We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Snow Lion HomeStay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Lion HomeStay
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Snow Lion Homestay and had a very enjoyable experience. It is spotlessly clean, our room spacious, hot water and run by a lovely, friendly Tibeten family. The decor is fascinating with many photos and artifacts from Tibet. We requested a move after the first night as oiur room on the streeet was very noisy and they accomodated us willingly. Breakfast is included and served in a wonderful room. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiterockCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Snow Lion HomeStay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a trip to Darjeeling this month Oct-2012.We found this hotel in one word Superb.
A cozy bed, cleaned toilets and washrooms. What satisfied us the most was the behavior of the staff. They had all smiles on their face and were ready to serve you. We were offered complementary breakfast which was extremely delicious and well prepared. Everything is just so nice about this hotel. I strongly recommend everyone to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giniKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews in trip advisor and again I have not been disappointed. The hotel is located at a 5min walking distance from the hustle bustle of the chowrasta. The cars goes right upto the hotel. Hence the location is good. The rooms are small but adequate, homely and clean. They have a small cupboard and a queen size bed which is quite comfortable. The sheets and towels were clean. They say that you can get a view of Mt. Kanchenjunga from room but for the days we stayed it was always cloudy hence cant comment on it. The bathrooms have hot water facility 24*7 provided there is no load shedding. The staff are courteous and always smiling. The hotel has generator facility and they will start it whenever you want. The booking was smooth and done entirely via emails.The checkin and checkout was a breeze and took hardly 5mins.
Overall a pleasant stay and will not mind staying again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikhil85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited India in January of 2010. I picked snowlion from internet reviews, and am glad I did.
I arrived via Kalimpong and was delighted to stay somewhere so different. The top floor has the breakfast room, covered in rugs and heated with a small stove. You know it's cold when the person bringing you tea is wearing a down parka, hat, and gloves! I knew that central heating was unheard of in N India, and I learned what that meant! The room was quite chilly even with the heater, but the blankets were so cozy. I wasn't expecting the power to go out every day (9AM-5PM) like clockwork, but since I was gone during the day it wasn't a huge deal. It would have helped to have been warned about this, though. I learned to shower in the evening when there was hot water (not a guarantee in India, so I was happy here) and used the space heater to dry my hair.

I hired their driver each day I was there (it was winter, so it wasn't very busy) and went to Mirik, Tiger Hill, and the Darjeeling circuit. The location was good, and they have internet access. I had laundry done one day, no complaints. Even in winter, it warms up so much during the day clothes dry really quickly under the sun..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindy_975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Along with 3 friends, I had a trip to Darjeeling earlier this year winter. After research, found this hotel had very good reviews. I had a talk with Mr. Gailley, the hotel manager.. A very kind gentleman! He had no issues taking the booking of the rooms without any money transfer since the trip was in a little hurry. It was the prime season.
As soon as we entered Siliguri, the cab was ready for us to get picked up. We took the route via Mirik to enjoy the scenic beauty!
Reached the hotel in the evening, and all was perfect. A cozy bed, cleaned toilets and washrooms, room heaters in place. What satisfied us the most was the behavior of the staff. They had all smiles on their face and were ready to serve you. We were offered complementary breakfast which was extremely delicious and well prepared. Everything is just so nice about this hotel. I strongly recommend everyone to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor rooms. They offer some nice views of the Kanchenjunga
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumit_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for four nights and had the best time. Such wonderful hospitality. Absolutely loved Darjeeling, and a big part of that was our accommodation. Our room was warm, homey and clean. The owners were so good to us. We arrived extremely late after our train was five hours delayed and we had to catch a taxi to drive us the three hours to Darjeeling. We were super hungry by the time we arrived, so they whipped up some warm sandwiches and tea for us. We were also generally terrible at waking up in time for breakfast but they always made sure we got it (it was included). Very generous servings.

One minor complaint was that we asked for a wakeup call on the morning that we went and did the Tiger Hill tour. We had a car picking us up at 4:30am, so we asked for a 4am wakeup call. We got one at 4:25am so it was a mad rush trying to get out on time once we realised! We DID get out on time though, so it's no big deal. Would have been hard if we had been a larger group, though. Everyone is human, so maybe just set multiple alarms if you have an ungodly hour to wake up at! The rest of the service was beyond amazing and we were sad to go.

Highly recommended, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

its was good experience to stay with snow lion , the rooms are elegant , well maintained,
the people was also good and help
the food is excellent which they provided
they are really gaily family , every time they are attentive
i highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lion HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lion HomeStay

Address: 27A Gandhi Road | Opposite Bethany primary school, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: $23 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Snow Lion HomeStay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Darjeeling, close to the Mall's shopping and entertainment, is "Snowlion Homestay." The hotel is owned & managed by a Tibetan family. Located on Gandhi Road, which is a continuation of the Mall Road, it provides an ideal base for the many local tourist attractions, whilst being in a central, upmarket area of the town. All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc). We provide room heaters and hot water bottles at no additional cost during the winter season. WI-FI is freely accessible in the lounge. We would be happy to arrange for a taxi to collect you at BGD airport or NJP station. We have pick-up from BGD airport or NJP station and travel to Darjeeling (one way). If you choose to use us to be dropped back to the Airport or Station at the end of your stay, we will arrange it. The drive up to Darjeeling is 3hrs and is in any event very scenic. Often tourists choose to use a slightly longer (and even more scenic) route via Mirik Lake. This latter route is approximately 4 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Snow Lion HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lion Homestay Darjeeling
Snow Lion Homestay Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing