We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property helpful Resort manager.”
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property helpful Resort manager.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This is beautiful property near mall road. Reception staff is attentive.Bellboys are helpful Hotel is neat and clean.suits rooms are very nice. House keeping staff is laborious.Food of resort is average.check out was smooth.Last but not the least Mr.Sabyasachi Mohanty, Resort manager is very helpful and helpful man.He is really asset to this property.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    219
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
276
202
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a truly first class lodge in all aspects - Food, service, bell-boys, restaurant, laundry service, etc. The lodge cum hotel is beautifully landscaped and has lovely statues and decorations in its gardens. There is a back staircase that leads out to the main road. Cross the main road and you are on a private road that only joggers can use. Walk for another 150 metres and you can view the mountain range and its high peaks on a clear morning.
At night you can request for the fireplace to be lighted and you are now warmed to perfection.
It's truly a good way to relax and unwind and get the fresh Darjeeling mountain air.
Thank you Mayfair for a wonderful but short holiday at your place.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views. Just ask for the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My advice... if you are opting both Mayfair properties in Darjeeling and Gangtok, then go for Darjeeling first otherwise you will keep cribbing about gangtok 'mein yeh tha woh tha aisa tha waisa tha'... I was given beautiful orchid villa which was just awesome. Shooting of Yaariyan was happened in this hotel itself, Library was used for Gulshan grover cabin. Food is good if you go on time otherwise baccha kuccha milta hai... No swimming pool. Overall nice experience in Darjeeling. Walking distance market. Nice and clean hotel with flowers all around

Room Tip: Orchid villa heritage villa... but no lift, not advisable for elders.. too many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msinghal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The property is by far one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. It's the best in the city and none of the hotels can match up to it. The chef provides excellent menu for food...not a typical buffet menu, you will find a lot of new things to try. Service of the staff in the restaurant is excellent but room service and the spa need a lot of help. The spa is managed by 1 staff so they are never ready to take a booking, I think it would be better they strike this service off their list. Also, for a hotel that knows that the phone network reception is very poor in the hotel, they should provide wifi...they don't have the service at all, neither free nor paid!

Room Tip: If you cannot walk the stairs a lot please ask them for a room on the same floor as the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SumitaBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great holiday.

It is well located with the main market being only 10-12 minutes walk away. We even walked down to the Toy Train for the joyride and that too was only 20 odd minutes.

During the time we visited the fog was intense and hence the lack of view from our room did not disappoint. However would advise to check the room view before taking the room.

The food was repetitive but we found it quite good. The lack of local cuisine was surprising. The breakfast was delectable though.

The hotel has free DVD's and during lazy afternoons caught up on a few movies missed.

Overall a good hotel and someplace to come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a nice heritage property with well appointed rooms and spacious rooms (for gadget laden persons there were sufficient charging point for Cameras, phone, handycams etc). There is nice view of surrounding hillsides from hotel particularly from restaurant. It is located quite close to Chaurasta (15 minutes walk) the main market of Darjeeling.
The restaurant serves wide variety of cuisines Indian as well as continental, although South Indian was not great and learnt from discussion with chef that Darjeeling's climate isn't helpful for fermentation process.
They do need to improve on service as we had a malfunctioning toilet that they could not repair in our two day stay also when asked about non-functioning wifi their response was something is wrong with server in HQ. These small things do matter especially if consumers are being charged 5 star prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was really looking forward to calm, quiet and serenity in what I believed would be stretches of green. First disappointment: there is little open space in this hotel, if you discount a hanky sized lawn, a couple of benches and chairs and an upstairs verandah. Second disappointment: the hotel was too small for the swarms of extremely noisy tourists who flooded it, screaming children in tow. This meant that even if you thought you were alone on the upstairs verandah, it would be overrun in no time by groups of residents clicking photos of themselves (and you). Of course they were entitled to do this but had the hotel been larger, we would not have felt each others' presence as much..Mealtimes were a mad scramble -- there were often no vacant tables -- made worse by 'local parties' which occupied one of the two dining rooms on a couple of evenings and rendered them inaccessible for hotel guests. The food was truly inedible: by the end of my stay I was reduced to drinking soup and eating fresh salad, since the tasteless greasy concoctions that were part of the buffet were each as unappetising as the other. I would have thought momos and thukpa would make a frequent appearance, but the food was mediocre-level north and west Indian -- in Darjeeling? When the (veg) momos did make an appearance, all I tasted was stale flour, with a bland red sauce on the side.

There was no wifi -- even my own dongle didn't work there. Flies flooded the room in droves (I was on one of the upper rooms so found this even more surprising) if you dared to leave your window open -- and even if you didn't. When I had the room sprayed, the floor was dotted with fly corpses -- which were in the same place even a couple of days later, showing how little cleaning had been done. My shower curtain stank -- and the shower gave me alternate bursts of hot and cold water even though I hadn't requested a sauna...The rooms had no mountain views, and all in all I wondered how they dared charge 12k a night for this. The power supply fluctuated all the time, so one had on-offs with their resident generator most evenings. Everything was overpriced -- the price for their return taxi
was one and a half times more than a paid for an extremely good driver that I found at the airport on my way in.

Had the price been less than half that, it might well have been worth it. The only good part was the attentiveness of the waiters, many of whom took a personal interest in the welfare of the guests -- alas, there was little they could do to make the overall experience bearable.

Room Tip: I'd suggest you choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
3.0 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing