We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy hotel, excellent value and amazing service”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I traveled to Darjeeling with a friend and we pre-booked our stay with Shangri-La Regency about a month before going. We were told in Kolkata that we didn't need to pre-book as there are a lot of hotels to choose from up there and it is low season so there would definitely be room for a lot cheaper than what we paid.

However despite paying a little extra (still very good value if you convert it back to Australian dollars), my friend and I were thankful that we had pre-booked this hotel. When we arrived at NJP station we did not have to search for a good value taxi or jeep or haggle because we'd definitely be ripped off. Rather we were greeted by our driver with a name card and taken to our taxi, which was a very nice jeep and was very roomy for 2 people for the 3 hour journey up the hill.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who took our luggage up to the top floor for us (we stayed in the attic room), and we settled in. We bought the package which included transfers to and from the train station via taxi, 3 nights accommodation, breakfast each morning, lunch or dinner daily, and a sightseeing tour to tiger hill, a temple and batasia loop. This was a good choice because for the sightseeing tour we got a private taxi up to the hill and the driver waited for us until we finished. You definitely want this if you don't want to be in the cold for too long, because Darjeeling is freezing and you don't want to be locating a taxi stand at 4am in the morning.

All the meals that were included were fit for a king. There was a choice of Chinese dishes and Indian dishes, and each meal included so much that it was impossible to finish.

The rooms were comfortable and there was always running hot water. The electricity would sometimes go off but the hotel has generators so at least some lights will work (as opposed to some other hotels which don't have generators and if the electricity goes out - which it always does in Darjeeling - then you will be left in the dark). There was a heater in our room and at night we had hot water bottles brought to our rooms. There were many channels on the tv and we enjoyed watching a lot of American movies and tv shows.

Overall our stay was VERY enjoyable, the staff were very professional and friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Communication was no problem because they had excellent english. They are quick to reply to emails. The only downside was that the advertised wifi did not work the whole time we were there. However there is a very good internet cafe just across the road with very fast internet and big flat screen monitors.

Location is good - it is not right on the main street so it isn't noisy but because the main area in Darjeeling is so small it's only about a 5 minute walk to the main street.

This place is probably not for people who are on a very tight budget, but if you are willing to pay just a little more you won't regret it because of the service, the convenience and the professionalism of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kewlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the Shangrila Regency in November for two nights. We should have stayed three nights, but our overnight train was delayed by 25 hours, so we arrived at the Shangrila Regency after a fraught journey, one day late.

It was everything we could have hoped for. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable and the little touches such as a kettle and tea tray made it perfect for weary travellers. The staff were delightful and really helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had breakfast in the terrace lounge and enjoyed the fabulous views and one night ate at their sister hotel the Hotel Shangrila and had a very good meal there.

We felt the hotel offered great value for money and we would certainly recommend it - we only wish we'd had longer there. Darjeeling was fascinating and beautiful and one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldPhotoShoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent a month in India - right out to the west on the Palace on Wheels train, Delhi, overnight train to Calcutta for a few days and then up to the Himalayas and Darjeeling. Throughout our time in India, we never had a bad meal and received excellent service wherever we went. BUT the highlight of the trip was the six days we spent in Darjeeling and our stay at this hotel was just terrific. We had the attic room facing the Himalalyas with wonderful views of the worlds third highest mountain. Agreed, the hotel isn't a Claridges or an Oberoi but it is everything you would want from a family run, small, friendly hotel. Staff were great - friendly and attentive and if English isn't their first language (which it isn't and why should it be?) and things get a bit mis-translated some times, so what? My wife and I can't wait to go back to Darjeeling and will stay here again and the receptionist, Anita, whose Englsih is perfect, is worthy of a special mention. Great place and location, great views from the attic room, good food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Our entire plan turned upside down when we got to know 2 days before the journey that there is a bund called and everything is shutdown. WE changed are plan and went to Gangtok first. Everyday we had to call Shangrila to check the status which was painful. We had paid earlier hence could not change anything. After 4 days in Gangtok we got to know that we can travel to Darjeeling. The hotel is in a busy area, with no lift and small staircase. Rooms are very big but requires extensive cleaning. The date of return we had to travel 2 hrs to Bagdogra airport and were given 2 slices of bread and one glass of juice for breakfast. We were quite disappointed. If you are planning for a trip to Darjeeling you must keep in mind that there can be a bund called any time and go on for days.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowmyagbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rddmj, Owner at Shangrila Regency, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

We are sorry that this guest was inconvenienced by the proposed strike (bandh as it is called in India) last December, although clearly this is a situation beyond our control. In the event of a strike being called we always inform guests in advance and offer a refund or the opportunity to postpone their visit. With regards to the hotel it is clear from our website photos that our stairways are broad, bright and airy. We pride ourselves on cleaninliness and good service as is evident from the vast majority of reveiws on this website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Yeah !! Dont have word to explain .Really it was wonderful staying in the hotel staff is really polite and good enviornment just like home away from home.

Thanks

Laxman Sharma & Pratishtha Sharma

Rajsthan

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank amritsarLaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

When i visited this hotel last month on a recomendation of my client and i was highly impressed by the service and the location...The rooms were as per requirement,the staff was well behaved and very professional and food was delicious ...
Really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We chose this hotel due to its attic room reviews. Therefore we decided to book the attic room to get the best views of the mountain range.
We arrived at Bagdogra airport to find our friendly driver waiting for us. We took an amazing 3 1/2 hr jeep ride through the mountains to darjeeling. We were greeted by friendly staff and very good service. They showed us our room on the 2nd floor for the 1st night as we couldnt get the attic room every night. The room was very clean, a little dated, with a small balcony with slight view. Do not expect a modern hotel as this place is very dated but has a warm, comfortable feel about it. Each room has its own portable radiator as the building has no central heating and it gets VERY cold in the middle of the night.
We moved to our second room (attic room) for the final 4 nights. The room views did not dissapoint. From our bed, we had a panoramic view of the mountains to wake up to each day with our complimentary 'bed tea' delivered to us (nice touch).
The breakfast is very good at this hotel and does very nice western continental eggs, toast, hash browns and baked beans each morning.
We ordered food at the restaurant (which comes from the sister restaurant down the road) and it took over an hour to arrive. The food was good but obviously not frsh, so a few nights later we decided to go to the restaurant to eat. Very good food and nice atmosphere at a good price. We ended up eating from the restaurant 4 out of the 5 nights.
Overall the best aspect of this hotel would be the service. Everyone greets you with a smile and there is no hesitation when it comes to satisfying their customers. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a cozy, family run hotel with good views and good service. Darjeeling itself is a magical place and staying at this hotel makes it worth the long trek to get there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INDIA2010TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 99 in Darjeeling
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 99 in Darjeeling
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#7 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $28 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing