We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay with excellent Breakfast”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed then in the family suite booked through Stayzilla.com. The overall experience was very satisfactory. The rooms were clean. Location is also very good. The overall service is also very good. If at all there is any negative feedback it would be that the room we were given was on 3rd floor and if they could do anything about the last 20 meters of the approach road then that will add value to the hotel. Included breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Also they should do something about adding more booking options. Though they make breakfast there itself we were told that for Lunch and Dinner they get the food from their Restaurant which is located on the main Mall Road and after giving the order it might take anywhere between 45 mins to 1 hr for the food to arrive.

Room Tip: There is a building being constructed in front of the hotel which restricts the view especially for...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmurarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Shangrila Regency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 338 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Most hotels were booked in darjeeling,when I suddenly came across this hotel.It is conveniently located,and is quite a cosy little place to stay in.its not particularly luxurious but offers all basic comforts.The breakfast is good,and so is the I house food from the restaurant.The attic rooms were the only ones available,and though a little small in size,were comfortable and clean.The darjeeling tea served at the hotel is exceptionally good.Would love to go there again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Echoyatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, this was one of the best hotels in all of India. As has been said before, the location is brilliant, close to Chowrasta, the Mall and some great food places (Kunga and Dekeling).

The rooms are clean and well sized and beds very comfortable. Remarkably this was one of the few hotels in India where everything worked as intended (phone, tv, hot shower, booklet with complete information).

The service here is amazing! Our porter/waiter/barman/room service man was very helpful and friendly without being overbearing, as were the rest of the staff.

One of the highlights of the Shangrila is the rooftop lounge, a cosy and comfortable area on the fourth floor (not actually on the rooftop) where you can use the free wifi, read, have a cup of ginger masala tea (so so tasty) or drink from the bar and check out the view. Breakfast is also served here, with a choice of Indian (aloo paratha & curry) or European (cooked breakfast with eggs, sausages & hash browns). You can also order lunch or dinner from their sister hotel and they'll bring it here.

Overall, the Shangrila Regency is a very impressive place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjayNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

situated at 5min walking distance from the mall, this hotel offers good accommodation experience. we were 3 families together and got rooms in 3 different floors. rooms were small but had good decor and very clean. apart from the top most floor, no other floor offers view of the mountains. there is a mini bar at the top floor restaurant which is handy if you are fond of liquors. stuffs were very helpful and food was ok. morning complimentary breakfast was healthy. stairs are steep, so, if you get a room at the top floor, you need lot of climbing to do! room rates were not too high but not too low. mr ranjan lama was quick to communicate during the booking process and everything was smooth.

overall, a nice experience with them. would surely recommend for 2/3 days visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soumya_b5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I cannot imagine staying at a nicer place for our 5 nights in Darjeeling. The location is perfect: conveniently located to the main drag (The Mall and Chowrasta), but a little off the beaten path. The rooms are nicely appointed, but the bathrooms are a bit dated. The beds were comfortable, and the views from the balconies were phenomenal. We stayed on the 3rd floor. The only disappointment was that we were supposed to have a room for 3 people, with 3 separate beds. Instead of putting the extra bed in the room with 2 beds, they put it in the room with 1 large bed, which was unacceptable. However, the room with 2 beds really wasn’t large enough to accommodate the third bed. The third person decided to get her own room for the remaining 4 nights, so it all worked out OK. But, I should have been notified about this at the time of booking, when I emphasized the need for a room large enough for 3 people in 3 separate beds.

The primary reason I booked this hotel was for the lounge on the 4th floor, and it was amazing and everything I imagined it to be. It is outfitted with tables for eating, wicker furniture for lounging, and a lovely fireplace. There is a bar and a small kitchen, where breakfast is prepared every morning. For dinners, they bring food from their other hotel. Everything was presented on nice dishes, etc., just as it would have been if it had been prepared on site. There was no air of “takeout food” to it at all.

The service in the lounge was phenomenal. Samuel, especially, was always on hand to help with the fire, get something from the bar, serve breakfast or dinner, you name it. And, as others have said, you never have the impression that a tip is expected. And it would have been awkward and tedious to do so every time. So, we just waited until our final time in the lounge to tip for the entire stay.

If I ever have the pleasure of returning to Darjeeling, I will undoubtedly stay at the Shangri-La Regency!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we visited this place in March and it was a good time to be considering the season didn't begin yet. We preferred the attic room (502) which offers a beautiful view of the Kanchenjungha. The services were prompt thanks to the ever smiling Samuel and Nima. If you are planning on a trip here and seeking value for money, Shangrila is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nihilultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We used to go to Darjeeling for week end leisure and this time we managed to get a booking in this hotel. The hotel is located in a convenient location on Gandhi road, few minutes’ walk from the Mall. The attic room (502) offers spectacular view of Kanchendzongha. We knew that there is no lift to reach the 4th floor room. Crisp linens, good quality pillows but the saddle shape bed was not comfortable for a good sleep. We found a filthy smell in the room, even after the staffs sprayed room freshener few times. Though not equipped with all the amenities (good quality soap or shampoo) that one may need, the bathroom is designed well . It takes about 15 minutes to get hot water after you switch on the geyser. Probably, wall between attic rooms are thin, we could hear people talking in the next room. Staffs are very helpful, the cleanliness of the hotel to be much admired. But the best thing in the hotel that we enjoyed is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FissionValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#9 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $30 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing