We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property...little maintenance needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sinclairs Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice property...little maintenance needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A very good property, nice cozy rooms, excellent view of Kanchenjungha, though approach road is very steep, slippery and smelly. The cozy makeshift bar come lounge with a pool table had us spend many enjoyable evenings inside when it was too windy outside. The game room had table tennis, carrom and few more indoor games. But some maintenance is definitely overdue, doesnt look as polished as other hotels of the same status look. Some minor details are overlooked...like the TV remote was not in the room, tea maker wasnt working, tea maker tray did mot have a stirrer, morning newspaper wasnt given on first two days, most of the time water was not served at breakfast/dining unless asked for. Otherwise staff were very helpful, though while checking out none of them came to take our luggage and we carried it down ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused during your stay with us. All your observations were shared with our staff who are taking the necessary steps to prevent those occurrences in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling in the near future.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    138
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
135
88
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for three days.Location of the hotel is not good. You have to cover a steep distance to reach it.Interior lobby, rooms are clean and well maintained.Hotel has all facilities like indoor games, restaurant, free wi-fi in the lobby etc.Breakfast served is excellent and we enjoyed ours stay in hotel.

Room Tip: Try to take room faces Kanchenjunga side as it gives good view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOHINDER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to read positive comments from guests like you. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Sinclairs.

We hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience. We were delighted to host you!

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel location is not good. Approach road to hotel is bad, . Though hotel lobby is clean , rooms need some attention. Definitely not worth of money. Was bit disappointed with my stay. Hotel staff was good and service was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Anil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor! Positive comments from guests like you help us serve you better. I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing.

Please note that we have recently renovated the common areas of the hotel, and are planning to renovate all the rooms this year. With respect to the approach road, it will also be re-done this year. We apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding this.

We hope you visit again, and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Darjeeling between 9th and 11th Feb, 2013. Resort itself is quite good with all basic amenities available. We had booked this hotel through a tour organiser. The reception as well as the restaurant staff was very cooperative. My wife being a pure vegetarian, we requested the restaurant staff to provide her a separate utensils and they readily arranged for the same without any fuss through all the days we put up there. Check-in and check-out was also made very simple. Rooms were provided with a nice heater. Bathroom had hot water available for 24 hours, which is normally the main concren in most of the resorts in such places.
We had an excellent holiday in Darjeeling with Sinclairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desaiardeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to post.

Good to hear that your stay at Sinclairs Darjeeliing was comfortable and that you enjoyed your time and our hospitality. My colleagues are greeting you warmly back and looking forward to seeing you again, as soon as you have an opportunity.

Wishing you all the best!

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent view of the Kanchenjunga from the common balcony. The last climb up for about 100 mts is quite steep & energy sapping. The hotel could do with some maintenance with wall papers peeling off. Faulty electrical fittings : the power point would konk off once too often, the lights would flicker for quite sometime before coming ON. Staff were quick to attend but not quick enough to address the problems. Generally courteous. Food/Restaurant services were good although a bit on the expensive side.

Room Tip: See the room before you take the room. Some rooms are promised a 'mountain view' but the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUMIT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sinclairs while visiting Darjeeling and for taking the time to share your feedback. May we begin by expressing our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused to you and for the inconvenience you experienced. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it seems that on this occasion we fell short of fulfilling this commitment.

May we assure you that your comments about the maintenance and faulty electrical fittings will be addressed with those concerned in order to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.

We have also noted that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We trust that this isolated lapse in service on our part will not deter you from returning to Sinclairs on a future visit to Darjeeling.

Kind Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Upon arriving to Darjeeling we were on the lookout for the entrance road to the Hotel after asking often for directions. I saw a small sign with the Hotel name leading up a steep, sharp-curved road that did not resemble an entrance to a Hotel. It was already too late when I mentioned it to the driver by then we had passed already having to go all the way around the town to try the entrance once more. This had costs us at least another half hour or more after an already exhausting drive up the mountain roads.
The Sinclairs Hotel needs bigger signs to warn a person in advance when approaching the Hotel. It is not a great road for cars or for turning around at the hotel.
With the steep steps to the entrance of the Hotel, the Porters really earn their tip carrying heavy luggage. A guests should be generous when tipping!
Our driver was happy that the Hotel had accommodations and board for him and a place to park the car.
Since dinner is served too late in the evening for us in India we were able to exchange our dinner voucher for a late Lunch buffet at 3:30pm instead. The food was very good with a variety of dishes. A very delicious ice cream was served for dessert.
The Lobby and Dining room is all done in wood which looks very impressive. The balcony has a great view of Mr. Kanchenjunga.
We especially liked the breakfast buffet which served mostly Indian dishes such as Idly & sambar, Dosa, stuffed parathas and coconut chutney. Delicious!
The staff was very efficient and friendly. It was a very pleasant experience staying at the Sinclairs.
The Hotel is old and does need renovating. Our room was spacious with twin beds which were comfortable. The walls of the room were dingy and dirty which a little cleaning would most likely take care of. The room and bathroom itself were clean and looked after daily. It was very quiet during the night which made for a great sleep.
We enjoyed our two night stay at this Hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is able to walk the steep steps.
The location is excellent for walking to the Bazaar, market, Chowrasta, the mall road, restaurants and shops. A very lovely little town!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor! Positive comments from guests like you help us serve you better. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Sinclairs.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with the food, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Please note that we have recently renovated the common areas of the hotel, and are planning to renovate all the rooms this year. With respect to the approach road, it will also be re-done this year. We apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding this.

We hope you visit again, and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The place was freezing cold, to eat in the dining room you had to put all the clothes you had with you on or freeze. The electricity was constantly going off, the place is a fire hazard. Some nice wooden floors but don;t think they have ever seen polish since they were put in. Staff very pleasant. Could be a nice place with some care and attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panddkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you valuable feedback.

However, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay. The concerns highlighted by you are important and our management team is looking into the matter.

In respect to the electricity issue, sometimes in Darjeeling there is power failure for a couple of hours for which we use our generator and the issue is sorted immediately. If there is any emergency, our staff always try to solve the problem.

I am surprised when you say that our staff seemed impersonal. All our executives are always ready to serve the guests.

Regarding heating issues, please note that we provide heating in all our rooms and common areas of the hotel, and additional heaters can be requested from the reception on request. As you may be aware, January and February are the coldest months in Darjeeling, and average temperatures are usually very low.

Please note that except for The Dorje Lounge and the Games Room, the wooden flooring isn't present anywhere else in the ground floor area. We have wooden flooring in the first and second floor corridors and in the guest’s rooms, and we do get them polished regularly.

Our main motto is to serve our guests and we are assure you our best service the next time you plan to visit Sinclairs Darjeeling.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again to Sinclairs.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
1.1 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Property: Sinclairs Darjeeling
Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing