We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

This hotel has a strange history. If the owners are to be believed then the hotel is named Seven Seventeen because every one in the owners family was born (or died) on either of these two dates which is quite spooky.
The facilities in the hotel are okay , which we can expect from a budget hotel, colour TV , attach bathroom with a water heater etc. The cleanliness was average. The rooms were not very big or spacious but they did give a cozy feeling. The hotel is on a busy street and is centrally located. This is a big advantage as there are plenty of places to shop and eat around. But because of its location on the main road there can be some noise and pollution in your rooms(especially if it is located at the front side).

The restaurant looked okay although we only had breakfast in it because there are plenty of places to eat around. The service and staff are quite friendly and helpful.

All in all it was a good experience considering its moderate prices and central location.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank houseno44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    158
    40
    24
    21
See reviews for
133
104
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jalpaiguri, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

In july 2010 i.e. in rains last year I along with my 2 other colleagues were need to went to Darjeeling. We were really confuse to chose an accomodation more so due to the political situation then after a advice from our travel consultant we went there and stayed there fore 3 days. It was a real memorible experence. The rooms are very clean, the foods are nice and the service was great. They arranfed the taxi which we were nedded and give us price less advice which were very help full. I strongly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajarshibhowmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Stayed here in January 2010 on my solo trip to Darjeeling. Got a good bargain, it's off peak when I checked in. However, the hotel staffs were treating me nicely & politely. This is the only hotel that treated me fairly as a guest of all other cities I visited in India for 25 days. They paid attention, I was surprised when at night, the hotel staff came to my bedroom & gave a hot rubber pillow for warming my neck. I was suffering from a bad cough that time. The bedroom is nicely decorated, unfortunately without heater for that price but the blankets really helped. I felt thankful that I did go to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

nice hotel...recommended....room service is good....walking distance from all the points in DRJ......booked suite...which has lobby area but next time prefer to book standard room...same facilities.....drawback : TV was not working, change the linen on call only

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

You cannot expect more from West Bengal. The rooms have a panoramic view of the Himalayas and the bed/floors are cleanly maintained.

This hotel is just a few steps away up on HD Lama road from where the shared taxis drop you. Also, the road is not visible on google maps so make sure you ask the locals.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gvenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

we stayed at Hotel seven seveteen for one day, because the teas estate hotel we were looking at did not have any vacant rooms... . The name of the Hotel is quite strange and they say the every one in the owners family was born (or died) on either of these two dates. Due to this strange logic, even this decent quality hotel was appearing as some haunted house to us. Any ways What is in a Name.... moving to facilities, the hotel has moderate facilities , which we can expect from a family run hotel, like basic color TV , attach bathroom etc. The cleanliness was average, the rooms were not that airy/big. One advantage is the location as this hotel is on a busy street in the centre of the city. So if you are looking for a decent budget hotel, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeNPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed for a night (8th-9th Nov). The Hotel is Centrally Located but sorroundings were very dirty. Rooms were good. Mr. Jigme, the owner is friendly but other staffs were lacking professionalism. The person (Mr Sujan) who was assisted us for Pick-up, Local Site Seeing and further transfer to Gangtok was misguiding us on rates. They charged 1800 for a pick-up from NJPthats too on an Ordinary vehicle where the actual rate was 1000 INR. He Quoted 2500 for Gangtok drop, but we arranged it for Rs 1500 through local travel operator.
The Restaurant was great with Tasty Tibetan and Indian Foods. I must advise it to others to try the food there.

The Hotel Staffs need to be trained for Handling tourists and Guiding properly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chakbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#58 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing