We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinclairs shine....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sinclairs shine....”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Last week I was with my family in Darjeeling staying at Hotel Sinclairs. We found the hotel agreeable in all respect. The rooms opening out to magnificent Kanchenjunga are ideal for staying .The staffs are polite and efficient ,we turned to them for local tour guidance. We found food to be good. But there is a room for improvement in Chinese cuisine. I will recommend Sinclairs to friends and relations visiting Darjeeling.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are excellent for wonderful view over Kanchenjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samirbanertjee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Management - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the hotel acceptable in all respects. I agree that our hotel offers great views of the Kanchenjunga and this is a special key factor and a great advantage for us.

I was disappointed to hear you that you did not find the Chinese food up to the mark. We have noted your feedback and shall look towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling in the near future with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    152
    56
    19
    17
See reviews for
157
92
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Got this hotel for a really good price. The location was great; high up on the hill and with a amazing view of the Kachenjunga massive.
Pro:
The staff was very very nice and keen to help. The restaurant staff friendly and very helpful. Food ok and cheap (app 1000 rupies for dinner for 2 adults and 2 chidlren, lots of food). Breakfast basic but generous: you can order as many egg-dishes as you want.
Rooms clean, bathroom basic but clean. Good and friendly room service.

Cons:
the entire hotel looks a but old and tired. Needs renovation and some was under way while we were there.
If you go in cold season, beware that in case of power cut, the hotel has enough generator power for lights but not for heaters so it gets very very cold during the nights. They do provide you with lots of hot water bottles though. And we still had hot water for shower.

So if you get a good deal, then its a good basic place with clean rooms and solid breakfast (included). Perfect for a base from which to explore Darjeeling and its surrounding. But as mentioned, beware if you are travelling during cold season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UyenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling!

It is our great pleasure to discover your valuable feedback in regards with your overall experience during your stay.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with our staff friendliness, services and hospitality. We are happy to meet your expectations and we will address this acknowledgement to our staff in order to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

Reviewing your experience towards the entire look of our hotel, please be updated that we are in the process of refurbishing the restaurant, lobby and bar at the moment which will continue this year. We have noted the comments regarding room heaters and we will take a corrective action to make an immediate improvement to ensure the effectiveness of the heating.

Once again, thank you and we do really appreciate your valuable comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling on your next visit.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days and cant say I was WOWed by the hotel and amenities but it does the job.
First thing that strikes you is the approach to the hotel, which is very narrow and steep.
The room (Honeymoon suite, was not a suite) was a bit shoddy and smaller that what you'd expect from the amount you shell out for it.
On the plus side, the location is great, a 5 min walk from chowrasta, the main market, the food and the room service is very good too. Dint try the gym or the spa, so cant comment..
A pretty decent hotel, but a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: dont choose the honeymoon suite, its not even a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globe7trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that the location of our hotel, food and room service met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We apologise for any inconvenience caused regarding the approach road and the upleep of the Honeymoon Room. We have planned to re-consruct the road to our hotel, and also refurbish the Honeymoon Room.

Next time you stay at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling, we hope that you get to use the other facilities here in the hotel on return!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I visited this hotel with my family around Christmas and following is my review:

Hotel staff was courteous, Ambience great,Rooms clean.
But the only main problem is non availabilty of room heaters, We have to literally fight with the staff to arrange for a room heater which finally they managed. Second problem is of power cuts.
Rest fine. Hotel is on walking distance from mall.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with Kanchenga view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

It was our pleasure to host you on your recent Christmas vacation at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. We read with great pride your praise for our wonderful staff. They are very special people who are dedicated to the highest standards of hospitality. It's nice to know that you liked the room and the ambience of the hotel.

We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the room heaters. Due to high occupancy, there may have been issues with respect to this. Please accept our apologies.

We look forward to your next visit at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

At the first site the room looked old, but then that is true with every other hotel in Darjeeling. Had to remind the staff for the first day about the content of my package. Then things were smooth then. The food is awesome. Would suggest to go on a MAP/AP. I was on a Honeymoon package and the candle light dinner was wonderful. Indeed, a wonderful stay at the Sinclair's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitDassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manger - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Honeymoon and the food at the restaurant. We will be upgrading the hotel, and we hope to see you in the near future so you can see all the positive changes going forward. Please stay in touch with us by visiting our website in order to receive our best rates and by following us on social media.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is good value in the centre of Darjeeling. It has a slightly faded 70s feel, but the rooms are still fine. Like everywhere in Darjeeling in can get cold in winter! The staff were outstandingly helpful - from going out to buy us tickets to the toy train, through transferring our reservation to Sinclairs in Siliguri (with the only additional costs being the small difference in room rates) when a local strike meant we had to leave a day early.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-in-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to making your trip to Darjeeling a great experience.

We thank you for your comments, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

It is the best affordable hotel situated in the heart of the city with easy access to Mall road. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped with all the required amenities. Food quality was very good. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. All the staff members were very courteous and prompt in their service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to making your trip to Darjeeling a great experience.

We thank you for your comments, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Property: Sinclairs Darjeeling
Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing