We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere”
Review of Gatty's Cafe

Gatty's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 116 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is little bit hidden, but once you get to know Darjeeling it is easy to find.

This bar/restaurant has two sections. One wider section for listening to music and hang-out. Second section is darker and there is a big screen and projector for watching sports, movies or whatever and in the corner you can also find tiny stage.

We sat in the "second section" and we were immediately brought two candles for more light because we were going yo have dinner. The atmosphere was perfect. While we waited our food we drank beer and wine and they brought us really good snack which was nice. We ordered pasta and arabic platter. It took about half an hour and they brought the pasta for me. We asked that how long it will take for the arabic platter and surprisingly they said one hour, so total one and a half hour. That was too much for us so we changed it and ordered another pasta. The pasta's were good, nothing mind-blowing but good.

All and all I would suggest to go here with lots of time. Its nice place to just sit down and grab few beers and listen to music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saku K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, amazing place to chill and super food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went to Gatty's on the 29th April for dinner ..loved the ambience .. 2 screens out of which one a giant projector screen .. Switching btw football and cricket, loads of options to chill (we played scrabble for an hour) .. Experience was very similar to a European hostel with stories of adventure hiking; biking making rounds..personalized treatment of the cafe felt very warm (we even requested for a real spicy chilly chicken which we were obliged with) food was nyc and the presentation rock solid ..

My wife had an instant crush on Gatty for his superbly sexy look !! Sad for you Gatty she is mine for life now :-)

Special thanks to Gatty for showing us around and see us off... Does count a lot !!

Cafe rocks !! Gr8 place to be in Darjeeling

Helpful?
Thank 608ankurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special sort of place, great food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Motorcycle club hangout (with Yamaha RD350 parked right inside), friendly laid back chill out place, one of the best pasta joints you can have - that is Gatty's. Clientele: all sorts of motorcycle devotees en route to Kashmir, Nepal and Burma - you name it. Pasta chef from Israel introducing a new sauce. All sorts of people. Food is really good - and I am not exaggerating. Gatty takes the food very seriously, with pasta being ordered from a wholesaler serving five star hotels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“Coolest place in Darjeeling”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

First I want to thank Gautam for making Darjeeling stay wonderful otherwise it would had been a nightmare for us.... Very friendly environment.... excellent food... cool ambiance... must try in house Garlic bread, Pasta and Ravioli here... I recommend that one can miss visit to any place in Darjeeling but Gatty's Cafe. Gautam's hospitality touched us the most!!! Thanks Gautam and see you soon again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeeyushRaghav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little gem in Darjeeling”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed in Darjeeling 8 days, and there are not so many places where you could have western food ( Arabic platter!!) a beer or a glass of wine, in a very well decorated and friendly atmosphere. All the staff welcome you with the extra smile, there are 2 rooms, 1 to have dinner and talk with other travelers, one of the staff, the owner or his girlfriend (sorry guys I didn't ask for your names), and the other one with a projector where you could watch a game or anything you like. The food is very good and super cheap, they have a selection of western food : veg lasagna, chicken wings, Arabic platter, pasta.

The owner has another business: Unlimited travels and he could give you every good tips that you could need to do activities, rent motorcycle, and enjoy Darjeeling.

I like to support young guys who try to improve the place where they live by creating their own world with a special "touche" and that you feel straight away with honest people.

Keep doing well guys, I'll definitely be back on my next stay!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatty's Cafe also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Gatty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing