We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our group”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Mass. USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for our group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our group of about 20 americans/scots/indians stayed at the Shangri-La Regency for 10 nights in October 2011. It was just perfect! We were comfortable from day one. We took the whole hotel and used it for our collective home, and felt very much at home, safe, relaxing. We all liked our rooms - room 303 and I think 403 had views of Kanchenjunga) - but we had a chance to see various rooms and they all seemed nice in different ways. We especially liked the "common room" above the 3rd floor - just perfect for us to gather in large or small groups. The hotel service was always great, and they helped us with shopping too, and lots of little things. We had breakfast there, and often walked up the street to the other Shangri-La for lunch or dinner. The walk was pleasant and we always got a little more shopping/errands done, and saw a little more of the town that way on a regular basis. The wood-appointed rooms, halls and stairways are beautiful, the bathrooms were very nice (5-minute hot showers if you're careful), the stairs are even, with bannisters, the beds comfortable, the lighting good, the wifi worked (on our computers, not on our iPhones/iPads), the bar well-stocked. Yes, the infrastructure of the town is not good (roads, garbage collecting, water delivery - they need aqeducts, not trucks) but perhaps with new West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee there will finally be some attention paid to the hill towns. The location was really good - not far from Chowrasta Square, lots of amenities very nearby. By the way, there IS a (small) lobby, and someone is there 24/7. Do all your shopping in Darjeeling! - the prices are good, but more than that you feel you are buying the right things from the right people. Finally, thanks to TripAdvisor and the reviewers to help us find this great place.

Room Tip: Room 301 was good for 3 people (double bed in the main room and 1 twin in an entrance alcove). It al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMcOw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    139
    30
    9
    13
See reviews for
136
126
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I visited Darjeeling from 30th Sep to 3rd Oct and we stayed at Shangrila Regency in an attic room. I had made this booking as a package which included Airport pickup and drop, daily BF and a meal and 1 three point sightseeing trip. Listing the pros and cons of my trip for easy reference.

The Hotel:
Pros -
1. The booking process was very easy. I interacted with Mr. Ranjan Lama via email and he guided me through the entire process.
2. The hotel staff was excellent and courteous.
3. The dining hall was well maintained.

Cons - More a municipal issue but listing them anyways as we faced it.
1. The public infrastructure in Darjeeling is in tatters. The worst affected are roads. Therefore the road leading to the Hotel is also not good.
2. Drainage in hills should be uninterrupted as water flows fast. Sadly the drainage near the hotel is choked and there is a stinking garbage dump next to it.

The Room:
Pros -
1. The room delivered what it promised; an uninterrupted view of The Kanchenjunga and this beats all other minor inconveniences.
2. The room was clean and the wooden interiors helped to keep the room warm.
3. The geyser installed in the room was efficient and we were lucky to face no power cuts.

Cons -
1. The room has a tapering corner, which can be a minor inconvenience for tall individuals.
2. The shower curtain is not enough to protect the dry area of the bathroom from shower water spills. A slight redesign might help.

The Food:
Pros -
1. The breakfast was great. That coupled with the well kept dining area and its splendid views made it even more memorable.
2. Even though the meals are brought from Sangrila Restaurant some distance away, it was served fresh and hot. You can even order your food to your room, which is of great help if you are tired from your journey.

Cons -
1. Some preparations were not very authentic. Notable among them being the Indian pulses 'dal' which we found a bit bland. We also did not like the plain rice as the grains used were not fine.
2. The choice of deserts is lesser than the published menu and only 'Gulab Jamun' was available while we were there.
3. Indian breads 'nan' and 'tandoori roti' need improvement.

The Service:
Pros -
1. Our pickup and drop was on time and we faced no hassles.
2. The drivers were helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest_opinion_040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We visited Darjeeling during October 2011. Stayed at Sangrilla Rejency for 4 days. The hotel is nice, clean and well maintained. The major plus attributed to the hotel is their staff. All the staff of the hotel are soft, well mannered and always ready to help. However the arrangement of bringing food from another hotel was a little problematic. Breakfast was good. The major dissappointment was the travel arrangement for railway station pickup and drop. I would advice anyone who will be reading this review, to avoid the pickup drop facility provided. Instead take a cab from the railway station pre-paid taxi (or from any driver thronging at the prepaid booth), should charge around Rs.1500.

Room Tip: Room 303 should give you a good view of the kanchanjunga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoloyBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I travel a lot, and mostly depend on the internet for my hotel bookings, travel planning etc. And so it was with this hotel, which I selected after reading its reviews in this site and also browsing through the hotel's website. After Gangtok, Darjeeling depressed me with its air of squalor and decay, when I was on a short visit to this 'Queen of Hill Stations' in October this year, with my wife. The approach road to the hotel was shockingly dilapidated, dirty and steep. The hotel lobby was non-existent and the much touted 'attic room' was a disappointment, due to its tiny size and over-hanging ceiling, on which my wife managed to bang her head early in the day. The geyser failed on the third day, and we had to do with a cold sponge early in the morning, since I had planned an early check-out. Lack of a functional kitchen was a disappointment, considering that the hotel is a mid-range hotel, and its tariffs are quite steep. The rooms I managed to peep into were all terribly congested, and families staying in them were simply spilling out due to lack of space.

The view of the Kanchejunga (and Big Bazaar) from the room were fine, and the lounge was a pleasant surprise. The complimentary breakfast was sumptuous, and the staff were friendly and cooperative, including the front office girl. The location of the hotel permits one to move all around Darjeeling by foot, for shopping, and seeing landmarks such as Mahakal Temple, Chourasta, Mall Road, etc. All said and done, worth a second visit, simply for the nice staff and the breakfast, and yeah, if the approach road is repaired ASAP.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view.. avoid the upper floors, as the climbing can be quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, Owner at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your feed back on our hotel and I am glad to hear that you would be happy to return to us.

We sympathize with you over the condition of the approach road, which is managed by the municipality. We frequently repair the road at our own expense and will do so again in January.

We have staff on call in the event of any issues with facilities such as hot water and if we had been informed about the geyser we would have supplied hot water to the room.

The double rooms are all well appointed and of a standard size, as confirmed by the many positive reviews on the site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Firstly the positives, the hotel is located in the heart of the town with easily accessibility to the shopping places. Rooms are clean & neat. A great dining area in the 3rd floor with the good view of the mountains and Kanchenjunga(If the day isn't cloudy). The staff was extremely warm & friendly and the service attitude of the staff was very good, though there were shortfalls in the quality of service.

The negatives, I had taken the 2N/3D package hoping to get a value deal as with the case elsewhere.A closer look at the economics at ground would reveal that it is beneficial to take the room separately and the add-on can be worked with local operators.
The hotel itself is a place with mere lodging facility, expect nothing else. I opted for the attic room and that meant a walk up 4 floors to reach the room and then find that the room has just enough place for the bed. Worse, I open one side of the windows and it opens into a residential building nearby and the other side giving a small view of the mountains(Not what I expected from an attic room with a premium pricing attached). Food was average and it needs to come from their restaurant some distance away in the Mall.

Overall it was a disappointment, especially after having seen so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Choose rooms ending 02 & 03 as they face the mountains and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogerCoventry, Owner at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a review of our hotel, I am pleased to hear that you had a warm welcome from the staff and that you enjoyed the roof top lounge and the central location of the hotel.

However we have had many positive comments about our attic rooms, which are of a standard size, and include a coffee table with two chairs by the window, as well as the usual room features one would expect. Inevitably an attic room will be at the top of the building as specified in our website.

In comparison with other hotels in the region we are confident that the facilities at Shangrila Regency offer very good value for money as confirmed by the reviews on this website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just a few words to thanks to all the hotel staff for the way they treat us during our stay by last week of august 2011. People behind the counter, cooks, room service, and specially waiters, Paul and friends. They all made our holidays nice and friendly, even having our baggage lost by the air company. Their patience and simpathy took us to a better feeling. I insist: Thanks to all that wonderful people. And something important: High quality faciliities, clean and incredible views of Himalaya. Best hotel in Darjeeling by far, and great rooms prices. Thanks from Spain!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paditones P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Shangrila for 3 nights and 4 days. Everything from the rooms to service is absolutely incredible. The package, which we opted for was of excellent value especially as we got the low season rates. Staffs are extremely amiable and descent, rooms are spic and span, toilets clean and the hotel also had incredible view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Property: Shangrila Regency
Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#6 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing