We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sublime from the top”
Review of Cedar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Inn
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Every year we visit Darj. we find it the best located stay in Darj. with a dash of charm for its quite surroundings. Excellent staff and an excellent friendly front desk.

Room Tip: All rooms are with excellent view of Kanchenjunga. However we recomend the room on the higher alters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soumya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 475 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

I along with my wife and two kids stayed at this CHARMING and Beautiful Hotel in the Hills of Darjeeling.

The Hotel is unique as same is Built on one of the Hills only. The staff and Front office is very courtseious. It is cost worthy and very GOOD food also.

I would recommed and infact recommended the same to my Friends/relatives also.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Look at the photo, and its exactly like this. Though its better known competitor Windermere is more charming and romantic, I would still rate Cedar Hill as the best Hotel In Darjeeling. Imposing building, Elegant interiors, very neat and clean, very good dinner, breakfast limited but very tasty, and the location is just perfect. It towers over Darjeeling at the top of a hill, away from the filthy mess that is Darjeeling, its got a shuttle service to the main square which is quite regular.

The one point lacking is that the management gives a very polite planned no if you ask for any minor facility. But that doesnt matter because they do their main job efficiently, and you get more than what you have paid for. The junior staff is very good, restaurant and housekeeping is excellent.
.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunwarBedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel is abit out of the main noisy city up the steep hill and that is the one reason why I liked it. From my room, I could get a direct view of the Kanchenjunga mountain ranges(Even better than the Tiger Hills for which I had to disupt my sleep and had to get up at 4 in thje morning in chilly December !! I hated it.)
The rooms are very clean, with hot water, cozy fireplaces. Room heaters are provided on request. The staff was was very courteous and polite. It also has a garden facing the entire darjeeling valley.
Food menu was limited but everything used to be fresh and good. I stayed there for 4 days and it was great time there. Being in the outskirts of city, hotel provided complimentary car pickup to and fro the market.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The hotel is a bit away from the main shopping mall road but is very easily and cheaply accessible by sharing taxis.

It is spanking new and modern therefore unspoilt by ravages of time and nature.

There was a landslide so we could not go to see the lake and pass.

The owner takes a personal interest in the hotel and was acessible and hospitable.

Food is good and wholesome.

Traffic can be a nightmare at times

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnontravellerMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed at the Cedar Inn Darjeeling for 3-4 days. This hotel is located at the top of the hill and commands a good view of Darjeeling. You also get to see awesome view of Mt. Kanchenjunga from some of its rooms.

The rooms were good, large and cozy with fireplaces installed. The room service was good. We used to get wood for the fireplace and hot water bags every night for sleeping. The hotel also provided free pick n drop facility for the Mall Road.

We were able to take good walks around the hotel. We were also able to visit St. Paul school, where "Main Hoon Na" was shot. It was just besides the hotel.

The only thing not good was food in their restaurant. At the time, we went they were not serving eggs or chicken, so we had to make do with their veg omlettes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herlekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

It's a plce you must visit with your spouse. Beautiful view of Kanchendzonga peak from your room's balcony is a treat to savour. Sitting beside a fire place and watching the himalayan peaks covered with white snow is a picture perfect experience.Room service and value for money are excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemang4482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.0 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 99 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Inn

Address: Jalpahar Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: $128 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing