We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor show!”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor show!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

1) Poor Service
2) Not very helpful staff
3) The charges at least above 300% of what it should ideally be
4) You have much better hotels around at a cheaper price
5) For every little thing, we need to call Jigme and take his help. The staff working there are absolutely useless
6) I had a very bad experience in terms of they booking a taxi for me. The rates kept escalating every 15 mins even after agreeing in the first go
7) Pathetic breakfast, I mean, what is there to eat??
8) Unclean room, no plug-point as well in the rooms
9) Toilets were terrible, nothing was there. There is absolutely no water and no heater!

Not sure why there is so much coldness in attitude with staff at reception, definitely not recommended. Jigme and his wife were very nice to us but they will not be able to sustain if they dont relook at the folks working for them. Unfriendly and useless!

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhu_Rajputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

Sir we would like to inform you that you had booked your room on European Plan and hence breakfast was not included, otherwise you could have tried our buffet service, another thing you have mentioned is what is there to eat for breakfast , you could have tried from our multi cuisine restaurant Blue Haven where selection of menu could have been chosen from on Alacarte basis .

You have also mentioned that I (Jigme ) and my wife took good care of you and your family for every need, but never did once mention to us that you were facing any such problem , which we feel quite strange.

As we take care personally of our guest , we also personally check with cleaniness, hygiene and service by our staff, we are quite surprise to note that you had to face such inconveneinces for which we are so sorry

inconveience is highly regretted

regards

Jigme & family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    161
    42
    24
    21
See reviews for
138
105
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is not so good, HD lama road is dirty and jam packed with taxis. Hotel food is very good and very fresh and non spicy. Hotel charges extra for room heater which I don't like. Hotel staffs are good. Mall road is near , walking distance. Bathroom is very clean and fitted with western style with hand washer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darjtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
hotel. We are infact very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us
in our hotel.

Regarding Location when we built this hotel about twenty years ago , the road was wide,broad and clean but down the years specially during the Gorkhaland Agitation many unauthorised construction has taken place and also thousand of vehicles are on road thus making the road narrow and crammed not only on H D Lama Road where our hotel is located but in most of the roads in Darjeeling town.

Anyway we on our part try our best to keep our hotel locality clean and provide best of service and quality food .

Once again I would like to say that we are very much pleased to be able to serve you ,satisfy you and do hope that you will patronise us in further visits as well.

regards


Jigme D Bhutia
(Managing Partner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

After a long day travelling from Calcutta we (2 adult couples in their 60s) arrived to a very warm welcome from both owners and staff. It was so nice to see how well maintained and comfortable our rooms were. We stayed for 6 nights and by the time we left after a very enjoyable stay we were quite sad to depart. The owners obviously have great pride in their establishment offering clean and comfortable accommodation and really good food. All staff were very helpful. We could not have wished for a better place to stay in Darjeeling. The location was great. Our rooms looked out over the markets and the beautiful mountains in the distance. Close to shops and a short (although a bit of an uphill walk) to the Mall Road and scenic lookout (away from the hustle and bustle and tooting horns) where we spent quite a few hours looking at the mountains and generally people watching. We would recommend this hotel to travellers. Thank you Jimmy, Tshering, Yashi and Teshi for making our stay in Darjeeling a time to remember.

Room Tip: All rooms of a similar standard. As this hotel is five stories if you don't like walking up sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret255340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Seven Seventeen hotel in Darjeeling, a very clean and delightful hotel beautifully decorated in the Tibetan style. The owners are two Tibetan couples who take a real pride in offering the very best in hospitably and food. There are hundreds of hotels in Darjeeling often making it difficult for new or returning visitors to choose one. However, look no further, Seven Seventeen is great place to stay, centrally situated in the town and is great value for money. Having made many many visits to Darjeeling over 25 years this hotel gets my top recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Casson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Most of the reviews are written by Indian people who have a far lower expections than Westerners.
A popular guide book says this hotel is a friendly Tibetan themed place on the edge of the bazaar with a good restaurant & clean fresh bedrooms.
In reality it is a 5 story buiding on a narrow back street with many small shops on both sides of the road were cars & vans can only get so far down the road but motor bikes are able to come & go as they please both tooting there horns at all times of the day & night & along with the many stray dogs who have a habbit of barking incessantly often late at night which will disturb your night if you want to go to sleep before 11pm. All very annoying.
The hotel staff have reasonable English but not great, but are as helpfull as much as possible.
The restaurant is just ok but not great, its ok if you dont wont to go out looking for something better.
The bedrooms are not heated but you can rent a heater for R200 per night which you will definatly need. Tip you could buy one from down the road for R400 & if you plan to stay here for a few days it might work out in your favour.
The beds are very hard & the lighting is very poor to read by.
However if you are looking for a budjet end of hotels this would probably fit as it is very reasonably priced at R1200 per night given you can spend considerably more.
Generally the place is ok, so long as you are not expecting western standards.

Room Tip: There are less noisey rooms but the tent to be smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

From the moment we checked in to this hotel, we were treated as honored guests. Upon check in, we met one of the owners, Jimmy. Later we also met his wife, Tshering and his brother and sister-in-law, Yashi and Teshi. This wonderful Tibetan family takes a personal interest in the comfort and satisfaction of their guests and ensure a well run establishment. We had room 212, which was a bright and airy corner room with huge windows and a lovely view of a garden and roof top patio and the mountains beyond. I am a flatlander and get very cold at night at this elevation (I think somewhere around 7000 ft,) so I was provided with an electric space heater and an extra blanket. Each night, our room attendant, Mohan, also brought me a hot water bottle to warm up the bedding. What a delight! We had very hot water in the morning and then again about 6 pm to 9pm (I’m not exactly sure of the time.) The bed was comfortable and the room was large and very clean, as was the bathroom. We were centrally located and were able to walk to all the tourist sites and the markets, bazaar, Chow Rasta and the Mall. I have posted photos with this review.

The hotel building is full of beautiful Tibetan decorations. The walls and ceilings are painted in typical Tibetan style. On each of the stairwells were glass-enclosed displays of typical Tibetan clothing and instruments, art, and other articles. There is true pride of ownership here. The family not only owns and operates the business, they designed and built the building! I can certainly see why they have been named a Trip Advisor award winner for 2012.

We were treated to delicious breakfasts each morning as part of our B & B rate. We also ate several dinners and a lunch in the restaurant. My husband says the Chicken Tikka Masala was his all time favorite and he ordered it on 3 separate occasions. OK, OK, I loved it, too, but I also tried some of the Tibetan soups and the chicken momos and I was delighted.

The family also operates an annexe (I think they call it the Heritage Hotel Seven Seventeen) which has somewhere between 20 and 30 additional rooms. And even better, they are in the process of building another hotel, "Little Tibet" that will be a totally Tibetan theme from the building and decorations to the food and to the staff clothing. We had a wonderful opportunity to see the almost completed construction. It is going to be stunning. It will be opening in February 2013. I guess we will just have to come back again.

I highly recommend this hotel and I commend the owners for a professionally run, charming and welcoming establishment. I also recommend making a booking early because the hotels are deservedly popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Since we hadn't had much time for planning, we decided to find hotels after reaching Darjeeling. We were recommended The Hotel Seven Seventeen by an acquaintance. This place is in a great location, walking distance from the Mall, the taxi stands and supermarket. The first night, the hotel was full. But the manager booked us in a suite at their sister hotel, the older Heritage Seven seventeen (the second building to the right of the new hotel). We got a good discount, better than the lowest online price!

The rooms at the Heritage Seven Seventeen are very old, damp and musty and the bathrooms sorely need refurbishing. The room was spacious with an attached lounge. The staff were very helpful and courteous. But the whole place was so shabby and depressing.

For the next 2 nights, we shifted to the newer Hotel Seven Seventeen. This is a fairly new building with very clean rooms. We took a double room on the fifth floor from which the views of the Kanchenjunga mountain were fabulous! The decorations in both the hotels are in unique Tibetan style. There's a lovely lounge in the fourth floor with a lot of cultural artefacts and books on display. There have a very good laundry service. There is a good travel desk, but I recommend that you hire taxis at the taxi stand for sightseeing (you will save more than 50%!).

We didn't eat at the multicuisine Hotel Seven Seventeen restaurant for breakfast. But on Diwali night, all the hotels in Darjeeling were closed around 7.30 pm and so we ordered dinner here. The food is pretty decent and worth the money. The service was excellent.

I would not rate the the older Heritage Seven Seventeen highly (strictly for showering and sleeping only). But I would definitely recommend staying at the new Hotel Seven Seventeen.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 4th or 5th floors with views of the Kanchenjunga mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing