip: Try for top floor rooms for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were 2 families and stayed at Sonar Bangla Darjeeling from 12th May -15th May 2013.The rooms were need and clean. The best part of Sonar Bangla is its service especially the steward named Shashi, he took great care of us right from the moment we stepped out of the car to the moment we left the hotel. The food is also good and reasonable. The hotel is situated below the mall at 10 mins walking distance.Will surely recommend people to stay at Sonar Bangla Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the second and third floor facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I went to this hotel with my wife and brother along with his family. There are huge bugs below the carper in the lower basement rooms. They are all over in numbers in millions..... hotel does not care about it. I went there just two months after my marriage and wanted peace but I only got rashes and bug bites with sleep less nights. I bought Hit and Mortin and all sorts of insect killer on my own expense sprayed it in to room and had left room for 3 hours and came back to find thousands of i dont know which kind of huge bugs and insects dead on floor but still millions waiting for hotel manager to move his royal and important bottom and come down and watch them dancing in room.


PLEASE DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. I AM ON MY KNEES AND BEGGING YOU DON'T GO.

we went to this place in October and i literally had to bag to the manager for a room and after informing the staff of the situation and them doing nothing i tried to control infestation on my own but it was of no use.


we were bitten by hundreds of bugs and we will never go to Darjeeling leave alone this hotel...

Room Tip: only tip is go to other hotel if you are already there pack your things and run....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumitrxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#64 of 97 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 97 in Darjeeling
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing