We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for kids and adults, both.”

Himalayan Mountaineering Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Darjeeling Half-Day Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 100 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids and adults, both.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It has so must of exotic wildlife and the greatest things is it is maintained as one. Doesn't feel like a zoo. All animals are healthy looking and chirpy. Atmosphere is awesome. Location is great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    441
    127
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inspiring and detailed”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A brilliant outing - specially for the kids and the trekkers. The museum is well planned and laid out to invoke curiosity and awe. The model of the ranges with lights to identify the different rivers and peaks is a geography lesson a child won't forget. The mountaineering equipment on display is exhaustive and a guide is a must to add life and vibrancy to the museum tour.
Dislike - the equipment should be labelled with their use / application.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneGoodTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best museum- must visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Now, the ticket for this museum is sold along the zoo itself, both inclusive at 40/-,hardly anything if you ask me plus 10/- for the camera. Photography is NOT allowed inside the museum.
The museum itself is located at the deep end of the zoo. While we stood at the gate of the museum, I was wondering, should we or should we not go inside. It looks like a 2 floor small museum and what it says about itself, is little motivation to pull you inside.
But one must go inside. I was blown away what I saw inside. How can the trekkers gear and little tid-bits excite you so much? But then that’s history and geography combined with loads of thrill…as you read plenty of news clippings pasted inside the glass, you get an adrenalin rush. When you see the gear of Tenzing Norgay, you tell yourself, you gotta be kidding; with this gear he went to conquer Mt Everest? You read more, and you tell yourself, Sherpa can't die of altitude sickness, is it that high? You read more and you see more and then you see what apparently is the skeleton of the hand of Yeti !!. Yes, THE YETI !!
The fun of this museum is its mode of illustrated history, you have to read the newspaper clippings to realise the importance of what you are looking it. The controversy of who climbed the Everest first, eagle found at 26000 ft, it's all so intriguing. For most of us, who are oblivion of mountaineering and know so little about the Himalayas, its an eye opener. I'd say, send every child to this museum and make them read the clippings as they look at the gear and the tools of summiteers. This is the best museum which I have seen in my life; not even days spent in the various museums of London (since they are so huge )made me so excited.
They also have stuffed animals, peculiar to different climate and the area and the robe of the king of Bhutan, among few other things not related to mountaineering. Must must visit. I have no interest in mountaineering, and yet I enjoyed those 2 hrs inside the museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoolIndiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“insight into world of mountaineering”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

this is certainly a nice and well kept meuseum,first mountaineering mueseum i have been to,nice modals of entire himalayan mountain range is kept in institiues mueseum,with the history of mountaineers and mountaineering depicted through various photos,artifacts,antiques,weapons,and many other things
must visit for all those interested to know history and mountaineering

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“It's a matter of pride”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's a matter of pride to see this museum. It shows the achievements of various mountaineers and it's very informative. They have good collection of tools, dresses etc used for climbing those highest peaks in the world.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoyjeetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Mountaineering Institute also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Himalayan Mountaineering Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing