We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite like the pictures”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not quite like the pictures”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights starting June 28th. We had booked it based on the pictures on their website but we were disappointed when we got there as the property is now run down and in need of a renovation.Our main issue was the general cleanliness of the hotel. The carpet in the hallway/stairs needed vaccuming and the breakfast tables needed a wipe down.The kitchen (had to go in it to hurry up the breakfast) looked unhygenic. For a so called boutique hotel, we thought it was worn out.
On a more positive note, the management of this hotel is pretty clued up and they try and cater to Western tastes.They allowed us a late check out at no extra cost, arranged excellent railway pickup and drop service, and while we dined at their excellent Chinese restaurant down the road, they arranged for a boy to come and take us back to the hotel with an umbrella as it was pouring down.
However, we did book the most expensive attic room but were never made aware of the brand new rooms built on top of the restaurant. We would have preferrd these as they were new and clean.
The breakfast service is extremely poor and slow but there is good/cheap breakfast available down the road at Glenary's where you can also meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjutravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    141
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
140
130
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Me and my husband went to darjeeling around the 1st week of June 2009. The main purpose of our trip was to spend some quality time with each other away from the hustle- bustle of the city. We booked our double deluxe room from the hotel website and were pleasantly surprised by the prompt reply. The place was really neat and tidy and most of all it made us really comfortable. The breakfast served was sumptuous and the staff was very courteous. Overall my husband and i had a wonderful stay.Not to forget we had dinner at the Shangrila restaurant and the ambiance and the chinese food was simply awesome.!

  • Liked — the view of the mountains from the hotel. the courteous staff and the FOOD !
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yin_yang80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We booked our stay at this hotel based on other reviews, which were quite good. We stayed in 5 other hotels all over India during our trip. I rated them all excellent (5's and one 4). In comparison, the Shangrila Regency was quite lacking. At first I thought we were at the wrong hotel. But that was not the case. The hotel interior does not look like it does on their website as it is quite dated and, in my opinion, needs to be renovated. Carpets, furniture, etc. The website claims it is the "finest hotel in Darjeeling" but this is definitely not the case. When i told the receptionist that it didn't look like the website, and that I was disappointed, we were upgraded to a larger room, but still not the quality I expected.

The linens were stained and the corners of the floor were not clean. The toilet seat would not stay on the toilet and I asked that it be fixed three times but it did not occur.

NOW FOR THE BIGGEST PROBLEM -- WHY DIDN"T ANY REVIEWERS LET US KNOW THAT THERE IS A TRASH DUMP RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL??? We couldn't even use our balcony at times due to the odor and had to use handkerchiefs when passing.

The staff, however, was very pleasant and courteous especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I was on a short trip to Darjeeling and stayed at the Shangrila for 2 nights. I was very pleased with the quality of service. The room was very comfortable clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and prompt. Yes their breakfast menu is the same every day but dinner was great. I would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel.

Vincent

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vesnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Dear people,
During my summer break 2009 I we planned a trip to northeastern India.
I would like to write a review for the travelers, who wish to travel to Darjeeling,
And stay in the hotel named Shangri –la regency.

Don’t go with the name ‘Shangri la’, as it not the 7star hotel. It is a boutique hotel in midst of the queen of the hills.

The rooms are very nice, giving you views of the valley, but if you can afford and wish to get a attic room which is at the top of the 5th floor you can, see the magnificent views of kunchenjenga which you can see only from these rooms.

Note- there is no lift!!!

We stayed in the attic room, which was cozy and nice. But the main problems of these rooms were the bathrooms. The shower hardly worked and was less effective.
The hotels in Darjeeling state not to waste water by using a bucket bath, and rather use shower, but ladies and gentlemen you cannot use a shower if the water supply is poor, I mean the water coming was very less.

Also the other thing I dint like about this hotel was the service. The breakfast was horrible! But the dinner was good. We had to eat our breakfast outside the hotel on our last day.

Besides all of this everything was nice and we enjoyed our trip to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, manager at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
1Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, as the many other reviews here on trip advisor show we work hard to make sure all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. In response to the other comments...
Clearly we should not be confused with the 7* Shangri-la chain of hotels whose prices are at least $200 a night!
Besides just 1 hotel (Viceroy) there are no hotels in Darjeeling with a lift. The electricity in the whole region is erratic and it is not possible to operate a lift on captive power.
During the High season in Darjeeling water is in very short supply. However, we buy water in tankers to make sure our hotel has water at all times. Some days the water pressure may be low during the time it takes the tanker to fill the water tanks up and we ask our guest to bear with us for an hour or so while this process takes place
As well as the view from our popular attic rooms there are great views from some of the Double deluxe rooms, where Kanchenjunga can be seen too, and of course the roof top lounge gives access to spectacular views for all our guests.
Many of the reviews in trip advisor have complimented the quality and quantity of our breakfast so I am surprised by your comments but we will be monitoring breakfast service in the coming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Shangrila Regency is a decent hotel with cosy & clean rooms and is overall well maintained. They are very prompt on email so booking a stay is quite simple. It is well located, so moving around town is easy. The staff are friendly. But food is a problem. Be prepared for very average quality of breakfast and long wait times (even for morning tea). They have recently started dinner service in the hotel, which is best avoided - terrible food & over priced. A tip for your stay: Try to avoid road facing rooms as the noise from vehicles & barking street dogs can be very disturbing..
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Clean & Cosy room
  • Disliked — Food & Slow Service
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, manager at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
It is clearly stated in the information hotel pack and specified by the reception to every guest that morning tea will be served only after 7am. This guest called the reception at 6am asking for tea and when he was told that tea will be served after 7am he became very angry. From then on all he did was complain. Compare this guest’s comments with those in the trip advisor review entitled “Very comfortable stay at Shangrila Regency". Here the guest praises the quality of the food quote: "The food is excellent (much better than the famous Glenary's) all freshly prepared and with a changing daily menu for dinner".
Unfortunately vehicle noise and barking dogs during high season are always a problem in Darjeeling, and indeed all over India and is beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Tired, wet, cold and dirty after the fascinating but prolonged (it is slow anyway but we also broke down for an hour so arrived late in the dark) steam train journey from Kurseong we were relieved to arrive at the warm and comfortable Shangri La Regency. It is not too far from the train station but it is very steeply uphill so take a taxi if you can find one (they are relatively rare and expensive in Darjeeling at night) or arrange in advance for collection by the hotel.

Staff were very helpful, ushering us to our room to clean up and keeping the restaurant open late so we could have dinner. The usual prolonged check in procedure was deferred to the next morning so we didn't have to wait.

We had chosen an attic room for the views (be prepared for 5 flights of stairs and no lift or ask for a room lower down!). Rooms are supplied with powerful heaters so they are always warm and cosy. Beds are very comfortable, the shower is good and there are comfortable armchairs overlooking the view.

We don't normally promote eating in your hotel but the Shangri La Regency restaurant is very good. The dining room is comfortable with a choice of seating areas, a separate bar (yes they serve beer) and great views from three sides. The food is excellent (much better than the famous Glenary's) all freshly prepared and with a changing daily menu for dinner. For breakfast the aloo paratha is great and comes in an enormous portion. They also have European option which we didn't try.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#10 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Property: Shangrila Regency
Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#7 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing