We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Jamnagar
1 review
“Loved the Hospitality”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I myself and my wife stayed for two day at Club room.
I was realy surprised too see the interiors and traditional look of the room that too at an very attractive cost.

The room service and breakfast was also excellent.
Hotel is centrally located in mid town shopping malls and major banks near hotel location. Famous Railway station of Darjeeling is also a walk away from hotel.

  • Liked — Room Interior
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    136
    75
    26
    33
See reviews for
186
84
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Stayed here recently. Staff numbers in the restaurant and bar were high yet service was slow and poor. Food cold.
Staff overbearing and unhelpful and constantly hovering for tips. There is no genuine warmth in the service they provide
The hotel is trying to deliver an up market service and fails miserably.
Beds uncomfortable, plumbing dubious.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uktraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Fortunately we did not read the reviews in this case - and we were lucky! Thanks to the 'off season' and political unrest, the hotel was largely empty and we went there as we got a good deal (about USD 70 for a suite).

Yes, the bathroom smelt a bit funny, and housekeeping service was a bit patchy the day we were leaving, but overall it was a very comfortable stay. The room was nice and bright (important with grey skies and a constant drizzle), the staff were invariably polite and helpful, and for a large hotel, the feeling was remarkably homely. We also enjoyed the green house style lounge.

What we did not like was the food - found too much salt and very average taste in a hotel which has Raj pretensions - and service was pathetic: took half an hour to get a soup! But since one is a 5 min walk from Keventer's and lovely Tibetan restaurants, it didn't matter. We got more choice for a far more reasonable price!

  • Liked — Great value, friendly staff, cheerful room, good location
  • Disliked — Food, restaurant service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Great location, on first impression hotel seems good, however service is awful and the management obsequious and unfriendly.

Waited ages to be served in coffee shop and food was awful.

Rooms looked good on surface but beds were exeptionally hard.

Terrible problem with noise from another room, fighting, screaming etc. Management was loath to sort it out and it took frequent requests between 9.00 pm and 11.00 pm to get it sorted. Would never use again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of service
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herbyhustonbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

Good location, but that's about it. The rooms are very dated, pillows are old and lumpy, and the bed sheets, while they appear to be clean, are stained and gross. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was never cleaned or serviced, even though we put out the 'service room' sign. We were in the basement, so it was rather dark and musty, and the walls were paper thin, and we could hear everything in the next room and hallway. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffanytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2005

With an untrained staff and poor location, the Fortune Resort Central is best passed over for other options. To begin with, the "bed" is a 3-inch foam pad on a slab of wood; no matress or box-springs. This may be acceptable at a budget hotel, but clearly not for a hotel with an average room rate around $90 per night. The "bed" is indicative of the overall quality of the other facilities and services. . .thin and uncomfortable. With so many hotels in Darjeeling, there is no need to punish yourself at the Fortune Resort Central.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magicbinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
0.6 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Property: Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Address: Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling)
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Heritage (formerly Fortune Resort Central) is a luxury holiday resort in Darjeeling, offering an experience of British heritage which has been a part of Darjeeling for more than a hundred years. The luxurious hotel is located near ‘the Mall’ and ‘Chowrasta’, the most famous spots and centre of all leisure activities of this beautiful hill station. The heritage block of this classic hotel was built in 1905 and offers elegantly appointed rooms with all the modern amenities. Experience the lavish 'British Raj' lifestyle as you take time off to relax and unwind yourself amidst breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Fortune Hotel Central Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing