We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Farm”
Review of Karmi Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karmi Farm
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Farm”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Karmi Farm is a great place if you need some peace and quiet. It is in a great location with great views of the hills and a winding river in the valley. You cannot see Kanchenjunga from the front of the farm, but you can take a quick hike and have amazing views of the range. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had an amazing time relaxing, hiking, eating etc. The food is so delicious. We would highly recommend Karmi Farm as a wonderful place to stay in Darjeeling. The rooms are clean and cute. The bathrooms are nicely maintained with warm running water. There is also bird watching and other activities to help you relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maren_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
darjeeling
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Karmi Farm is the ideal respite from the rest of this crazy country. The hills and stunning view from the farm is more enough to make you feel at peace again. Add to this the great home cooked Nepali food, the rooms, the walks and the company... it's a 10 out of 10 in my books. Thanks Andrew for your amazing hospitality. You really make it look easy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntyhelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I trekked to Karmi Farm from Darjeeling, a good days trek. I stayed with some companions for three days and really enjoyed the laid back feel of the place. The food was excellent though we were warned in advance that we would have to bring our own beer. The four single males in our group shared a dorm room with space for about 8. The room was clean and comfortable and had two toilets and a shower room.

It rained for most of our stay but that didn't matter much, we'd been travelling for several weeks and enjoyed the down time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CE778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We only had two nights in this amazing place - Andrew, and his familiy were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the large family room with 6 beds which was spacious and the woodfire in the middle was great to sit around at night.
It was a privilidge to be able to stay here and next time we will make sure it is for longer.
The food was fantastic and a good blend of traditional and western to suit various tastes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corvax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickwella
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

First we have to thank Pallab from Naturebeyond Siliguri for the choices he made for us.
Except one it were all beautiful places to stay.
Karmi Farm has all the nature lover wants to meet. It's quiet, charming and lovely people.
From the beginning we felt at home. Rooms are comfortable, food is great, but more the location is a perfect one for lovebirds and those who love nature. Great hospitaly from beginning to the end. A pitty we only could stay for one night. Certainly we will go back in future to enjoy this beautiful spot. Many thanks to make our world a fantasy one, far a way from hectic and stress.

Ans Peeters and Rob Murrer Sri Lanka

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Karmi Farm was recommended to us by our friends Oli & Mags. Mage has been traveling from the UK to Karmi Farm as a volunteer nurse for over 4 years now, and she raves about Andrew who owns and runs the guest house and community health clinic, and the people and countryside of the Karmi Farm location. All I can say is that my wife and I were not disappointed.

Andrew the owner knows all the local farmers and as we stomped across the side of the mountains with views to the eastern himalaya and Sikkim to see some patients recently discharged from hospital, he waved, chatted and passed time with people as we went. He knows the area like the back of his hand and also knows where to walk, stay etc. He organised the jeep pickups and the drop offs, and had all the rooms nicely prepared when we arrived.

The staff are great, very accommodating, smiley and happy to help! The accommodation is also very comfortable; we stayed in an outhouse with two adjacent rooms, and en suite bathrooms. Everything is fairly rustic, for example the hot water is heated in part by log fires, and that adds to the charm.

Food was the right combination of Nepali, Chinese, Indian - mild curries, paneer, potato chips, noodle soup. All vegetarian as a matter of course. Delicious and plentiful!

Dinner is served in the kitchen table, warm and cosy. Andrew talks about the history and the region of the farm, and has great stories to share about his family and the history of the region.

Breakfast and lunch are taken on the big wide verandah, with views to the himalaya on a clear day and a thatched roof. It is great for watching the clouds zoom by at eye level or the rain stream down from the trees.

All in all, quite the most delightful people, place and location. I am already planning on heading back in October, Thank you!

The things to think about though: it is a full 4.5 hours driving, more with stops, from Kalimpong airport. It is secluded and quiet - no bars restaurants etc. so bring good books and a pair of walking boots/running shoes. Bring cash - there aint no means to pay by card here (at least i don't think so!). Snuggle up in the sitting room and read a book in front of the log fire!

  • Liked — views and simplicity - nice rustic decor and paint
  • Disliked — nothing, it's not luxury, but it doesn't pretend to be!
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willismuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
3.0 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#9 of 98 in Darjeeling
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmi Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmi Farm

Property: Karmi Farm
Address: PO Kolbong | Via Bijanbari, Darjeeling, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Darjeeling
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing