We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Our family, wife and 2 kids [13 and 7] stayed at the Shangri la. It was great! We had adjoining attic rooms, the clouds cleared on day 3 with full views of kanchenunga...and the various ridges and valleys between.

the staff were really helpful, and kind with the kids. if we go back to Darjeeling [and i think we will[ we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tornassuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 339 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2008

Well it was very cloudy and misty so no mountains to be seen. And then there was the general strike that started the day after we got there - so along with all the other tourists we got shipped out. Even before the general strike took hold all government run operations were closed - toy train, zoo etc. Watch out - there is political unrest in the region currently. These strikes have happened a few months ago too.

Having said all that - the hotel was fine - the attic room was very nice - we got a heater (there is no central heating as such), hot water, hot water bottles. Dinner at their associate restaurant 5 mins walk along the Mall was ok.

It was a shame about the pile of rubbish outside the hotel - but in India you get used to piles of rubbish on the street. It is also a shame about the condition of the road up to Darjeeling - very poorly maintained so be ready for a bumpy and slow ride.

All in all we were just getting settled in Darjeeling and the Shangrila Regency when we had to leave. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We had a small stay for 3 Days in their Dbl dlx Attic room - and found that the rooms were beautiful - a breath taking view of Himalyas from the room and some beautiful interiors made us fond of this place - The room service was good - the best part of our stay was - cab & the driver - Dhurva - he guided us so well and right from our pickup at Bagdogra Airport - to Sandakhphu trip and local sighseeing - he was multipurpose - and arranged everything for us - in this regard i would like to add the suggestion of Mr Ranjan Lama the hotel owner to book a cab from hotel was - worth it -- overall a real memorable experience - a 4 star facility at a 3 Star price - complete value for money

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul-Niralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Hotel website claimed they had central heating in the bedrooms, they did not, their idea of central heating was and electric plug -in space heater-which kept cutting out. The electric frequently shut off and hot water for showers was intermittent.
Front desk staff was getting quite impatient with us as we complained quite frequently about the cold in our room.
Two thing in the end sort of made up for all the negatives: the view from our rooms and Kabi.
Kabi was constantly at our beck and call and always with a smile, he was amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gallaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, owner at Shangrila Regency, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2008

I must point out that nowhere on our website do we claim to have central heating in the hotel. what is clearly stated in the website is that we provide a heater in every room during the winter and an open fireplace in the rooftop lounge.

In any case this would be an unreasonable expectation of a small hotel in India, particularly at the prices we charge. We do our best to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and even put hot water bottles in the beds at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We had a memorable stay at the Shangrila Regency. The rooms are cosy, clean and well designed to the space available. Worth mentioning are the courteous and pleasant staff who went out of our way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breath taking view from the attic room is awesome, not to be missed !!
A place we will definitely go back to.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nausher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Took a last minute decision to visit Darjeeling - a trip that I had been planning for 15 years! Residing as I do on the other side of India (in Bombay), I selected the hotel on basis of reviews on TripAdvisor.

Called the hotel 2 days before scheduled date of arrival. A polite and helpful receptionist could not confirm an Attic Room as recommended by the reviews, and gave me the cell number of the proprietor Ranjan Lama.

Ranjan was completely hands on - gave a personal assurance of giving the best possible room and tentatively confirmed a deluxe room. By the time his e-mail confirmation arrived the next morning, an Attic Room has been confirmed.

Preferred to book the airport transfer for the 80km journey from Bagdogra Airport from the hotel as I have bad memories of ill maintained airport taxis driven by maniacal drivers. The vehicle sent was a new well maintained Toyota, with a driver who valued his own life. For Rs. 1500 each way, that was money well spent.

The hotel had a friendly and welcoming staff. No pressure (subtle or otherwise) to purchase additional travel services. A simple but extremely filling breakfast. It has its usual share of glitches associated with a small family run hotel - the hot water supply was erratic when we checked in, and the intercom was temparamental. But the response of the staff more than made up.

As any tourist in India can testify, the biggest kill joys are the rogue taxi-drivers. I think this is where the hotel has its USP. They appear to have their own well maintained cars - with drivers mortally scared of the proprietor. We booked a trip to a tea factory to find on arrival that the factory was closed. We told the driver to take us to Mirik (a nearby scenic spot) instead. When he appeared confused, one call to Ranjan did the trick. The driver was told to take us to Mirik forthwith, and Ranjan assured us that we would be charged only for the drive to Mirik.

All in all, a very satisfying stay. The Attic Room was a huff-and-puff 5 floors up climb, but the view was fabulous. The breakfast room was on the 4th floor with excellent views - took a photo of Kanchenjunga from there. The Mall Road was a ten minute walk away.

And as other reviewers have said - the place is CLEAN! For a room priced at Rs. 1,800+tax (a steal in grossly over-priced India), to come back to a clean room and fresh towels every day is a big bonus!

For meals, the hotel includes an enormous breakfast in the room rate. Their snacks like "vegetable pakoras" come in enormous filling portions.

However, for main meals, it is preferable to walk across to the Mall. Try the Glenary - they have a pastry-cum-coffee shop on the ground floor and a restaurant on the 1st floor: both with excellent views of the surrounding hills. The British heritage can be seen in their chips - not soggy at all! A big meal for two with 2 bottles of excellent Sikkimese beer cost just over Rs. 500.

A word about the Sikkimese beer - the best I have had in India. Crisp and light, it will remind you of Kenya's Tusker beer! If only they had the marketing budget of Kingfisher, they would have given Kingfisher a run for their money...

And last, some notes on the famous Darjeeling tea. Some tea gardens do sell tea at the factories. Goodricke has an outlet on the mall where you can taste the different varieties before buying.

And for the tea snobs - here is a quick lesson. You can buy tea by season: first flush harvested in the spring, second flush in the summer and the third flush in the autumn. The difference? Flavours and colours become stronger in the 2nd and 3rd flush.

Or you can do the winery thing by buying your tea based on the estate. Castleton, Margaret's Hope, Thrubo - some names of tea estate that you can drop!

And warning! If it is "masala tea" that you are after, do NOT buy Darjeeling tea. As the purists will tell you, Darjeeling teas are best had pure, i.e. without even milk and sugar. For me? I am still getting my taste-buds attuned!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FootlooseMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I spent a week in Darjeeling during late August. I spent some of my childhood there and wanted to go back and relive a few memories. I stayed at the Shangrila Regency and really loved it. Having travelled around India extensively I was surprised at the quality of the accommodation. The rooms were modern, plush and very clean – great value for money. On a few less misty mornings there was a great view of the Himalayan peaks from the roof top lounge where we had breakfast- I realised how much I missed that view! The staff including the driver who picked me up from the airport were very friendly and attentive, always ready to please. Everything about this trip was fantastic except the weather at times but I guess that's to be expected during the monsoon. I'm glad I made the trip up to Darj again - the town may have got more crowded but the place still retains it's own charm…

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Xavierdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing