We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, somewhat cramped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Inn
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, somewhat cramped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

Good location. Rooms have views of himalayan mountain ranges especially Kancehjunga. The complimentary shuttle service to the town centre is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkolimarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    151
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
211
104
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

My stay at Cedar inn was marvellous. Everything about Cedar inn i.e. the location, the view from room, the garden, room service, food is excellent. Sitting in front of the fire place in room in quite cold conditions is an unique experience. Another unique thing was that they provide hot water bags in addtion to room heaters at night. This bags are to be kept with you in the bed and it was very nice. Overall it was superb..

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hemangj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

This is a very elegant old building situated on the hillside above the town, about a 20 minute walk from the centre (and uphill all the way back!). The room was pleasant and reasonably large but very cold and damp, with only a 1 Kw fan heater which had little effect even when left on continuously. To get warm, we went to bed at 8.45pm each evening, fortunately with hot water bottles which were provided without being requested.

Dinner was disappointing each evening as the food was only luke warm, perhaps having been taken from the buffet. The desserts were minuscule. Breakfast was somewhat better, the porridge being especially good and hot. Service at dinner and breakfast was quite good.

In fine weather one apparently has a great view of the mountain range. However, the valley was full of fog and we saw nothing. This hotel must be a great place to stay when it's warm and fine but in cold, damp weather it wasn't at all pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

First of all I question Tripadvisors wisdom to put this hotel under this heading & not under "hotels".
This place and I have just jelled over the last several years.Whenever we visit Darjiling , which is quite frequently , we stay here. It is like coming home.Service is excellent--both front desk & others.Good clean comfortable rooms. And what a view! Darjiling town& the TOWERING Kanchanjunga range from the bed of each room.SIMPLY BREATHTAKING.Courtesy pick up and drop into town( closeby but steep).The design of this hotel is very pleasing & environmental friendly.
Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

At Darjeeling, We stayed at Hotel Cedar Inn.

Hotel Cedar inn is on top of the hills, 15 mins walk from St. Pauls school (of SRK’s “Main Hoon Na” fame). We stayed in the cottage, which has two levels, the bed on one and the tv area. It was tough making sure our 2-year old doesn’t fall off the steps. The wardrobe had no light, and the shoe polish cloth was already used by someone. The bathroom is not user-friendly. We were not able to turn on the shower without getting drenched, and the drain system is poor. The tv showed all channels red in colour. We complained and they changed the tv. But the remote was not working well anyway.

The way to the cottage is winding and we had a tough time stopping the kids from rolling down the stairs.

They have acute water shortage, but they have a bath-tub for taking bath. No bucket and mug. We got hot water throughout the day from a geyser.

We reached at lunch time only to know that we have to give a menu order two hours in advance, as they do not store food materials. The hotel provided a shuttle to go down to the town for lunch. We ate at Hasty-Tasty on Mall road. The shuttle picked us up again after a phone-call.

The hotel serves only continental food as a part of a package. So that day “especially for us”, they offered Chinese food. There were only 4 dishes and we were asked to chose out of it. Then at the dinner table we saw a big party of 20 chinese people. So much for service!!!

The next day they apologised, and said “Indians ko Indian food hi chahiyae”. Same story again… Indian menu, four dishes. There were four more Indian families that day. So fake!!!

All sightseeing usually ends at 3pm so make sure you take a package at the hotel that includes breakfast and dinner. Going up and down for every meal is irritating.

We feel that Cedar Inn prefers non-Indians. They follow European and American ways. It seems “it is difficult to get curd”! The hotel is in a lonely spot and you need a vehicle to get there.

The room service is good, the staff are pleasant and helpful. It is the management that is pathetic. They provided us with a room heater as we had an infant with us. On a clear day the view is very good.

  • Liked — View of the valley
  • Disliked — Not fit for small children
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank priyapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

The Cedar Inn offers the most splendid perch in the Darjeeling Hills. Its pleasing quasi-colonial architecture, wood-lined interiors, small but beautiful gardens (even indoors !) and excellent service makes it a complete package. And the view from ALL the rooms is amazing !

We had earlier seen the web-site for Cedar Inn and it looked really good. However being told by tour operators that it is 'far from town' and 'difficult to reach', we checked into another hotel. On our first sight-seeing trip we suddenly passed it and realized what we were missing! Turned around, checked out of the other hotel and moved into the Cedar Inn......and had one of the most relaxed & enjoyable stays while on Holiday !

Go for it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProbinGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

lovely location with a great view of the city as well as the mountains, service also vey good

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — nothing much for children to play
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rcrohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Inn

Property: Cedar Inn
Address: Jalpahar Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing