We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really a good place to stay in Darjeeling.Beautiful Lobby with fire place and great view of Darjeeling and the surrounding areas.Staff are very helpful and well mannered.Food excellent and restaurant is also clean and well decorated.Rooms are clean and well maintained.If awake early in morning you can have the view of mighty Kanchenjunga from your room and for better view just walk to balcony in each floors.I really love this place.

Room Tip: Prefer front facing and second floor rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Sinclairs as your preferred accommodation in Darjeeling as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Sinclairs.

At Sinclairs, our goal is to offer personalised, welcoming and graceful service, so you feel like it's a home away from home. Certainly, location meaning the beautiful views of Mount Kanchenjunga and close proximity to the town centre and other sightseeing highlights of Darjeeling is very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our helpful and well mannered staff and personalised service.

Thank you very much for your comments which always help us to improve our service and facilities.

Should you return to Darjeeling we would love to welcoming you again to Sinclairs. Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Warm regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Absolutely not recommended for the elderly / ppl with joint & back aches / ppl who do not like walking (a lot).


The approach road (trek) to the hotel is a steep & broken path which is all the more difficult to climb if it’s wet. The location though not very good, is just nice. Try and take rooms beside the balcony of the hotel.

The only UPS – awesom’est’ view from the balcony when the clouds are entering the room (no exaggeration)!!! If u r lucky, u may get to see a glimpse of Kanchendzonga.

The common areas of the hotel like lobby, staircase, etc. are mostly dirty. Rooms are cleaned only when reminded. Towels, toiletries are also provided only when called for a re-fill. Inadequately staffed housekeeping dept with an acute lack of training, given the brand name of Sinclairs!     

Good food but very slow service and limited choices in vegetarian dishes. The nearby eat outs make up for this pretty well. Do indulge in the locally available food items especially tea, momo & bhutta.

Arranging a conveyance form the hotel desk is an expensive affair.

I definitely expected much more from the brand Sinclair..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShwetAditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was truly disappointing to read the impressions you had following your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. I sincerely apologise for the maintenance and housekeeping problems that cropped up during your stay with us. We will take corrective action to improve upon this. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

With respect to the approach road, it is a public road and maintained by the Darjeeling Municipality.

While I thank u for pointing out our failings, I am really sorry that you were unhappy enough to review us negatively. We hope you give us a chance in the future to provide you with a hassle-free experience.

Best Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'll get straight to the point if you have old people with you or you are not very fit please read this review before making up your mind, to get to the reception of the hotel you will have to walk up a very steep slope (broken road) and considerable number of stairs

But if you are young and are not afraid of some warm up before you reach the hotel wet (it is raining all the time ) Inside the hotel other than lack of cleanliness you will find your stay to be satisfactory for the money you paid (there is an activity room with tt table ,a pool table ,etc )
Also the staff of the hotel is commendable

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehalfbldprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Really sorry to read about your experience at Sinclairs Darjeeling especially with regard to the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel. We at Sinclairs take extreme care to create the best experience for our guests.

With regards to the approach road, this is not owned by us and is a part of the Darjeeling Municipality. It is not a private road. We do hope that this drawback to our hotel will be rectified very soon. Really saddened by the fact that the inconvenience over this has changed your sentiments about your entire visit.

Hope in retrospect, you will remember the fine moments of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling once again, with a hassle free experience.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I should thanks to the hotel manager & associated staff of the hotel for made my trip so beautiful. Always recommend this hotel for best to stay. Location wise little walk from the Darjeeling mall. Rooms are specious and well decorated. Fully furnished with wood. Hot water is always available.
Foods are nice with good variety. You can consider this hotel is one of the best to stay.

All together nice place to stay with family or spend your honeymoon.

Room Tip: Stay upper rooms will good for watching Mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akashbristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for appreciating the food quality and service. Such reviews can only motivate us to try even harder to achieve customer delight.

We are blessed to be conveniently located near the mall and town centre, and our hotel offers a magnificent view of the Himalayas. Our USP is indeed our location.

Please recommend us to your friends and family and keep updated with our promotions on Facebook and Twitter.

Kind Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

One must avoid booking any room here .The place is worse than a railway retiring room or a dharamshala. Wastage of money...,location is on a dirty steep lane with stinking drains . Completely unhygenic. Rooms are never cleaned and have dirty floor and linens. Outdated old broken furniture. They charts 5000 Rs per day. Not worth 500 also. Beware of false photo on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank kamlakar259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was truly disappointing to read the impressions you had following your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We have taken into consideration all the different aspects you mentioned and rest assured that they are being appropriately handled.

With regards to your complaint about the photos on the website, they aren't false and show the actual views of our hotel. Also, the approach road to the hotel is not maintained by us, but by the Darjeeling municipality.

The housekeeping staff have been reprimanded and we are taking appropriate measures to provide additional training to our employees.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling with a hassle-free experience.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The service was good but its priced too high. Its not worth the money. Also the approach road is too narrow and in a bad condition. When we had been there it was raining heavily and they didn't even bother to take the luggage and we had to walk up for 5 mins . Also there is no lift in the hotel which was a minus point. Food was excellent. Best buffet we had!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrikanthYadake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us and for the points you raise. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some problems during your vacation and please rest assured that guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are addressing the issues brought to our attention.

We value your positive comments and hope to see you back soon in Darjeeling.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the start this turned out to be a very dissapointing experience. The decor needs updating and the whole building needs a deep clean. The service was poor, with the reception staff mostly playing snooker rather than tending to guests.

Plus points:
- Breakfast was good, nice selection and everything was fresh
- Decent location with restaurants and the main square near by, however the hotel is situated at the top of an extremely steep hill

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I apologize for all the inconveniences caused and please note that we are paying special attention to this review. We are working on changing and improving the different aspects you mentioned.

We’re sorry you received poor customer service and poor cleanliness which was unacceptable. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to provide you with a hassle-free experience.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
2.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing