We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I had a excellent stay in Sinclairs. I booked it for 2 days but becoz my train was too late I missed first night and reached next morning but they adjusted the whole amount for next consecutive day. I m grateful for their co-operation. The buffet was excellent, had a vareity of foods, room was comfortable and clean. but it was too cool. It is located near 'The Mall' and easily walkable, just it had straight slope to reach to the hotel which makes you think twice before coming out of hotel on foot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mr_lylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    144
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
141
90
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

The hotel is close to the Mall and offers a wonderful view of the Kanchenjunga. Also because of its location the main attractions of Darjeeling are just a walk away, which makes traveling convenient. The food in the hotel is good, and one must go on enjoying the Darjeeling tea the hotel offers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mizz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patiala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

A short walk from the Mall, this hotel is well located. The food here is quite good and reasonably priced. The staff members are warm, courteous and always ready to help. The rooms are tastefully done up and washrooms dry and clean.Hostility in the place and hostel is worth noticing. The entire experience in the hotel as a customer is wonderful.The hotel room of Sinclairs Darjeeling offers a magnificient view from the windows. Each room was different with subtle tasteful colours to showcase the design elements that surrounded royalty of yore. The room was quiet elegant with an air of serenity in it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babapatiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We were inb Sinclairs Darjeeling for two days, Darjeeling was tense during our visit with strikes, we reacehd pretty safely and the views from the rooms took our breath away . We stayed in double delux rooms which have a great view, I think that it is good to see the Kanchenjunga ranges from ure rooms as we could not really glimpse the range from tiger hill due to heavy fog.
On another note, the food was really bad, and due to the unrest, the staff were not able to procure fresh fruits and veggies, adding to our food woes.
Receprion service was excellent but the hotel staff seemed a bit confused.
Overall great for the views, if you can tolerate poor quality of food for two days

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramaaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Madam,

We acknowledge with thanks your feedback in respect of your stay at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.

We are happy that you found many of our services satisfactory. However, we have noted your dissatisfaction regarding some of our services and appreciate your suggestions. We shall endeavour to improve the same.

While we apologize for the inconvenience caused, we solicit your support and request you to continue to patronize our services in future.

Assuring you of our best attention, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Hostility in the place and hostel is worth noticing. The entire experience in the hotel as a customer is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kuldip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

its a beautiful hotel in beautiful darjeeling. you get a really nice view all around. the staff is very helpful

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadaresh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

a nice hotel situated in scenic darjeeling No issues with d hotel whatsoever. will recommend others to stay here

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kadaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Property: Sinclairs Darjeeling
Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing