We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond expectation”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family have a very good time for our vacation at the hotel. It is extra normal, as far as the tibetan culture is concerned. We have learnt a lot, when we are there. Food and service is excellent. We are looking forwards to visiting Darjeeling and staying at hotel again in April.

Room Tip: The Hotel is not only to sleep and eat. It is full of culture, which we could learn a lot in the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    161
    42
    24
    21
See reviews for
138
105
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 4th March to 7th March 2013, booked directly after reading reviews on tripadvisor, Mr Bhutia was really helpful. We stayed at 2nd floor due to my Mom could not climb top floors. Hotel717 has a decent restaurant and bar, lot many dishes available, try Tibetan dishes, Momo & Soup etc, only problem we found in terms of food is less salt on all kind of foods, some time its good to have less salt. Hotel is situated on HD Lama Road which is always congested due to vehicles parked on the sides of the road. But many places are walking distance from the hotel, Mall is just 10 mins walk, Taxi Stand is 5 mins, ATM is next door. The Hotel has a small shop for purchasing souvenir run by Mrs. Bhutia, Aunty is very kind, has taken out some time to show us their home and home temple, we paid our homage to Lord Buddha. Shop has many souvenir in lower rate than out side market. I would recommend Hotel 717 to all specially for family with kids, really decent hotel to stay at Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Check the rooms with Hill View, prefer to have rooms on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amitava_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

located little on the inner roads of darjeeling and hence little difficult to access easily, though a standard size vehicle can reach there with some efforts, still proximity to many attractions of the city makes it a good choice.
add to this good staff and the delicious food. try Tibetan items and you will never forget the taste.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvinodshelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I wanted to book a trip for my relatives for which I had contacted Hotel Seven Seventeen.
I found this hotel more approachable than other hotels in Darjeeling.
Initially there were lot of problems in getting confirmation over mail from the hotel staff but when I contacted the manager (Mr. Tashi) he was very helpful and helped me in promptly completing the booking. I had heard and now myself experienced that the owner and his family are very helpful to guests.
The stay has been booked for next week. Will update the review after the trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep_07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at Seven Seventeen in september 2012 with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

this is our first visit to darjeeling. i choose this hotel mainly for its tibetian decoration.
The hotel is very charming in it's Tibetan decor,The hotel staff was wonderful.
On each of the stairwells were glass-enclosed displays of typ
ical Tibetan clothing and instruments, art, and other articles.
but no lift is available.
this hotel is very near to the main business area of darjeeling. just above the market
place. so all the shops are nearby.
the MALL is also just a few minutes walk from this hotel.
but location is not so good, HD lama road is dirty and jam packed with taxis.
The food was good at every meal and staff at restaurent will serve you with abig smile.
The owners run a gift shop in the hotel lobby and the prices are better than in the shops outside since the prices are fair and there's no need to do any bargaining.
this is a nice little hotel in Darjeeling, and had a nice homely
atmosphere, I would recommend
this hotel for those wanting a comfortable stay, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paras30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family of 5 arrived on a Sunny Day expecting that the trip of a life time. We reached the airport on 4th Feb and were promptly picked up by the hotel driver. That was the only good thing about this joke of a hotel, where we planned to stay for 3 nights.

a) The Electricity sockets were broken and burned our mobile phone chargers.
b) My mother was sick and the extereme cold in Darjeeling didnt help. There were no Room Heaters available at the hotel. All the ones they had were all broken.
c) The bedding was wet.
d) Rooms not clean
d) The worst food we ever had at the restaurant. Tasteless and cold.
e) Promised a buffet breakfast, all we got was limited option ala-carte. The worst part again, the food was cold as ice.
f) When we were complaining about the broken room heaters, the lady at the reception was more interested in selling the stuff from the shops in the lobby.
g) Convinient response to all issues at hotel is for the manager to shout at the staff.
h) The hotel staff admit that despite being highlighted the owner/manager do not replace the broken stuff.
i) Staff are accomodating but there is very little they or anyone can do when they dont have resources.

The end result, due to non availability of room heaters and the poor hotel environment, mom fell sick and we had to return from Darjeeling the next morning. Our whole trip and holiday ruined by this Hell on Earth.

Jigme was understanding and returned our advance, however the damage to our hearts will be life long. Will never return to a any hotel named 717.

Sincere advise is to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel to have a good trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CritiqueDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There's nothing to complain about when it comes to hotel 717- it is cozy, lovely and fantastic! So, if your one of those who want to enjoy your trip, while feeling safe and taken care of, then this is the place to stay! We have felt as if we were apart of their family, during our 5 nights here and we have absolutely loved everything about hotel Seven Seventeen. We will definitely come back in the future!

Bathroom and shower: CLEAN and extremely hot water every morning and evening.

Rooms: CLEAN and spacious.

Hotel Restaurant: Good food, with attentive and humble staff.

Management: The owners will go beyond their way to help you out, if there's anything you need. In our case, as we didn't need anything, they kept on showing their appreciation sending complementary Tibetan dishes, they would come with hot water bottles every night all though we didn't ask, and invite us for tea in their house.

And at the end of the day, it's all about the those extra details that weigh up for facts that the bed is firm like a brick (that's the only minus at this place). At Hotel Seven Seventeen you're not just a guest, you're a person they will take care of!

We contacted the hotel directly and got a better offer when paying to them, via pay pal. Safe and cheaper! Although this is a considered a semi-budget hotel, there's nothing budget about it!

Room Tip: If your healthy and can manage to walk 74 steps up the building (to the 5th floor) ask for room 506...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#69 of 98 in Darjeeling
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing