We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Shangrila for 3 days..its was nice and cozy.
Go for the attic room, its the best. View of the Kanchenjunga from the room is beautiful..it will light up your day, when you see the snow clad peaks as soon as u wake up in the morning.
The staff is friendly and polite. You will get hot water any time of the day.
You can speak to the staff to arrange a cab for pick up from and drop to the airport or station, and also for sight seeing. Our cab driver turned out to be an ametuer guide too..lucky us :)
You get complimentary english breakfast..n its yummy.
Best thing, is that there are no hidden charges.
Bad thing..if ur in the attic room, at night some animals may be cats, will run for sometime..doesnt happen everyday though.
All in all..We had a great experience!

Room Tip: Go for one of the Attic Rooms. U'll get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    138
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
134
122
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice location, courteous service...Some aspects could be improved like the rigidly imposed breakfast menu that remains unchanged, could be changed on alternative days so that people staying for longer periods have an interesting start to the day/s....Also before serving tea/coffee, guests could be asked for their preferences, whether they would like their beverages with or w/o sugar, rather strange

On the plus side the rooms are well appointed and on a clear day I suppose the 3rd floor and attic rooms have a clear view of Kanzhenjunga...Roof top restaurant is fantastic and so is the room service...nice for a relaxing stay in Darj.

The room sizes are on the smaller size, maybe a norm for hill stations?

Room Tip: 3rd floor or attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHNPareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rddmj, Owner at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you to this reviewer for the positive comments about our hotel. Just to clarify about how we serve tea or coffee in the morning... Guest have a choice of tea served in a pot with separate milk and sugar OR 'ready made' tea in a cup (Indian style) which already has milk and sugar added.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during 2nd week of June 2012. It is nearby to mall road but no disturbance. we can just walk.Rooms are well maintained. continuous hot water available. Breakfast especially puri bhaji is marvelous and very homely. Staff are very nice and fast service extended. I recommend this hotel, They arrange local tours and drop and pickup from airport,

Room Tip: 301 and 302 are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chsubbarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Location- Very good. Away from the maddening crowds of Mall Road, yet walkable distance from the legendary Keventers' and Glenerys' (Restaurant and tea bar respectively).
Room- Limited no. of very warm welcoming rooms !! (So better book early)
Staff/ Service- Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served at a common hall where you get to meet other lodgers and fellow travellers. The food's good and so is the ambience.

Staying at Shangrila Regency is an entire experience in itself. Must go and stay if you love the journey as much as the destination !

Room Tip: Call the hotel in advance. They will help you out with the rooms available and will also let you kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvlyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

After a long and tiring journey this hotel was exactly what I wanted and I felt relaxed immediately on entering the building. The room was very clean and well appointed as well as being quiet. Breakfast as stated elsewhere, was delicious and was a great and relaxing way to start the day. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve22England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our stay at Shangrila Regency was absolutely a remarkable one. The cozy room where we stayed was a nice place to laze around. Though the fog interrupted the view from our window, the service rendered by the people at Shangrila deserves praise. We liked the way they, especially Samuel, dealt with us. The sumptuous breakfast consisting of baked beans, sausages, cornflakes and eggs was mouthwatering. There was no scarcity of water and electricity as the hotel always maintains a generator backup and the geyser also functioned surprisingly well. However, the reception on the ground floor needs a little overhaul; the place is not spacious enough. Overall, we had a fantastic experience during our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeet_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the attic room which was cozy, clean and comfortable. The service was at once informal and professional. The breakfast was good and the lounge with surrounding views a great feature of the hotel. When due to unforeseen circumstances all the restaurants in the city closed for the day, the hotel management went out of their way to arrange for lunch and dinner. The staff was attentive and helpful too in arranging for trips in and around Darjeeling. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JelleW809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Property: Shangrila Regency
Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing