We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days/3 nights.

The location of the hotel is mind blowing, it is at the heart of the city where you can hike upto most of the places like the Chowrasta, the Mall road, the Rink Mall, Darjeeling train station and main markets (mahakaal market and dragon market). What makes the location even more convenient is that the best of restaurants are at walking distance from here, there are at least 4-5 ATMs in the vicinity itself and the taxi stand is just a minute away.

The rooms are neat and cozy, the bathrooms are clean with 24 hour hot water. They provided us with room heaters which really helped. Don't expect your room to have a great view (at least mine didn't) but it has enough sunlight.

The service was impeccable, in one instance when the heater could not be functional due to load shedding, they provided us with a kerosene heater. They provided us with bathroom slippers too when we requested them. What's more, on christmas eve we were given a complimentary platter of chocolates. :)

The breakfast spread is good. The food at their restaurant is good enough though I found it expensive. And given the fact that there are good restaurants just a stone's throw from this place, we opted not to have our meals here.

The games room has the basic stuff, the icing on the cake is the pool table right opposite the reception, it also has an attached bar. The library has decent books which would be provided at request.

The check out procedure was also good.

To not be biased towards this hotel, here is a word of caution:

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone above 45 years and above since the steep himalayan climb to the hotel from the road would leave you gasping for breath ( I am a pretty athletic guy in my late 20s, yet it was tiresome for me). If you have hired a car for site seeing, the probabilities are that they would refuse to pick you from the hotel footsteps and would request you to walk down to the road. Even if they do come up, they would waste at least half an hour to turn the car, since it is a very narrow lane, it is advisable to walk down to the road to board your vehicle.

Even if you manage the slope, mind you, this hotel has no elevators, so if you are averse to climbing, book a room in the 1st floor.

The signal quality of the TV was pathetic, the only channel that was clear enough was Doordarshan. (though it didn't matter since we were out for most of the while)

Overall a beautiful experience, I would definitely recommend it for young couples.

Room Tip: We were in room 302, which was pretty decent. Don't expect a great view, though they may promis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is our great pleasure to discover your valuable feedback in regards with your overall experience during your stay.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with the location, rooms, food, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Please note that we do provide Cable TV which has various channels. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced regarding this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling on your next visit.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Best Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 330 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Adequate hotel, but impersonal and lacking the character of some cheaper hotels (or the service standards of some pricier ones). The location is average as is everything else, the 'free' internet barely worked and we had to move hotel so we could skype home on Xmas day. Nothing is particularly wrong with this hotel but there a better and more interesting options for less.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Darjeeling, and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi that you encountered. You did not allow us to handle your device, so we couldn't help you out. All our Guests are using the Wi-Fi free of charge and the service is uninterrupted.

We hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience. We were delighted to host you!

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed there for 2N in Dec. The first thing one would complain about will be the approach road - almost Everest like and not maintained by DMC. However, they had porters who got the luggage and thereafter Sinclair proved at every corner that is a nice place to stay.

Here are my observations:
1) Locationally for the price, this is a great place to stay - 5 mins walk to the Mall, and 5 mins to the Darjeeling train station (you won't like to miss the toy train), 5 mins to the Rink Mall if you want to catch a movie at night.

2) The hotel and some room balconies provide you one of the best views of Kanchenjunga - my best clicks are from this hotel in this tour. Rooms were clean and had enough sunshine / sunlight, though not all rooms have mountains outside to look at.

3) Great food in the restaurant. Many a times we compared our outside lunch with what we were served here and found that to be better. Awesome service and the staff was amazingly polite.

4) Free wi-fi and it worked everywhere. great hotel lobby to sit and chit-chat with a pool table and a handy bar. It's a very cozy setting..

overall, I'd recommend it to everyone. Now if that approach road was taken care of by the authorities....

Room Tip: Specifically ask for Kanchenjunga facing rooms, which should be towards the front facade of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor! Positive comments from guests like you help us serve you better. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Sinclairs.

We do agree that our hotel is well located and offers picturesque views of The Kanchenjunga Mountain Range. We are placed a few minutes away from the main town centre.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with the rooms, food, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Sorry to hear about the inconveniences you faced with respect to Cable TV. We do provide various other channels, but we will get this matter sorted out as soon as possible.

With respect to the approach road, it will be renovated this year.

We hope you visit again, and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

1st things 1st..the private road leading to hotel..is in BAD shape.

However, once inside hotel..it's lobby, done up with lots of wood, looks outstanding and impressive. I was in 202, which offered good view. The room was quite small for being called Premier Room. There is no WiFi in rooms and is chargeable in lobby. Included breakfast, didn't include (as basic thing as) tea / coffee. I mean, really, who eats breakfast in India without tea / coffee, apart from English, who left in last century..even they, after Juices, wanted tea!!

In about $ 70 - 90 / INR 4000 - 5000 per night, you expect better room / facilities, period!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dushyant1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Dushyant,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Sinclairs Darjeeling. We are sorry to hear about the shortcomings that you faced during your stay with us.

Regarding the problem with the approach road, please note that it is not a private road and is owned by the Government and maintained by the Darjeeling Municipality. We have had several discussions with the Chairman, Vice Chairman and Chief Engineer of Darjeeling Municipality
for repairing the approach road. The District Magistrate plans to renovate it next year.

The Wi-Fi is not chargeable. However, you didn't ask us for the username and password.

We always serve tea and coffee during breakfast, it is mandatory for all our guests. All our rooms are also equipped with tea/coffee makers.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling with a hassle-free experience in the future! Please stay connected with us on Facebook & Twitter.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We checked in very late in the evening and they were very nice about it but as soon as we asked for the internet password they said it wasn't working. They were a little passive about it. Throughout our 4 night stay the internet barely ever worked and we were disappointed about it because they advertised for having free wifi throughout the hotel. We ended up going to and internet cafe down the road instead whenever we needed to use it. Food was good but we ordered room service every time because sitting in the restaurant was too awkward. It feels like they have too much staff and they just stand there and stare until you need something. Not big on that. Another thing to note, the hotel is about half way up a pretty steep hill. Other than that, the room was clean, comfortable, and we had hot water.

Room Tip: If you are to stay here, maybe get a corner room like 301 for mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai81212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your hank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Sinclairs Darjeeling.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the Wi-Fi that you encountered. Please note that we offer free Wi-Fi. There seemed to be some technological error that occurred with respect to your International Sim Card, which is sometimes not supported with our domestic networks. You did not allow us to handle your device, so we couldn't help you out.

All our Guests are using the Wi-Fi free of charge and the service is uninterrupted.

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling in the future.

Best Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Its a really good place to stay except that the passage leading to the hotel is a small steep road making it difficult to reach the hotel. Vehicles are not permitted on the said passage/road and hence Hotel staff had to help us carry our luggage. But overall its a superb place to stay in Darjeeling. Very good and comfortable place. Good staff and good food too. Not very far from the main market. Value for money and above average.

Room Tip: Make sure you have are able to walk steep slope to get into this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janak_Bhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

It is a pleasure to read positive comments from guests like you. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at Sinclairs.

We are sorry to hear about the inconveniences you faced at the time of check in. When you were checking in, the approach road to the hotel was closed for all vehicles as the concrete drainage system was being constructed by the Darjeeling Municipality. As you may be aware, this is not a private road, but a public one. However, the problem has been rectified and all vehicles are allowed to come up the road now.

We hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to deliver to you the Sinclairs experience. We were delighted to host you!

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on exclusive offers, destination tips, guest feedback and more.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Highly recommended. The food was good, the ambience of the hotel was lovely, and the rooms were fantastic as well. Additionally the hotel is very conveniently located, just a short walk away from the mall. Decently priced rooms and a serene colonial-ish feel to the lobby area. October is a great time to go to Darjeeling, by the way, if you want to see the Kanchenjunga sunrise straight from the hotel without having to go to Tiger Hill! Great view.

Room Tip: The mountain side rooms really do have a great view; choose a room closest to their floor veranda fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is our great pleasure to discover your valuable feedback in regards with your overall experience during your stay.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with the rooms, food, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 99 in Darjeeling
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sterling Darjeeling
Sterling Darjeeling
#15 of 99 in Darjeeling
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing