We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overall a good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

After the 3 hour ride up to Darjeeling there was a welome fire in the room!also they put hot water bottle in bed while we were at dinner.It is cold in February,we left the fan heater on all night..Good location,we went on a sunday to the local square and market,this is 10 minute walk from hotel.Restaurant was buffet for all meals,there is another restaurant but this was closed.After the early sunrise to Tiger Hill we returned for afternoon nap,we did have to insist that a fire was lit,it is normally lit of an evening.The staff in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimplyYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    208
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
261
196
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Other reviews offer better descriptions of this place and I agree with the composite of all.

Only disappointment was the weather. Never saw the mountains due to fog.

Food at this hotel is outstanding. Don't stay more than a few days or you'll gain weight.

Oh yeah. One more problem. There is a three hour jeep ride from hell to get from the airport at Bogdogra to Darjeeling. No kidding. A real screaming carnival ride being thrown from side to side that never seems to end. Use the bathroom at the airport and take a valium. No other way to get to the hotel from the airport. When you see a bus coming your way on the one lane road with a 1500 foot drop off the mountain on your side, just close your eyes - it'll be OK and you get use to it.

Once you get to town, every walk is either up a steep hill or down a steep hill. This is the Himalayas after all.

Still - the hotel is worth it, even if the weather prevents a mountain view.

Don't miss the zoo and mountain climbing institute museum.

WiFi Internet is the worst possible combination of phone line slow and $12/hour. Warning - if you buy a 6 hour user password card at the hotel desk, it expires 6 hours after first log in. Logging out of the service does not stop the clock. Internet service provided by Tata Indicom - not the hotel. Best to buy a one hour card, check email, answer a few, check the news then you are finished because your hour is up. I went through 6 cards in 3 days.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hassuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

An excellent resort. rooms are very cosy and thoughtfully made. Every room has a very well stocked fire place. The property is very neatly maintained. Food is great and excellent staff. Has Gym, Spa and a decent study library. The approach to the hotel though is quite shocking though. The second gate from behind the hotel is a much more approachable. The food was excellent and the chef especially was so caring. They even packed up our breakfast with great care and a special one for my kid. It is very well maintained and completely worth the money you spend.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

I had a difficult time deciding between the Windamere and the Mayfair when we were planning our trip. Both are charming heritage hotels full of character. In the end we choose the Mayfair.

The hotel is a lovely heritage hotel with beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, and stunning vistas. (A calm oasis in hectic Darjeeling) Our room was full of colonial era antiques and had a beautiful fireplace that helped keep us warm during the chilly and damp nights. The restaurant served great food and we had afternoon tea several times out on the patio. The service was good but we were definitely treated differently when they found out my partner and I wanted to share the same bed. (the only place in India we encountered this) The hotel seems to cater to an older crowd, we were definitely the youngest people at the hotel and we are in our 40’s.

Overall it is a great choice in Darjeeling and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgh60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

This was my honeymoon trip and after much research i chose Mayfair, although it was not in my budget.

I guess I made the right choice. I loved my stay.

The hotel is situated right opposite the governers house above the mall road. Its 5 minutes walk from the heart of the city but very quiet and relaxing.

The hotel is constructed in a heritage building and very well maintained. The staff takes special care about you and your choice. Even though its a buffet, the chef always tries to serve you freshly prepared food.

  • Liked — Location and the staff's personal touch
  • Disliked — Food was only buffet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jaspreet_Singh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

Mayfair Resort is one of the best accommodations in Darjeeling. It is situated opposite to the Governor House, one of the best possible locations for a hotel in Darjeeling. The Mayfair Resort was a summer palace of the Maharaja of Nazargung. Designed in the British colonial style, the Mayfair Resort is surrounded by fir and pine trees.

The tariff for the resort is Rs. 9450 per night per couple including all major meals. Charges for extra person is Rs. 2625 per night.
Mayfair Hill Resort offers 20 English style cottages, 6 Deluxe Rooms and 5 Attic Rooms. All rooms have TV, phone, fire place and attached bathroom. The restaurant is multi-cuisine and they also have a bar. Other amenities are health club, billiards, squash, table tennis, roller-skating room,library, money changer, baby sitting, doctor on call, safe deposits, travel desk and conference facilities. All major credit cards are accepted.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saurabh_jain009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2008

It is a great property. The rooms are very well designed and have all the amenities. The hotel staff is very friendly and the food is also good. My little one enjoyed a lot there as they have a children room full of toys. The hotel location is also good, as it is located at a peaceful location, but yet not far from the city. I will definitely recommend this hotel..

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.9 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#7 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing