We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sinclairs a sync with Darjeeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“sinclairs a sync with Darjeeling”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Darjeeling the darling of of hill stations is like a cool breeze of air on a hot summer day. The approach road is winding with the usual curves. Seeing the narrow roads you wonder whether there is place for a good spacious luxury hotel. After the bustling market place and roads crowded with tourists you reach a narrow steep ascending road ( enough for one car to go barely thru ). Our hearts sank and we wondered where we are headed to. As the road ascended our hopes descended. And all of a sudden like a lotus in a pond hotel Sinclair's emerged; tall, imposing and beautiful. The approach road was lined with exquisite flowers and the reception area complemented the same. The staff and room service was excellent. Being in the centre of the city you have access to everything; market place, sight seeing spots, good local hotels, banks and so on. Stay for minimum 4 and have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Better to have a look around. Higher the Bette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Prasad,

What a great review! I am extremely happy to read your positive comments and thank you so much for sharing this with the Tripadvisor community.

It was a pleasure for us to host you and thank you for appreciating the location of our hotel, room service and our hospitable staff.

I hope to welcome you back once again and please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Rupam Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    150
    56
    18
    17
See reviews for
155
92
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hi.

It feels a little gut wrenching to write a review with a negative connotation for Sinclair's, Darjeeling, because I have decades back spent lovely time with my family on multiple occasions, while I schooled here.

However, it was my presumption that Sinclair's will still be one of the best places in Darjeeling.

And I have been proved grossly wrong.

I had booked for 5 nights with Sinclair's, however the experience was so pathetic, that I checked out after the 1st Night itself.

TO start with the Rooms had no ventilation in terms of an AC/Heater or Blower. At Night, I was advised to keep the Window closed, as it was not safe and hence after about a couple of hours, it became suffocation. No Fan too.

The staff was very curt and mechanical unlike the old times where you could feel a connect with the staff. To the extent of "as if I care".

The location is off-course a little disadvantageous, however the pathway leading up to the Hotel is not even paved well.

The rooms are basic and suit a business hotel only.

All in all, a very bad experience.

There are numerous better options available which are better located.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Alec,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Darjeeling.

It is disappointing to read your review especially since you have been a regular guest with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you faced.

The windows in our rooms can be kept open all day, and we advise guests to leave them closed during the night for safety issues. However, they are welcome to leave them slightly open if required. The cool weather in Darjeeling doesn't require a fan, and since none of our guests ask for them, we don't keep table fans, neither do we have ceiling fans.

Our hotel is located a few mins away from the main town centre (Chowrasta) and is ideal for tourists, therefore the location isn't disadvantageous.

The pathway to the hotel is not maintained by us, and belongs to the Darjeeling Municipality.

I am sorry that you felt the staff were not hospitable, and I shall make sure that you don't experience this when you visit our hotel again.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Rupam Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We reserved this hotel under the impression that it is a stand alone property with great views of the Kanchenjunga. However we were not lucky because of the haze. But the hotel too seems to be under renovation. the room amenities were not checked before handing over. In short we had to make numerous calls to the reception and finally switch rooms.

The staff is friendly and accommodating but these services glitches can be avoided especially when travelers to this region come for some calm instead of unnecessary hassles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nami16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, Operations Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Nami,

Thank you so much for your review after your Honeymoon at Sinclairs Darjeelng. Please accept my apologies for all the inconveniences that you faced.

However, I'd like to point out that your reservation was made through Booking.com, and the voucher did not specify a stay in our special Honeymoon Room. The room type was Premier Double/Twin Room. Since we were fully booked on that day, we offered you the room with the twin beds. Only after your check-in, I realised that you were on your Honeymoon. The technical problem with the television was also sorted out in 30 minutes. I offered to change your room to a double room the next day, after your permission. From Day 2 onwards, we took special care of you and made sure everything was upto the standard hospitality!

I hope you will visit us once again, maybe with family or friends! And if you'd like to keep updated with our offers and promotions, please join us on Facebook and Twitter.

Regards,

Rupam Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at Sinclairs Darjeeling on 05 April with my husband. The words cannot describe the excellence that this hotel offers to their guests. The decor and the ambience of the hotel is tastefully done that gives the feel of the colonial era and yet contemporary. Full marks to the cleanliness and the services of the staff. The entire staff is so courteous and hospitable that we felt like Royalty. The food was excellent and the staff of the restaurant was also very nice. Special thanks to the Manager Mr. Roopam Ghosh. As the king so are the subjects. Mr. Ghosh is so hospitable himself and very rare I have seen Managers like him who likes to connect with their guests. His positive energy is reflected in the hospitality of his staff. I have stayed in many good hotels however, this stay was with a difference. First we were upgraded to the Premium room and then the other surprising element was when we had gone out to the mall road and by the time we came back they had cleaned up our room and there was a beautiful note of :Good Night". The gesture felt so good that I cannot express in words. I agree with the caption- If it is Darjeeling, it has to be Sinclairs!". I would highly recommend this hotel to the people who have good taste. Thank you everyone at Sinclairs and Mr. Roopam Ghosh!

Room Tip: Premium Room has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, Operations Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Neelu,

I am absolutely thrilled to read your wonderful feedback after your recent stay at Sinclairs Darjeeling. Thank you so much for your five star review, it made my day!

Sinclairs Darjeeling is a charming hotel and ideal for those looking for comfort and luxury, at an affordable price. The hotel is a blend of country house decor and modernity with a colonial feel.

For holidaymakers, there’s plenty to do in the property given its games facilities and fitness centre. I hope you soaked in the scenic views from the sundeck and viewing gallery, and tried the snacks at the Mount View Café.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at The Kanchenjunga restaurant, and that you were satisfied with your overall stay!

Thanks for the special mention of our staff and their hospitality. I shall convey your positive comments to them.

Do visit us again, and we hope you will recommend us to friends and family.

Regards,

Rupam Ghosh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

hi,
we(me and my husband) stayed in sinclairs for 4 days..in feb 2013..and i would highly recomend this hotel for people who wish to travel darj as well as enjoy the hotel itself...i loved the excellent decor..the breakfast..service..view from premium room were we stayed..only i would say i was not very happy with the heating...would have prefered a centalised heating than a small room heater as we travelled in winter...otherwise it was quite a pleasant stay..Darj shuts down by 8pm..so hotel ammenities like billiards table..carrom and other indoor sports room..and many other facilities really helped us having a gala time...a little climb true to reach the hotel but close to mall 5 mins walking distance...overall had a very good time..

Room Tip: premium ones are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi_Jeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed both the product and the services that we offer.

Our goal is to create memorable experiences for all our guests and I am proud to see that we have succeeded here.

We have noted your comments regarding central heating, but due to voltage issues, we only use portable heaters.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions and we hope you will have many more unforgettable stays at Sinclairs Darjeeling in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Sinclairs is a place you would like to get lazy.You will have all sorts of entertainment-ranging from billiards to music(depending on the season).The food served would be just sumptuous...you will have no complaints.Consisting various dishes,your meal will be delightful.
Making your eyes dance by gifting you a grand view of the Kanchenjunga, the rooms decor will be more or less suitable to your taste.The floors were woooden and the bathrooms tidy. The games room,the billiards pool,the lounge and the gym will be enough to keep you busy during your stay...even if you are not travelling to any tourist spot.The hotel is very good but it has only one negative point-it's location.The road leading to the gate of Sinclairs is very steep.Hence you'll have to work hard to get lazy for a few days!

Room Tip: You may/may not have a problem with the room heater. It was a mistake,as said by the staff,that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishi_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out to leave such encouraging feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff works very hard to make each stay special and I am glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at our hotel, your kind words about the food, facilities and the location are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team.

With respect to the approach road, this is not maintained by the hotel, but by the Darjeeling municipality. We have already put in a complaint regarding this and we hope that this will be rectified soon.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling in the future.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Hotel is good and provide excellent view of Kanchenjungha. Rooms are good with wooden flooring and cooperative staff. The hotel is not far from the main market but approach road is really bad and steep. Food is good. Overall its a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARSK2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate a lot your comments and it’s pleasant for us to know these details. We would like to inform you that we are working to further improve the quality every day in our hotel.

For your information, the approach road to our hotel is not maintained by us but by the Darjeeling municipality. We present our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by this situation.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Property: Sinclairs Darjeeling
Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing