We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Nearby Hotels
Viceroy Hotel(Darjeeling)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$91
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mayfair Darjeeling(Darjeeling)
$151
$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivanhoe House(Darjeeling)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windamere Hotel(Darjeeling)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedar Inn(Darjeeling)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
85
166
58
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
166
58
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapproach roadpremier roommovies shotsteep climbcommon balconyindoor gamesa mountain view roomgoshtgames roomaccess roaddosatable tennisbreakfast spreadsenior citizensrestaurant staffwalk upmain market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 345 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When I boarded this hotel they were still under some kind of a renovation work. Half of the things were not in working condition. The hotel was dirty and very poorly maintained. Food was ok in the restaurant with most of the menu not being served by the chef. Located atop a hill, getting to tis hotel can be really tough at times. The approach road needs to be worked upon. This hotel is definitely not worth the money it charges.

Room Tip: Better avoid this place! If at all the front rooms are okay!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gairik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor, in regard to your recent visit at Sinclairs Darjeeling.

There can be no excuse for the unacceptable maintenance standards that you experienced. I am delighted to read that my staff were helpful on check out. However, I am sorry to read the complaints about the inconveniences that you faced.

Please be assured that all customer feedback is taken very seriously indeed, and decisive action will be taken to rectify your concerns.

Kind regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A very good property, nice cozy rooms, excellent view of Kanchenjungha, though approach road is very steep, slippery and smelly. The cozy makeshift bar come lounge with a pool table had us spend many enjoyable evenings inside when it was too windy outside. The game room had table tennis, carrom and few more indoor games. But some maintenance is definitely overdue, doesnt look as polished as other hotels of the same status look. Some minor details are overlooked...like the TV remote was not in the room, tea maker wasnt working, tea maker tray did mot have a stirrer, morning newspaper wasnt given on first two days, most of the time water was not served at breakfast/dining unless asked for. Otherwise staff were very helpful, though while checking out none of them came to take our luggage and we carried it down ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All your observations were shared with our staff who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling in the near future.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for three days.Location of the hotel is not good. You have to cover a steep distance to reach it.Interior lobby, rooms are clean and well maintained.Hotel has all facilities like indoor games, restaurant, free wi-fi in the lobby etc.Breakfast served is excellent and we enjoyed ours stay in hotel.

Room Tip: Try to take room faces Kanchenjunga side as it gives good view in the morning.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOHINDER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to read positive comments from guests like you. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Sinclairs.

We hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience. We were delighted to host you!

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel location is not good. Approach road to hotel is bad, . Though hotel lobby is clean , rooms need some attention. Definitely not worth of money. Was bit disappointed with my stay. Hotel staff was good and service was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Anil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor! Positive comments from guests like you help us serve you better. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing.

Please note that we have recently renovated the common areas of the hotel, and are planning to renovate all the rooms this year. With respect to the approach road, it will also be re-done this year. We apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding this.

We hope you visit again, and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Darjeeling between 9th and 11th Feb, 2013. Resort itself is quite good with all basic amenities available. We had booked this hotel through a tour organiser. The reception as well as the restaurant staff was very cooperative. My wife being a pure vegetarian, we requested the restaurant staff to provide her a separate utensils and they readily arranged for the same without any fuss through all the days we put up there. Check-in and check-out was also made very simple. Rooms were provided with a nice heater. Bathroom had hot water available for 24 hours, which is normally the main concren in most of the resorts in such places.
We had an excellent holiday in Darjeeling with Sinclairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desaiardeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to post.

Good to hear that your stay at Sinclairs Darjeeliing was comfortable and that you enjoyed your time and our hospitality. My colleagues are greeting you warmly back and looking forward to seeing you again, as soon as you have an opportunity.

Wishing you all the best!

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews